The Art and Mechanics of Timelapse Photography Essay

The Art and Mechanics of Timelapse Photography Essay

Length: 1134 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Photography is a well-known and highly practiced hobby, profession, art, and a tool to be a part of nature (“What is Photography?”). Today, Photography is seen and used in many public viewing subjects like advertising, magazines, newspapers, business, promotions for companies and industries, billboards, movies, and architecture. Photography also acts as an outlet to connect people and the world through arts, histories, cultures, interests, and locations (Williams). Through photographs we preserve history and evoke the essence of places other people have not been to (Williams). Over the course of history, people have been involved in getting to know our world better, whether it would be through exploration, traveling, getting to know a different culture, or even things as simple as painting, reading a book, or viewing photographs. The art of recording our surroundings has evolved tremendously throughout the years. Time Lapse Photography is an example of this evolution. Time Lapse Photography is an innovative, yet imaginative form of photography that demonstrates another unique way to view the world and its pulchritude. Timelapse Photography not only captures and records our surroundings, but captures our environment and how it can change over time.


Photography is not only an art, but a science; Photography involves visual science, the science of light, and the science of chemistry. Through the camera, light is captured, or recorded, into a piece of silver halide emulsion, known as film, or an electronic light sensor (“What is Photography?”). The film, or sensor, can record other things such as electromagnetic radiation. For example, the light being transmitted into our eyes, and our mind creating images, is almost like how a c...


... middle of paper ...


...me lapse photography is? Through this essay you may use the information as a way to discover your connection to the world. You may not want to create your own timelapse, but, you may use these examples as another outlook on our surroundings, and the world.



Works Cited


Chylinski, Ryan. “Time-Lapse Photography.” Kentucky. April 2012. Book. October 20, 2013



Gabrianowski, Ed. “Ten Important Photography Terms.” How Stuff Works. December 7, 2010. Web.


October 20, 2013



Kelle, Peteris. “How to make Time-Lapse Videos- Ultimate Guide.” How-to Guides (part of


HONGKIAT). Web. September 23,2013



“Photography.” Wikipedia. Web. September 17, 2013



“Time-Lapse Photography.” Wikipedia. Web. September 17, 2013



Williams, Suzanne. “What is Photography?” Steve’s Digicam. Web. September 17, 2013



“What is Photography?” Library. Thinkquest. Web. September 17, 2013

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Photography Is An Art Of Photography Essay

- Today the internet is filled with pictures, they’re all around us. But what most of the world doesn’t realize is that there is a difference between picture-taking and photography. To take a picture, all you have to do is point and shoot. Picture taking has no artistic value. Photography is an art, and like any other kind of art, it takes meticulous practice. Just as anyone can take a picture, though, anyone can learn the art of photography. Here are a few tips and tricks that, along with a little practice, will have you on your way to becoming a master of photography....   [tags: Photography, Photograph, Rule of thirds, Camera]

Strong Essays
1004 words (2.9 pages)

How Photography Became An Accepted Form Of Art Essay

- The purpose of this paper is to explain how photography became an accepted form of art, as this was accomplished by Gaspard-Felix Tournachon. This was accomplished based on continuous experimentation of techniques to develop photographs, and how he had set up his environments to emphasize the subject and it’s beauty. Though Gaspard was more interested in caricatures and journalism, he decided to apply photography as a rapid form to create caricatures (Janson, 2012) after a friend convinced him to consider the possibility....   [tags: Photography, Portrait, Daguerreotype, Photograph]

Strong Essays
2018 words (5.8 pages)

Essay about Rise of Photography in the World of Art

- The rise of photography began in the early 1830’s in France, and wasn’t very popular as most artists preferred a paintbrush and canvas to a new contraption that wasn’t popular and wasn’t manufactured locally or globally yet and that was fairly expensive to try to produce, and since this time it has been debated if photography deserves its place in the art world. Through the late 1800’s and the early 1900’s it grew in popularity and throughout time photography went from being badly received to a new form of art though people around the world still debate if it is indeed “art”....   [tags: Art History, France, United States]

