Essay on Benefits Of Outdoor Play For Children

Essay on Benefits Of Outdoor Play For Children

Length: 993 words (2.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The topic I am going to being doing for my project at my placement at Camperdown nursery is the benefits of outdoor play. There are seven benefits of outdoor play for children, they are learning, creativity, health, social skills, wellbeing and independence. Outdoor play encourages children to go outside and get fresh air and burn off some energy, it can improve their physical development. This relates to my placement as the children get the opportunity to go outside and run about as much as possible on a daily basis.
The reason for my chosen topic is because I am interested in finding out more about all the benefits of outdoor play and how it has an impact on the child’s physical and social development. I would also like to find out more about forest schools as my placement is part of that. I have two boys of my own and it interests me to see how being outdoors will have an impact of their development and what effects it will have on them in the future. It would be interesting to see how well the children learn through being outdoors.
The aim of the project is to investigate the benefits of outdoor play within a 3-5 years setting following the curriculum for excellence. Also the impact it has on the child’s physical and social development.
Objectives
1. I will complete a literature Review in order to find out the benefits of outdoor play and I will get my information from internet, books and placement. This will be completed by 20th April 2016
2. I will review the play policies in my setting and see what information I can gather on outdoor play. This will be completed by 23rd March 2016
3. I will complete 2/3 various types of observations on children in my setting to see how it impacts on their physical and social development. Th...


... middle of paper ...


...ience and its contribution to a happy, healthy childhood. The Play Strategy also protects children’s ability to play. (The Scottish Government, 2013)
My topic links to the curriculum for Excellence as it emphasises that children learn through active play such as spontaneous play, planned, purposeful play along with investigating and exploring. (Scottish Executive Education Department, 2007)
These are my five objectives and the required dates I aim to have each stage of the project completed by.
Time scale
Date Objectives
9/3/16 Observations
16/3/16 Interview Staff
23/3/16 Policy Review
20/4/16 Literature Review
4/5/16 Evaluate Findings

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Importance Of Outdoor Play On Children 's Health, Learning And Development

- 1. Understand the importance of outdoor play for children’s health, learning and development 1.1 Analyse the benefits of outdoor play on children’s health, learning and development. Many children enjoy outdoor play, all aspects of development and learning are related in play. When children have ample time to play, their style of play will grow in how complex and also socially demanding it will become, for example as children maybe grow older they will choose who they will want in their friendship groups to play with them....   [tags: Developmental psychology, Childhood, Child]

Better Essays
1994 words (5.7 pages)

Essay about Indoor Play Vs. Outdoor Play for Children

- According to Gajendra and Kanka (2005, p.2) “Educational research refers to both the collection and analysis of information on the world of education”. The Aims and objectives of educational research can be to “improve practice”, which may be suggestions that arise from current research. It can also help “add knowledge” which may be adding information to existing knowledge or adding to other research projects. Research can “address gaps in knowledge”, this means highlighting areas absent or which lack from other research projects....   [tags: educational research]

Better Essays
988 words (2.8 pages)

What Skills Children Are Learning When They Play During Recess Their Period?

- My question is about what skills children are learning when they play during recess their period. Playing serves several valuable purposes including building social skills, developing physical fitness, and strengthening intellectual and emotional capabilities. When a child plays she or he will be creating and preserving friendships. Playing also helps children develop problem solving skills, by allowing them to sort out issues that arise during play independently amongst their peers. Because of the importance of playing, schools typically give a recess period during the day to allow children time for active movement and free play....   [tags: Learning, Play, Cognition, Psychology]

Better Essays
1863 words (5.3 pages)

Child's Development: Outdoor Play Essay

- Outdoor play is a very important factor in every child’s development. “Outdoor environments are both comfortable, supportive and encourage skill building” (Sachs 4). (Hillman 67). “Positive outdoor experiences can foster a happier, healthier, smarter and better adjusted children and can create future stewards of the earth” (Hillman 67). Many children with disabilities are mostly structured to indoor environments and outside play can provide them with great benefits (Christensen 1). An example of this is how children with autism benefit greatly from nature....   [tags: skill building, safety, needs]

Better Essays
1897 words (5.4 pages)

The Benefits of Play Time for Children Essay

- The best way for parents to teach their child is to play with them. Because indoor and outdoor play is a child's opportunity to explore his new world, it is very important for his growth. In order to help their children develop cognitive, social, and psychological skills, parents should actively participate in their child's playtime. The first step for parents to take is to give the child enough room to play. Enough play space will give way to paths, ramps, bridges, hills, etc (Strickland par....   [tags: Cognitive, Social, Psychological Skills]

Better Essays
1222 words (3.5 pages)

Gardening: Planting SunFlowers in a School Environment Essay

- ... Besides that, the principal of the kindergarten provides me the gardening tools from the store room. Other than that, gardening is a long-life learning process. Children’s involvement and interests in gardening is one of the reasons for sustainability of the project. Children’s interests are catalysts of endless possibilities (Woods, 2013). Children’s interest was boosted up because gardening is an interesting project for the children. Based on the kindergarten’s policy, children will be experiences on gardening each 3 months with different plants such as creating a fruit orchard, vegetable patches or growing flowers....   [tags: outdoor environment, children]

Better Essays
1426 words (4.1 pages)

How The Outdoor Environment Helps Promote Connections Between Children And Nature

- Engaging in more sensitive interactions in the natural environment aims to promote connections between children and nature. With more than 4 years experience within early childhood education, I have found a tremendous amount of positive outcomes regarding children 's development when they are heavily exposed to the outdoor environment. I became a member of a service where I had commenced my childcare career, and worked there for 3 and a half years. The centre has an incredibly organic outdoor area which incorporated different textures, Australian flora, animals, along with wonderful play equipment; and for me, this set a benchmark....   [tags: Natural environment, Nature, Environment, Ecology]

Better Essays
1529 words (4.4 pages)

The Effects Of Video Games On Outdoor Activities Essay

- Enjoyable pastimes come in two forms, indoor and outdoor. Both indoor and outdoor have nearly endless possibilities of things to do. A survey on how much people play outside now versus how much people did 30 years ago found that 50 percent of the adults asked had played outside at least seven times a week while growing up, now only 23 percent of kids play outside. Only recently have kids, teenagers, and adults alike broadened our scope of indoor activities. Outdoor activities have remained the same for centuries....   [tags: Game, Board game, Chess, Dice]

Better Essays
718 words (2.1 pages)

The Effectiveness of Outdoor Education Provision Essay

- The Effectiveness of Outdoor Education Provision For this assignment I am going to identify the principles and benefits that outdoor education has to offer. After taking the time to think about what a principle and a benefit is I have come to the conclusion that a principle is the ethnics and morals and a benefit is the outcome and something you gain such as a new skill or completion of a task. People provide outdoor education for many reasons. The principles of a national skills centre are as followed....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
1649 words (4.7 pages)

Essay on Adventure Education : A Type Of Learning Technique

- Adventure Education is a type of learning technique that takes kids out of there environment that they are so use to like the gym and classroom and take them outside into the wilderness which is a good technique to help the kids learn about teamwork, sportsmanship, honest, collaboration and many any other things. Adventure education is an actively engaging the children in experiences that may have benefits or consequences. There are some teacher’s roles that can be looked at for not just adventure education, but also with teachers who teach mostly in the classroom....   [tags: Learning, Outdoor education, Knowledge]

Better Essays
1052 words (3 pages)