Bio-Diesel from Algae: An Acceptable Answer to Our Prayers Essay

Bio-Diesel from Algae: An Acceptable Answer to Our Prayers Essay

Length: 1190 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Imagine a future in which you can fill your car with a liquid that has more mileage than gasoline and is just as biodegradable as sugar. This is the future of bio-diesel, and is well on its way to becoming the future we will live in. Bio-diesel has always been an area of study for researchers looking for renewable fuels, usually biodiesel is produced from plant waste, like corn husks, but recently it was discovered that bio-diesel could be produced with oils found in algae, which many people are considering to be our best option when it comes to alternative fuels.
This new-found source of bio-diesel is causing a lot of excitement in the scientific community not only because of how renewable it is but because of its easy integration into today’s fuel guzzling population, the potential it has to stimulate economic growth, and its lack of negative environmental impact.
Today there are over “200,000,000 passenger vehicles being used in America alone” (Stasenko), the majority of these vehicles run on gasoline a smaller group runs on diesel and the smallest runs on alternative energies like vegetable oil, hydrogen fuel cells, electricity and bio-diesel. What the supporters of alternative energies like electricity and hydrogen don’t realize is that replacing today’s vehicles with those that can make use of their fuels, is an expensive and nearly insurmountable task. Not only would it be difficult to replace those vehicles, but after replacing them, the older vehicles would all have to be scrapped, which would inevitably produce a fair amount of pollution and waste. Bio-diesel can be used in all of today’s diesel vehicles. Of course it would still be difficult to convert gasoline vehicles to diesel, (converting from one to the other r...


... middle of paper ...


...
.
O'dell, John. "Biodiesel: The Good and the Bad." Editorial. www.autoobserver.com. N.p., 4 Jan. 2008. Web. 13 Sept. 2011.
.
"Our auxillary fuel tank project." Editorial. www.officialbiodiesel.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Sept. 2011.
.


Stasenko, Marina. "Number of Cars." Editorial. www.hypertextbook.com. Ed. Glenn Elert. N.p., 16 Aug. 2006. Web. 20 Sept. 2011.
.

Strasburg, Jeff McIntire. "Ethanol vs. Biodiesel: Just the Facts." Editorial. www.treehugger.com. N.p., 4 July 2006. Web. 17 Sept. 2011.
.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Bio-diesel: Alternative Fuel Source Essay

- Bio-diesel: Alternative Fuel Source Introduction Currently today more than 99% of all fuel consumed is petroleum (3). In the year 2025 the world’s reserves of petroleum will be a dry source (7). Other than the shortage of petroleum, the burning of petroleum also causes many problems such as global warming. In this case, engineers and scientists need to come up with an alternative energy source for gasoline not only because of the shortage, but because of the environmental problems gasoline and other fossil fuels cause for the environment....   [tags: Petroleum Environment Ecology Essays]

Strong Essays
1949 words (5.6 pages)

Diesel Makes A Difference Essay

- Higher fuel economy helps consumers save money with gas prices going up all the time people want more efficient vehicles. Diesel vehicles can also be converted to bio-diesel which are made using vegetable oils. These bio-diesel vehicles have less emissions and run at a cheaper cost. Bio-diesel can cost any where from one to two dollars cheaper than gasoline. Diesel vehicles engines are proven to last longer because they they are built to withstand a more powerful explosion thus made with more robust parts, therefore retaining their value over time....   [tags: Diesel, fuel economy, ]

Strong Essays
581 words (1.7 pages)

Essay about Diesel Cars Vs. Clean Diesel

- With new diesel technology in today’s world, I think people should consider trying or using new diesel cars and trucks as well as the use of clean diesel. The diesel we use today is much “cleaner” than previous types. Clean diesel is a type of diesel fuel that is often referred to as ULSD. This acronym stands for Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel. This type of fuel is a more refined fuel than previous standard types of diesel. Although it is not the same as biodiesel, many people do not actually know the difference between “biodiesel” and “clean diesel”....   [tags: Internal combustion engine, Diesel engine]

Strong Essays
1679 words (4.8 pages)

