Becoming Stupid with Your Pal Google Essay example

Becoming Stupid with Your Pal Google Essay example

Length: 1845 words (5.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

We have all done it. We are all affected by it, but we don’t even realize what is happening. Even I am shot by the invisible bullet; the internet. At first glance the internet seems to be great. If you want to know who batted for the Red Socks in 1978, Google it. If you want to see a street view of Rome, Google Maps has your back. Do you need to see if the price on that new purse dropped? Amazon is there, instantly. It seems like the information on the internet is endless, and in a way it is. One website, Youtube, adds over six-thousand days of video per day (youtube.com). You may be thinking that this is great, but most of that information is useless. In that six-thousand days of video you may be able to watch a day’s worth over a whole week, and that is only if you are extremely dedicated to wasting time. As you watch these videos throughout the week, more information is being added. You are only obtaining a day’s worth of information, more likely entertainment, out of forty-two-thousand days of video. Inevitably, some of this information will be on the same subject. There may be dozens of videos based on a single idea, but the question arises: What video is getting it right? This is one of the many problems that we are running into while using the internet to learn. Many people believe that the internet is a great tool for education due to its information, but I believe that the internet is a giant storm that holds too much information for us to handle.
Schools are turning over more and more assignments via the internet. Kids don’t have to bring home fifty-pound backpacks, scavenge through dozens of folders just looking for a single blank sheet of paper, and to a paperless generation these facts seem great. However, the mental...


... middle of paper ...


...uter world and there is nothing to be done; it is life for us. In the next couple of sentences you are probably going to go over the final grade and then go on the web. I don’t blame you for using it, but please, for your own sake, watch your step and don’t get caught in the worlds best spun web.




Works Cited
“Statistics” Youtube. http://www.youtube.com/yt/press/statistics.html
Carr, Nicholas. "Is Google Making Us Stupid?" The Atlantic. Atlantic Media Company, 01 July 2008. Web. 06 Apr. 2014.
"How the Internet Is Making Us Stupid." The Telegraph. Telegraph Media Group, 27 Aug. 2010. Web. 07 Apr. 2014.
"Is the Internet Making Us Stupid?" Is the Internet Making Us Stupid? Web. 06 Apr. 2014.
"Mr. Personality." Is Technology Making Us Stupid (and Smarter)? Web. 05 Apr. 2014.
"Is the Internet Making Us Stupid?" Is the Internet Making Us Stupid? Web. 07 Apr. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Is Google Making Us Stupid?, by Nicholas Carr Essay example

- With the rise of technology and the staggering availability of information, the digital age has come about in full force, and will only grow from here. Any individual with an internet connection has a vast amount of knowledge at his fingertips. As long as one is online, he is mere clicks away from Wikipedia or Google, which allows him to find what he needs to know. Despite this, Nicholas Carr questions whether Google has a positive impact on the way people take in information. In his article “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” Carr explores the internet’s impact on the way people read....   [tags: Is Google Making Us Stupid, 2015]

Term Papers
1419 words (4.1 pages)

Is Google Making Us Stupid Essay

- “Is Google Making Us Stupid: A summary of the article by Nicholas Carr” With the rising of technology in the modern age, lots of new inventions have been introduced and the appearance of those inventions has helped our life significantly. But the growth of technology has also raised a vast amount of concerns, and most of those concerns are due to the negative effects of technology to our minds – the users who benefit from it. Nicholas Carr in “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” has strengthened those concerns by coming up with the idea that the advance in technology is influencing our thoughts and behaviors to be functioning differently than the way they used to be....   [tags: Psychology, Mind, Thought, Google]

Term Papers
970 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on Is Google Making Us Stupid?

