Essay on Be Gone with Pointless Homework

Essay on Be Gone with Pointless Homework

Length: 1347 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Homework is something most students do not care for and would like to live without. Getting rid of all homework seems like a great solution to this problem, but unfortunately it is not likely to happen. But what happens if the overwhelming abundance of homework that is given and homework that is used to keep students busy like crossword puzzles, fill in the blanks, and other repetitive non-interesting material, is eliminated? With the elimination of the extra homework and busywork, people’s attitudes have the potential to become more positive, and the overall educational level could be increased. There are plenty of benefits that can come from the limiting the amount and type of homework students are assigned, but figuring out just how to limit the amount and type of homework that is assigned is an interesting part that depends on the teachers and the school.
By eliminating the overwhelming abundance of homework students are assigned and busywork, there is a great potential to make the attitudes of students, teachers, and parents, more positive. When some students, especially elementary aged, are assigned busywork they are obviously not going to want to do it. This forces parents to intervene to make sure their children get their homework done, and the outcome is not always pleasant. With the elimination of this type of homework there would not be as many conflicts between parents and children to get the work done (Smith). Teacher’s attitudes would also become more positive because they would not have to spend their time grading heaps of homework or busywork assignments. Teachers should have time to go over homework closely and make sure their students are learning what they should be learning. But when teachers assign an abundan...


... middle of paper ...


...i. "Caning For Homework Push to Reduce Amount of `Useless and Mind-Numbing' Study." Sunday Tasmanian (Hobart) (n.d.): Newspaper Source. Web. 16 Apr. 2014.
Should Homework Be Banned? Perf. Rebecca Thomas and Misty Hyman. YouTube. ABC15 Arizona, 28 Mar. 2012. Web. 16 Apr. 2014. .
Smith, Patricia. "No Homework: A Growing Trend?." education.com. N.p., 25 May 2010. Web. 18 Mar 2014. .
Strauss, Valarie. "As Homework Grows, So Do Arguments Against It." The Washington Post. 12 Sept. 2006. Web. 17 Apr. 2014. .
Carbone II, Steven A. "The Value of Homework: Is Homework an Important Tool for Learning in the Classroom?" Student Pulse. N.p., 1 Jan. 2009 Web. 17 April. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Homework : Too Much Homework? Essay

- Too Much Homework. We have all gone through the thought of too much homework at one point in our educational lives. There have been many studies towards each side of this discussion. Ironically, many of them have been done by students for their homework. But, has there really been a factual answer. There are many beneficial sides to homework, if given the right amount. First of many, students need the practice for new material and in order for them to comprehend or learn it, they must practice it....   [tags: Education, Teacher, Homework help service]

Strong Essays
731 words (2.1 pages)

Teachers Assign Too Much Homework Essay

- Every night is the same, frustrating routine for me: get home from a brain-rattling six-hour school day, eat as much food as I can find, do my daily chores, relax for an hour or two, and then pull out my mounds of homework due the following morning. With the addition of sports, my routine becomes chaotic. Instead of having one or two hours to relax, I am at practice for two to three hours. You can see how this would be a problem, right. Everybody needs at least a little time for himself/herself every day, but with sports in the picture, the time that I would usually have to myself is gone....   [tags: Homework Essays]

Strong Essays
1043 words (3 pages)

Essay on The Pros and Cons of Homework

- “Did you know that homework is one of the greatest causes of student dropouts and failing” (Kralovek 39). Since the beginning of the twentieth century, homework has been a major debate in America. “At first, the brain was seen as a muscle that could be trained by learning from homework and people enjoyed learning at home. This enthusiastic spirit did not last long since during the 1940’s, Professor Otto explained that, ‘Compulsory homework does not result in sufficiently improved academic accomplishment.’ When Sputnik was launched in the 1950’s, the United States feared that Russia would dominate the world in technology if homework continued to be unnecessary....   [tags: dumb homework]

Free Essays
3109 words (8.9 pages)