Strong Essays
1437 words (4.1 pages)

The art of photography and its Relationship with the Truth Essay

- A lie is defined as a false statement made with deliberate intent to deceive; an intentional untruth; a falsehood or to convey a false impression. “Art is a lie that brings us nearer to the truth” (Pablo Picasso) could not be any more accurate. Can the intake of untrue information lead to the discovery of a truth. I believe that Picasso was insinuating that art is merely an imitation of life therefore there must be some truth to it. Photography is the art form that is able to depict this ideal the best....   [tags: photography essay, informative essay]

Strong Essays
966 words (2.8 pages)

Photography Of The Modern World Essay

- In today 's day and age, we are constantly bombarded by images from Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook, etc. My point is images are at a point where they are unavoidable, so what is going to happen to photography, or arts of its kind. My guess is just as good as yours, but what I can tell you is that many photographers have stayed on the well worn path for over a century now with little to no change. Sure the technology has advanced, but have the so called "photographers". Now I am not speaking of all photographers, so please don 't take my opinion as a generalization, but I believe this applies to the majority....   [tags: Photography, Art, Camera, Photographer]

Strong Essays
1744 words (5 pages)

Essay on Photography- The Path to Art

- If asked, one’s interpretation of what classifies as forms of art may vary from visual arts, to literary arts, based on one’s individual opinion. These opinions are produced through the influence of one’s individual lifestyle and society in which they live. If a street artist was asked what forms of art exist, one may give examples on urban artistry with an underlying motive, while a professional architect may give examples of geometric, unique designs from past work. The backbone to art in itself is the concept that it is a manmade creation of something from the mind, whether it be based off of preexisting or new influences in the world....   [tags: self-expression, art critics, opinion]

Strong Essays
1232 words (3.5 pages)

20th Century Photography: Documentary Art Essay

- With the advancement of photography throughout the early 19th century, opportunities arose more frequently for photographers; both amateur and professional, to shoot what they saw fit. Very frequently, humans were the subjects of early daguerreotypes, and later dry-plates, for a number of different reasons. A daguerreotype held a special sentiment with people who viewed them, and it was a popularly held consensus that photographs literally held onto and saved the very essence of a loved one after their death....   [tags: architecture, photographs, walker evans]

Strong Essays
1256 words (3.6 pages)

Essay about Art of Photography

- I look at a photograph I took this past summer when my family was on vacation on Block Island. I remember when I took it: on a hike with my mother and aunt. I see the dusty dirt road sunken on either side- testimony to the tires that groove the path daily. I hear the crunch of the leaves and rocks underneath my sneakers, browned by collected sand and dirt. I remember looking into the distance towards the ocean and thinking to myself “Hey- that would make a good picture.” I remember that I laughed a lot because it was one of those days....   [tags: Photograph Photographer Artwork]

Strong Essays
1483 words (4.2 pages)

Essay on Photography

- The Test of Time: The Power of the Photograph What is a photograph. The simplicity of taking a photograph leads many to ponder its artistic value. Yet, it is undeniable that there are some photos that cause an emotional reaction deeper than simply observing a recorded point in time. Surely, there are photographs that cause more reaction than some modern art pieces. There seems to be two types of photographs. The first classification is the ‘time capture’ photo – an image with the sole purpose of recording a particular event or point in time....   [tags: Art Artwork Photograph]

Strong Essays
740 words (2.1 pages)

Photography Essays

- Missing Images Photography wasn’t considered a form of art in the United States until the turn of the century when a man named Alfred Steiglitz fought throughout his lifetime to make sure we recognized it as an art form. It was only used as a form of science up until then. There is a lot of chemistry when it comes to photography; mixing different chemicals for film and paper as well as the four or five different “baths” for each the film and paper. And to know what film to use, which paper and what chemicals will form the best possible images....   [tags: photo picture photograph]

Free Essays
905 words (2.6 pages)