Bias in the Media Essay

Bias in the Media Essay

Length: 1547 words (4.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Good Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview



Everyday millions of Americans plop down in front of their TVs to get their daily intake of news and current events of what happened that day. Sadly, most of the news and facts they are getting have been altered somehow by someone at the news corporation or by the reporters themselves. In the numerous news sources that cover world evens daily there are certain viewpoints that are thrust into the public’s face. This highly opinionated and biased news coverage has been present since there was news to report on. From WWII and onwards there has been a steady increase in the number of news corporations, which in turn has caused an increase in viewpoints on news coverage. Americans get this biased view of current world events because owners as well as reporters deliberately sway the facts to reflect their view on the event whether that is more liberal or conservative. The major news and media companies in the United States all have different political agendas that they must follow when reporting on current events especially the war in Iraq and Afghanistan.
There are several reasons why news corporations report tainted facts and information and some of these are more complicated than others. The first example is “partiality, favoritism, and one-sidedness. All of these are very present when news corporations have a strong support of one side” (Sloan, Burleson-Mackay 7). The second example is “the tendency and inclination that prevents a fair and balanced approach to reporting on the news”. This is the most present reason why bias in the media arises. News corporations and owners especially present a constant viewpoint and sway on every story, which is why having a fair approach is hard to accomplish (Sloan, Burleson-Mackay 8). The ...


... middle of paper ...


... the Perspective of Democratic Theory." American Media and Wartime Challenges. Chaple Hill, North Caroline. March 21-22 Mar. 2003. Speech.

Entman, Robert M. Framing: Toward Clarification of a Fractured Paradigm. Tech.
Print.
"The Portrait from Iraq - How the Press Has Covered Events on the Ground | Project for Excellence in Journalism (PEJ)." Project for Excellence in Journalism (PEJ) | Understanding News in the Information Age. Journalism.Org, 19 Dec. 2007. Web. 17 Nov. 2011. .

Ryan, Tim. "Media's Coverage Has Distorted World's View of Iraqi Reality."
WorldTribune.com. World Tribune, 18 Jan. 2005. Web. 16 Nov. 2011.

"U.S. Intelligence and Iraq WMD." The George Washington University. Ed. John Prados. National Security Archive, 22 Aug. 2008. Web. 17 Nov. 2011. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Liberal Bias in the Media Essay

- Today it seems almost impossible to get a straightforward answer on any major topic from the media. All sources of media have a specific audience that they are intending to hear or view the information that they have prepared, therefore they will cut bits and pieces out so that only the message they are trying to get across will be received. So indeed there is a media bias, and yes it more often than not slants towards the liberal view point, as many reporters and journalists have liberal views themselves....   [tags: Liberal Media Bias]

Good Essays
2025 words (5.8 pages)

Analysis Of The Article ' Media Bias Essay

- Upon researching Journalism, I was presented with two outstanding texts that I thought were very crucial towards laying the foundation for a framework that critiques Journalism followed by smaller other texts. The first source I chose was entitled, “Media Bias: How to Spot It-And How to Fight It.” The article was written by media Analyst and FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy In Reporting) member, Peter Hart. Hart asserts that there are three components of Journalism that “lack initiatives” when, “identifying examples of poor reporting, neglected context, and the reluctance to change status-quo notions and conventional wisdom.” I thought this was necessary for my paper and its reputability because...   [tags: Mass media, Culture, Media bias, Bias]

Good Essays
1169 words (3.3 pages)

Liberal Media Bias in the United States Essay

- People rely on journalist to report factual news and to make political points in helping the American citizen in making their decision when it comes time to vote. Since American’s do not have time to research every side to all the stories that have been published, they count on the media to portray both sides. However, you cannot believe everything that the media reports. If you were to pay attention to the reports given by journalists, you will find that they report on the stories that they feel they want to get out....   [tags: Liberal Media Bias]

Good Essays
1341 words (3.8 pages)

Bias in the Media Essay

- Everyday millions of Americans plop down in front of their TVs to get their daily intake of news and current events of what happened that day. Sadly, most of the news and facts they are getting have been altered somehow by someone at the news corporation or by the reporters themselves. In the numerous news sources that cover world evens daily there are certain viewpoints that are thrust into the public’s face. This highly opinionated and biased news coverage has been present since there was news to report on....   [tags: Political Bias]

Good Essays
1547 words (4.4 pages)

Essay about Missing Persons: The Media Bias to Report Only Pretty Blonde Girls

-   A constant sight on the news or internet is of a missing person. Studies by the crimelibrary say that over 800,000 people go missing every year (4). Of those, a little over half are men, half are ethnic minorities and around 50,000 are adults. For such democratic statistics, one would imagine that there would be an equal amount of media coverage for these demographics, yet that is not true. If we observe carefully, we can see that the media tends to follow a certain pattern with who they pick to report on....   [tags: Media Bias Essays]

Good Essays
2804 words (8 pages)

Media Bias And The Media Essay

- In a recent September 2015 Gallup Poll, Rebecca Riffkin points out that four in ten Americans have an above “great deal or fair amount” of trust and confidence in the mass media. In a span of 16 years (1999 to 2015), the American trust in the media has dropped 15 points to 40 percent. Based on that specific poll, there will be an examination of regular working individuals ranging from different ages, backgrounds, and ethics to understand their approach and awareness of media bias. There will be three stories chosen that dominated and have no correlation to each other in the recent year that have been randomly selected before each person is interviewed....   [tags: Mass media, Journalism, News media]

Good Essays
1709 words (4.9 pages)

Essay about Racial Bias And The Media

- Statement of Scope: For many years, racial bias in the media has been an issue. Whether you’re watching the nightly news and hear about a shooting somewhere in the world, or if you’re watching a movie with a black person being constantly portrayed for the stereotypes that others pin against them. These biases have led me to my research question, and it has me asking: why is racial bias in the media a problem. How does the public receive racial bias. What areas do we see this bias happening the most, and whom does it affect the most....   [tags: Black people, White people, Race, African American]

Good Essays
1254 words (3.6 pages)

Essay about The Impact Of Media Bias On Reporting

- Reputation plays a significant role in who you turn to for the latest news and current events. Consumers value content that matches their opinion which incentivizes media firms to slant their reports by omitting certain facts. Media firms report on things they believe the consumer want to hear and sometimes they leave out key facts that others wise would have been reported. In recent years some of the biggest news anchors honesty and integrity have been called into question because of their opinion based reporting....   [tags: Advertising, Mass media, Journalism, Media]

Good Essays
1026 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on Media Power and Media Bias

- The powerful media barons have always altered broadcasts to achieve their personal or corporate agenda. What purpose does the media serve now. Measuring Bias on Television by Barrie Gunter has elaborated on the idea that news was originally set up to act as a national tool to stir thoughts. But is it. No. Is the media even enlightening the public now. After careful speculation of mass media and the communication world, I am under the impression that broadcasts have been used to entertain, frighten and cause controversy as a means to keep people watching....   [tags: Measuring Bias on Television]

Good Essays
990 words (2.8 pages)

Media Bias Essay

- Media Bias Introduction      One problem that plagues us everyday without us even realizing it is media bias. We see it in the news. We see it on our favorite sitcoms. We read it everyday in the paper. Yet, we really don't recognize it when we hear it or see it. Media bias is evident in every aspect of the media, yet the problem is that we don't even recognize it when it is right in front of our faces. Are the impressions that we form about individuals a product of the media. Do we form certain opinions about particular types of people based solely on the things we see and hear in the media everyday without even realizing it....   [tags: News Media Television Biased Opinion Essays]

Good Essays
2488 words (7.1 pages)