Are Cochlear Implants a Threat to the Deaf Community? Essay

Are Cochlear Implants a Threat to the Deaf Community? Essay

Length: 1695 words (4.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


The sound of your parents voice, hearing your favorite song playing on the radio, even knowing the sound of your own voice, these are just a few sounds that sadly many of us take for granted, and unfortunately many will never get to experience. Hearing loss affects about 10% of the Global population, with 124.2 million people affected from a moderate level to a severe disability. (WHO 2008)
Deafness can be the result of many different causes such as otitis media (middle ear infections), hereditary disorders, genetic mutations at birth, prenatal exposure to certain diseases such as meningitis, and trauma to the eardrum or auditory nerves. (Better Health Channel, 2013)
While not a cure to deafness, the invention of cochlear implants (CIs) now allows people who are severely hard of hearing or profoundly deaf to experience sound in a completely new way. This surgically implanted electronic device can provide a prosthetic substitute for hearing in deaf individuals. While everyone can agree this device has changed the way the world views deafness, opinions differ on whether this change is for the better or for the worse. The argument over cochlear implants raises the question should deafness be considered a fixable defect or

embraced as part of the deaf community? To some it would seem that cochlear implants are a threat to the deaf community by taking away their culture, however,
many others, including myself, see cochlear implants as a medical advancement that can benefit many deaf individuals by giving them opportunities that may not have elsewise.
How Cochlear Implants Work
To understand the controversy on cochlear implants, you must first understand how the hearing process works. The ear consists of three parts: the...


... middle of paper ...


...13. Web. 14 November 2013.

Photo credit: "KidsHealth." Cochlear Implants. Nemours, n.d. Web. 16 Nov. 2013.

Henshaw, Ashley. "The Pros And Cons Of Cochlear Implants." Symptomfind.com. Symptomfind, 12 June 2012. Web. 03 Nov. 2013.

"Meet Ricky." Raising Deaf Kids. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Nov. 2013. .

“Cochlear Implant Controversy." Cochlear Implant Controversy. Deaf Website, n.d. Web. 03 Nov. 2013.

Coleman, Rachel. "Rachel Coleman." Rachel Coleman RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 14 Nov. 2013. .

Taormina-Weiss, Wendy. ”Cochlear Implants – Facts, Benefits, and Risks” http://www.disabledworld.com/disability/types/hearing/communication/cochlear.php
28 March.2012. Web. 5 Dec 2013

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Cochlear Implants And The Deaf Community Essay

- Many individuals have different views surrounding cochlear implants. Most of the Deaf community tends to be against them whereas most of the hearing community tends to be in favor of them. It is important to understand not only want a cochlear implant is, but how the different communities view the implants so that we can gain a better understanding of Deaf culture. Cochlear implants are electronic devices that sends signals directly to the auditory nerve. Cochlear implants consist of external parts which include the microphone, speech processor, and the transmitter....   [tags: Hearing impairment, Cochlea, Cochlear implant]

Powerful Essays
968 words (2.8 pages)

Cochlear Implants : A New Cure For Another Disease Or Disability? Essay

- Every day it seems that another medical hurdle for humanity is leapt. A new cure for another disease or disability seems to cross the horizon at least once a year. For those affected by even minor disabilities, modern technology often provides an answer. In the case of hearing loss for instance, the technology to at least partially overcome has existed since the early 80’s. While not a complete cure, as results and effectiveness vary from patient to patient, Cochlear implants seem to a simple answer available to those who affected by serious hearing loss....   [tags: Hearing impairment, Cochlea, Models of deafness]

Powerful Essays
889 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on Cochlear Implants and the Internet

- On-line communities are something I have never participated in. I have always felt (due to personal observations of friends using chat rooms and listening to other’s renditions of their experiences) these communities can, and most often do, consume inordinate amounts of time and spare time is a rare commodity for me. Beyond the time consumption, from my observations of chat rooms, there are rarely any well-thought-out responses to the topic of discussion. In fact, often there are inane and childish retorts that just stir up the emotions of those involved and tend to sidetrack the majority as they rally against the perpetrator....   [tags: Health Disability]