Diesel Fuel Vs. Diesel Engines Essay

- The two most common types of engines used in the manufacturing process of vehicles have been diesel and gasoline engines. The primary difference between gasoline and diesel engine is in the ignition process and the type of fuel that is used. Some pros and cons of these engines include an advantage of a diesel engine that has a higher engine efficiency, making it better for the economy. Today with most vehicles that have gasoline engines, the engines use a process called the Otto cycle which uses spark plugs to ignite the fuel and air mixture inside the cylinders which ultimately gives you its working power....   [tags: Internal combustion engine, Diesel engine]

Strong Essays
2130 words (6.1 pages)

Diesel Mechanic and a Brief History of Diesel Truck Engines Essay

- I am doing diesel mechanics the reason I am doing diesel mechanics is because My dad is a mechanic with his own business. I want to take over my dads business when I get older and can handle the responsibility To be a diesel or regular mechanic. The reason I really need to take over the business is Because i am the oldest in my family and I will have to support them. The history of the diesel truck engines began why back in the late 19th century. The inventor of diesel engineering is Rudolf diesel although he was the inventor he a almost died from creating the diesel engine....   [tags: rudolf diesel, fuel, career, gender]

Strong Essays
532 words (1.5 pages)

Career Field Analysis: Diesel Mechanic Essay

- Ever since I could go with my dad in the tractors and equipment on the ranch, I knew I wanted to be a part of its operation. I have always been fascinated with the operations of diesel engine and much of a valuable asset they are to our world today. I helped out on the ranch whenever I could driving equipment. In the summer time it was my job to operate the swather. I really enjoyed operating it as much as I enjoyed fixing it when it broke down. When it came time to go to college the decision for a major was pretty clear....   [tags: diesel technician, diesel engine, mechanic]

Strong Essays
939 words (2.7 pages)

Bio-Fuel Energy: Oil Palm Essay

- Oil palm is a multipurpose plantation yet it is also productive producer of biomass. Palm oil industry’s waste may provide an alternative sources of bio-fuel energy like bio-ethanol, bio-methanol, bio-hydrogen and bio-diesel. The oil palm is a well-known plants for its other substances of renewable energy with enormous quantity of biomass by-products that are developed to produce value added bio-plastic, methane gas, bio-compost, organic acids, plywood, animal feedstock and activated carbon. Commonly, palm oil forms around 10% of the whole palm tree, whereas the other 90% remains as biomass which is full of cellulose and fibre that generally used to generate steam for power generation in pal...   [tags: biomass, bio-ethanol]

Strong Essays
938 words (2.7 pages)

Bio-diesel Oil Essay

- Bio-diesel Oil Vincent Lamaunt, our hypothetical character, is a five star general in the armed forces and has given his life to serve and protect in Iraq. Recently, bravery and courage on the battlefield, has given him the privilege to return home; he’s been told to report at headquarters at 0700 hours the next day. Transported in a truck by a fellow officer, he learns he is officially relieved of his duties in Iraq after his one last mission to bring, from Baghdad, a convoy of four hummers, two trucks, and two support helicopters into Kuwait....   [tags: Renewable Energy Environment Fuel Driving]

Free Essays
1327 words (3.8 pages)

Marketing Audit of Diesel Essay

- 1. Introduction Since 1950s, Jeans have become and continue to be a staple item of clothing in people’s wardrobes as a medium representing stylish identity and identification (Kramer, KR, 2006). People wear jeans for a range of occasions, from staying at home to going outside at a cinema, restaurant or even a working place. As a report from Mintel states, during the year 2006 and 2010, the percentage of adults who bought jeans had remained relatively stable with over half of them ( 51%) purchasing at least one pair in 2010 (Mintel 2010)....   [tags: Diesel S.p.A, Marketing]

Strong Essays
1544 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Diesel Emissions

- Diesel Emissions The new diesel emissions controls being put into place by the EPA control non road diesel fuel, and truck and bus emissions. This includes all farm equipment and other large pieces of diesel equipment. Non road diesel fuel is not taxed and it is also dyed red. It is also refined a lot less and has serious consequences on the environment....   [tags: Fuel Pollution Diesel]

Free Essays
1397 words (4 pages)