Essay on Barack Obama: Privacy for Freedom

Essay on Barack Obama: Privacy for Freedom

Length: 1739 words (5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In May of 2013, a former National Security Agency (NSA) contractor, Edward Snowden, confiscated several sensitive security documents having to do with confidential government activities that had to do with as described by news outlet Aljazeera America (AA), “…an order from the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISC) requiring Verizon to hand over metadata from millions of Americans' phone calls to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the NSA” (AA). Snowden then later released these documents to British news outlet, The Guardian. The Guardian, then later with Snowden’s permission released the documents on June 6th, 2013 to the general public. After a substantial amount of outcry and distain from the majority of the American public, President Obama later gave a speech on January 17th, 2014 to discuss the new NSA reforms with security of the nation and to address the publics’ newly kindled anger.
With release of the NSA documents and the outcries of many Americans, President Obama and the White House had to approach this situation carefully. When preparing this speech they had to take some factors into consideration one being who will the President be primarily addressing. That being said, when the President was giving the speech he may have been addressing the security agencies such as the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISC), but also the audience whom Obama had directed his speech toward was not only the security agencies and their employees civilian population of the United States. The civilian population meaning the various sections of the population that is not a part of the security workforce. For his presidential address, President Obama and his staff had to also take into account that the masses h...


... middle of paper ...


...acrifices must be made to ensure that we are continually able to have these freedoms that we enjoy. Even if that sacrifice means the NSA knows your internet history, e-mails, or text messages.



Works Cited

Board, Editorial. "Grading President Obama’s NSA Speech." Washington Post. The Washington Post, 18 Jan. 2014. Web. 8 May 2014.
Eaton, Joshua. "Timeline of Edward Snowden's Revelations | Al Jazeera America." Timeline of Edward Snowden's Revelations | Al Jazeera America. Ed. Ben Piven. Aljazeera America, n.d. Web. 8 May 2014.
Obama, Barack. “National Security Agency Reforms.” U.S. Dept. of Justice. Washington, D.C. January 7, 2014. Federal News Service. Transcript. Web. April 2, 2014.
Sanger, David E., and Charlie Savage. "Analysis of Obama's N.S.A. Speech." The Caucus Analysis of Obamas NSA Speech Comments. New York Times, 14 Jan. 2014. Web. 9 May 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Weatherproof, the American Jacket Mmanufacturer and President Obama´s Picture

- Recently Weatherproof, the American jacket manufacturer, found itself at the receiving end of a controversy when it came out with ads that had the US president, Barack Obama wearing one its jackets, while standing at the Great Wall of China. Weatherproof came across the President’s picture and bought rights to it, with the intent of using it as a sly marketing strategy. This seems to be a clear case of Weatherproof’s attempt at using Obama’s ‘selling power’ to market its goods, and in a way, at free-riding on the President’s persona....   [tags: president´s selling power, identity, protection]

Powerful Essays
559 words (1.6 pages)

Essay on Barack Obama And Mitt Romney

- The United States of America is the land of opportunity and freedom. Americans take pride in having access to many rights; including the right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness as well as the ability to be their own individual. The United States government wants to ensure that nothing interferes with the rights, which the founders fought so hard to establish. While American politicians want to ensure that Americans are entitled to their rights different politicians prioritize issues as they often have contrasting views on which is more important for the American people....   [tags: United States, Barack Obama]

Powerful Essays
1818 words (5.2 pages)

Barack Obama 's President Obama Essay

- In the present time, no one could imaged that the Senator Barack Obama won the presidential election because of the speech to make a more perfect union. President Barack Obama is the 44th president and the first African American to serve as U.S president. He was elected second terms over former Massachusetts governor Mitt Romney. On March 18,2008, president Obama gave famous speech about the political, religion issues of race in the United States. he speaking at the National Constitution Center in Philadelphia....   [tags: Barack Obama, United States, African American]

Powerful Essays
1692 words (4.8 pages)