- In his essay, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?”, Nicholas Carr shows great concerns to the advancement of technology. In this controversial article, through giving a series of examples, Carr points out the negative and long term effects that Google may bring to human. Although Google provides convenient access for people to get the information, people’s way of thinking has been altered and harmed by Google. Whether Google is making us smart or stupid is a controversial topic in recent years. On one hand, supporters insist that Google is a quick and convenient tool that extend people’s degree of knowledge in a way never happen before....   [tags: Google search, Google, Web search engine, AdSense]

Term Papers
1603 words (4.6 pages)

Is Google Making Us Stupid? Essay examples

- Google; it 's bright, simple, and inviting colors call to you when you make a search on the website. When I first read the title of Nicholas Carr 's essay "is Google making us stupid" I immediately asked myself, "what do I use Google for?" I use Google for almost every thing from work, leisure browsing, and most importantly school. I use about any source that I find credible by using Google as a platform, heck I used Google to find my sources for this essay you are reading. The use of the Internet to browse Google allows us to access scholarly sources, has readily available sources at anytime, and is easy to navigate....   [tags: Google, Web search engine, Google search, Life]

Term Papers
1012 words (2.9 pages)

Is Google Making Us Stupid? Essay

- Nicholas Carrs article, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” makes points that I agree with, although I find his sources to be questionable. The article discusses the effects that the Internet may be having on our ability to focus, the difference in knowledge that we now have, and our reliance on the Internet. The points that are made throughout Carrs article are very thought provoking but his sources make them seem invaluable. Carr discusses the effects that the Internet has on our minds and the way we think, as well as the way media has changed....   [tags: article analysis]

Term Papers
739 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on Is Google Making Us Stupid?

- In modern society, people have become over reliant on the internet and as a consequence of this, our ability to think critically has reduced significantly. An author that contributes to this point, Nicholas Carr, argues in his article, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?”, how the internet is turning people into weak-minded thinkers. Carr states his argument by bringing up multiple points such as how we’ve become too dependent on it, how we’ve spent a lot of time doing unproductive things on it, and how it does the majority of work for you....   [tags: Internet, History of the Internet, Usenet, E-mail]

Term Papers
939 words (2.7 pages)

Is Google Making Us Stupid? Essay

- If you find yourself skimming through pages, looking for bullet points and your mind wandering off, you might be suffering the effects of Google making you stupid. These are the things that Nicholas Carr talks about in his essay “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” was originally published in July 2008 in Atlantic magazine. Carr argues that the use of technology on the daily basis has made us unable to go into deeper thought about things. Along with the opinion of Scientists and other “literary types” he asserts that the web has indeed made us change the way we think....   [tags: Mind, Thought, Critical thinking, Rhetoric]

Term Papers
1175 words (3.4 pages)

Is Google Making Us Stupid Essay

- In Nicholas Carr’s “Is Google Making Us Stupid” discusses the fact that society is changing, the way we get information is changing. Anything we desire to know is right at our fingertips with a few short keystrokes puts our entire vast knowledge base in front of our very eyes. These changes in how we collect data and disperse it causes a change in our neurological systems and how we think. Google is not making us stupid but it is changing how we think. Carr refers to how his friends reading habits have changed as “Even a blog post of more than three or four paragraphs is too much to absorb....   [tags: Brain, Human brain, Mind, Neuron]

Term Papers
1365 words (3.9 pages)

Is Google Making Us Stupid? Essay

- In Nicholas Carr 's article, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” he discusses the effect that technology has on our brains as the world becomes more advanced. He gives examples of how technology has helped us and hurts us. Nicholas Carr tells about his own experiences with technology and others as well. In this paper, I will talk about the first part of Carr’s article, I will then agree with Nicholas Carr, give examples from his article, talk on his structure, sources, counterarguments or solutions, and end with why I agree with what he has said....   [tags: Brain, Human brain, Arthur C. Clarke]

Term Papers
825 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Is Google Making Us Stupid?

- Everyday technology is becoming more preeminent in our society. We have created machines and gadgets that seemed like dreams even just one hundred years ago. Most of these inventions have no doubt benefited society. No one would deny the fact that the polio vaccine, which was discovered through countless research and technological devices, was a tremendous breakthrough in the medical field. Most everyone would also agree that the start of the automobile industry has improved society and has made communicating to others much easier....   [tags: Human, Thought, History of the Internet, Mind]

Term Papers
1021 words (2.9 pages)