Free Essays
2735 words (7.8 pages)

Essay about The Deaf Community and Deaf Culture

- From antiquity, being deaf was looked upon as an undesirable and a culture which was disconnected with the rest of mainstream society. Often members of the community found themselves ostracized by members of other cultures, who viewed them with suspicion, and were thought to be possessed, or in communion, with undesirable “spirits”, particularly during the advent of the Christianity that was in practice during the Middle Ages. During this period, before the advent of Gutenberg’s metal, movable type printing press, the populace was mostly illiterate and religious texts and spiritual obligations/instructions were verbally transmitted to the people by the literate clerics of the day....   [tags: Deaf Language Community]

Powerful Essays
1208 words (3.5 pages)

Myths About The Deaf Community Essay

- At the beginning of the movie there was a quiz over different myths about the Deaf community. These questions assume that all Deaf people are the same and experience the same conditions. Not all Deaf people know sign language. Most Deaf people have parents who are hearing and then have hearing children. These myths also include that Deaf people wish that they could hear and that is a tragedy to be Deaf. At the end of the quiz the video announces that all of the questions were false. This shows that there are many myths about the Deaf community that many people believe to be true....   [tags: Hearing impairment, Cochlea, Cochlear implant]

Powerful Essays
1113 words (3.2 pages)

A Perspective on Cochlear Implants Essay

- For my project I wanted to focus on the different points of view and the various biases that surround the debate of cochlear implants, whether it is from the point of view of members of the deaf community, parents who have children who are born deaf or members of the medical community. Because I find that all three aspects of the debate carry valid points however often times because the point of views vary to such a drastic degree carry many biases within their individual articles. Firstly I will be looking at an article that was published in the New York Times on September 26, 2013 by Gerard O'Donoghue, F.R.C.S....   [tags: Deaf Community, Medical Community]

Powerful Essays
864 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on Deaf And The Deaf Community

- In the 1960’s and 70’s, the Deaf community underwent a dramatic change involving the recognition and acceptance of deafness and its associated culture by the hearing world. Before this period, deafness was largely seen by the hearing world as a disability and nothing more. Those who were not raised or involved in the Deaf community believed that deafness was a disability that needed to be overcome rather than embraced. Along with this, “the sign language” was not recognized as a real language, but just gestures that corresponded with English words (Padden & Humphries, 2005)....   [tags: Deaf culture, Hearing impairment, Sign language]

Powerful Essays
708 words (2 pages)

Explore the Timeline of Cochlear's History of Innovation Essay examples

- Many three years old have begin to talk in simple sentences to communicate with people, but in my case, I didn’t talk at all; which my parents became concerned and believed that I am just having a speech delay which they began to encourage me to talk more, but as time proceeded, my parents realized that there is something wrong with me. So they took me to the audiologist, which as I never experienced hearing, and I learned quickly to depend on my other senses. I may don’t understand what people are telling me, but I am smart enough to figure out what it is going on by observing the situation....   [tags: cochlear implant, hearing aids, deaf program]

Powerful Essays
1565 words (4.5 pages)

Essay on What Is A Cochlear Implant?

- What is a cochlear implant. A cochlear implant, as the National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)( 2014) explains, is a small electronic device designed to help a deaf or profoundly hard of hearing person help hear sounds. The device consists of external and internal elements. The external elements of the implant are the microphone and the speech processor. The microphone picks up the sounds from the outside world. The speech processor selects and arranges sounds picked by the microphone....   [tags: Hearing impairment, Cochlea, Deaf culture]

Powerful Essays
815 words (2.3 pages)

The Cochlear Implant Essay

- The Cochlear Implant      The cochlear implant is possibly one of the greatest inventions designed to benefit the deaf community. A cochlear implant is a device implanted internally behind a deaf persons ear with an external microphone, and is designed to provide artificial sounds to people who have nerve deafness in both ears and show no ability to understand speech through hearing aids. Since the development of the cochlear implant in the 1960’s, more than 10,000 people worldwide have been implanted with this device....   [tags: deaf community]

Free Essays
387 words (1.1 pages)