Barack Obama 's Speech Obama

- “Yes we can,” (Obama par. 29) the crowd chants; these three words speak to the audience just as Barack Obama anticipated them to. These are some of the most famous words ever spoken by President Obama and what his 2008 primary speech came to be known for, “Yes we can”. These are not the only words that the crowd responds to intensely, Obama plans out the rise and fall of every word, successfully demonstrating his control of character and charisma. In this speech Obama works to cement his place as a strong speaker and individual, traits desirable in a leader....   [tags: Barack Obama, United States]

Powerful Essays
1955 words (5.6 pages)

The, The Choice, Advertisement By Barack Obama Essay

- In the “The Choice” advertisement by Barack Obama in 2012, the scenes in this video are mostly taken in the living room. There are couches, flowers, and shelves which are full of books and framed pictures. Obama is sitting on the chair and talking to the camera about the choice that the voters have and need to make. He probably chooses this scene that has a feeling at home because he wants the viewer to feel he is one of them, explaining to them as if he goes to each house and talks one-to-one. While he is talking, the camera is clearly focused on his face....   [tags: United States, Barack Obama]

Powerful Essays
1320 words (3.8 pages)

Essay on The Presidential Election : Barack Obama And Obama

- The 2008 Presidential Primaries saw a variety of candidates who believed they had the right stuff but it really came down to Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama as Presidential candidates for the Democratic Party and John Mc Cain and Mitt Romney were candidates for the Republican Party. But before I address this, I would be careless not to address issues that I believe affected how the Democratic Party was perceived during the 2008 primaries. When John Edwards who was holding himself up to be holier than thou was found to be having an ongoing affair with a woman who worked for him as a Graphic Designer, his behavior proved that you can rarely trust some politicians or take them at their word....   [tags: Barack Obama, Democratic Party, John McCain]

Powerful Essays
1279 words (3.7 pages)

Barack Obama The Senator Of Illinois Essay

- “Valerie I need to see you in my office.” Those were the words my boss spoke to me in 2007. She went on to state that Barack Obama the senator of Illinois would be running for president. “Valerie I need you to conduct this interview with him tonight for me”. I stood there dumbfounded because this position was new to me, and I had never conducted an interview before. After returning to my desk I started googling all the information I could find on this potential candidate for president. Barack was a senator from Illinois who served only one term in the senate seat....   [tags: United States, Barack Obama, Illinois]

Powerful Essays
708 words (2 pages)

The Choice, By Barack Obama Essay

- In “The Choice” by Barack Obama in 2012, the scenes are mostly shot in the living room. There are couches, flowers, and shelves which are full of books and framed pictures. Obama is sitting on a chair and talking to the camera about the choice that the voters have and need to make. He probably chooses this setting with a homey feeling because he wants middle-class viewers to feel like he is one of them, explaining to them as if he is going to each house and talking one-on-one. While he is talking, the camera is clearly focused on his face....   [tags: United States, Barack Obama, Camera]

Powerful Essays
1351 words (3.9 pages)

Barack Obama, An Expository Essay

- Summary: This book, Barack Obama, was an expository. It informs readers about the life of Barack Obama – from his childhood to his adult life as President of the United States. This book talked about how Obama came from a multicultural family with a mom from Kansas and his father from Kenya. It continues to discuss Barack’s elementary and high school years, meeting his wife, and having two daughters. Furthermore, it explains how Obama entered politics and won his first political race in 1996. As time went on, Obama progressed to further political achievements....   [tags: Barack Obama, President of the United States]

Powerful Essays
1280 words (3.7 pages)

Barack Obama is A Leader And Entertainer Essay

- Entertainment is my first priority and without it life is a big bore. The first thing I look for in a politician is their ability to be entertaining. That is why my first choice for the democratic nomination and president is Barack Obama. He is loaded with charisma and is a pleasure to watch and listen to. The rest of the candidates could not hold my attention for more than five minutes no matter what they are talking about. American presidents are viewed as very powerful people but that is far from the truth, they are chained to those that put them in office....   [tags: President Barack Obama Politicians]

Powerful Essays
471 words (1.3 pages)