Homework is Silly Essay

- Homework has been an integral part of education since children started to be educated. Recently however, homework has begun to be assigned more and more often to students, especially in the United States, as it has begun to fall further and further behind countries like China, Singapore, and Japan. Homework is anything assigned by teachers to be completed by the students either at home, or just on their own time. The workload for students has gotten to the point where more and more parents are starting to notice the load for their kids has gotten to be too much....   [tags: Education, Student, Schools, Homework]

Strong Essays
1011 words (2.9 pages)

The Importance Of Homework And All Of The Benefits It Can Do For Us? Essay examples

- Khristina Janer, a mother from Illinois, says, “I don’t feel like a parent. I feel like a drill sergeant!” when making her kids finish their homework after an extended period of time (Wallace). Many studies show the effectiveness of homework and all of the benefits it can do for us; the problem is: teachers are making kids do too much homework when they get home from school. The teachers don’t take in the environmental factors that could be harming any student 's ability to get a task done. Teachers automatically believe that kids are irresponsible or unmotivated when they don’t succeed in finishing their homework....   [tags: Sleep, Sleep deprivation, High school, Homework]

Strong Essays
1390 words (4 pages)

Too Much Homework is Bad for Kids Essays

- To much homework may cause more harm than good. In my sophomore year being a student-athlete was a huge challenge. I would drown in homework every single night after getting home from basketball practice at 5. I would stay up until 1 a.m doing all my homework, when I would get tired I would plead with my sister to help me finish my homework I had left to do. I became stressed with 7 hours of school and then 2 hours of basketball practice and then spending all night working on my assignments. I would go to school exhausted and in fear of how much homework I would receive that day....   [tags: Excessive Homework]

Strong Essays
2058 words (5.9 pages)

Essay on The Controversial Issue Of Homework

- The Controversial Issue of Homework What would you rather do, graduate from high school when you are still young or live the rest of your life just wishing you would have just done your homework when you were in school, and not graduate with a high school diploma. The controversial issue of homework is whether to have the teachers assign it to the students or let them get away with no homework. In a previous study that compared students in the United States to students in Japan and Germany, “The 1995 Third International Math and Science Study (TIMSS) found that 8th graders in Japan and Germany are assigned less homework but still outperform U.S....   [tags: Learning, High school, Homework]

Strong Essays
1523 words (4.4 pages)

The Character of Scarlet in Gone With the Wind Essay

- The Character of Scarlet in Gone With the Wind    "My Dear, I don't give a damn," (718) Rhett Butler says this infamous quote to Scarlet O'Hara at the end of Gone With the Wind (1934), when the woman has finally poured her soul to him. The novel Gone with the Wind (1934) by Margaret Mitchell is a classic about the hard times suffered during and after the Civil War. Scarlet lives in the Confederacy and everyone there is for fighting for his or her noble Cause. The young southern belle Scarlet O'Hara is forced to do things she never thought a girl of her class and nature would have to do....   [tags: Gone With the Wind]

Strong Essays
1469 words (4.2 pages)

Gone With the Wind : Born Survivors Essay examples

- Gone With the Wind : Born Survivors       Gone With the Wind is a novel written by Margaret Mitchell which focuses on the life of a Southern belle during the Civil War. The underlying focus in Mitchell's Gone With the Wind is that only those who are born survivors will really prosper during times of true hardship. A born survivor is one who will do anything to survive, at any cost. They will get down in the dirt and work like a dog just for a day's meal; they will take something from someone else just so that they and their own can live....   [tags: Gone With the Wind]

Strong Essays
948 words (2.7 pages)

Too Much Homework Essay

- Students are bombarded with hours of homework every night and it interferes with their lives. They are tired of staying up late at night to finish their homework or a paper that is due the next day. They should not have this workload that they have every night because they also have to live their childhood. Life is too short to be staying up until 11:00 because of schoolwork. Homework is unhealthy for students and it is not academically beneficial for them. We all know the downfall of homework: the frustration and exhaustion, family conflict, time loss, and decreasing interest in learning....   [tags: Students, Schools, Education, Homework]

Strong Essays
1227 words (3.5 pages)