Essay on An End-Of-Instruction (EOI) Should NOT Determine Graduation

Essay on An End-Of-Instruction (EOI) Should NOT Determine Graduation

Length: 1042 words (3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Imagine taking a test that impacting one's life greatly and made a huge decision for their future. In the state of Oklahoma, High School students are required to take and pass EOIs in order to graduate. An EOI (End-Of-Instruction) is an exam that is based on the Oklahoma state standards, which define what students should be learning each school year. It helps the state determine what the teachers need to focus on and it shows the weakness of different areas of specific subjects. It also gives the state of Oklahoma a ranking compared to other states. Students must take all seven EOIs, but only need to pass four specific exams to graduate. Despite the fact that everyone is different, an EOI should not determine whether a student graduates.
Graduation requirements are set at a high standard along with the passing of EOIs. "The Achieving Classroom Excellence (ACE) law states that: Beginning with students entering the ninth grade in the 2008-2009 school year, every student shall demonstrate mastery of the state academic content standards in the following subject areas in order to graduate from a public high school with a standard diploma: Algebra I, English II and two of the five: Algebra II, Biology I, English II, Geometry, and United States History"(White). Within these subjects each question is scored differently depending on the difficulty level. One receives a diploma when they graduate and of course have all their credits including the passing of EOIs. If one does not pass the required amount of EOIs or for a specific subject, they will not get a diploma. An example of a test is like having a biology exam and having to answer 32 questions out of 60 to pass (Archer). There are certain goals in different subjects th...


... middle of paper ...


...cher, Kim. "Rural Educators Concerned over ACE Testing; Students Required to Pass Four of Seven Tests or No Diploma." Tulsa World (OK) 27 Feb. 2012: Newspaper Source Plus. Web. 13 Jan. 2014.
Brunk, Jason. "End-of-instruction Tests Should Move Forward." The Oklahoman 07 Mar. 2012, Opinion sec.: 7A. Print.
COPPERNOLL, CARRIE. "2,000 Students May Not Receive Diplomas." The Oklahoman 18 May 2012, Metro & State sec.: 3A. Print.
COSGROVE, JACLYN, and CARRIE COPPERNOLL. "Testing System Fails." The Oklahoman 1 May 2013, Front Page sec.: 1A. Print.
Tingle, Devante A. "Your Experience with the Eoi." Personal interview. 10 Feb. 2014.
Page, Russell. "Such Gal!" The Oklahoman 09 Apr. 2011, Opinion sec.: 9A. Print.
White, Melissa. "ACE Graduation Requirements." Welcome to Oklahoma's Official Web Site. Oklahoma State Department Of Education, 12 Apr. 2013. Web. 16 Jan. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Graduation Speech : College And University Students

- As of today, many college and university students do not know what to do after graduation. Some do not even have a plan for their current life. As new generations are joining the workforce the economy is constantly changing. Employees must have skills in almost every area to progress in their rankings. Career fields have updated and are waiting on its future employees. This idea frightens most students entering the workforce. After graduation students are in charge and have little to no help, but to advance they must learn to take risks....   [tags: Learning, Education, Medical school, Physician]

Strong Essays
1102 words (3.1 pages)

Evaluating The Data And Information Gathered For This Policy Analysis Essay

- Methodology The data and information gathered for this policy analysis was collected from two main sources, Montana’s Office of Public Instruction’s website, and Helena school district staff interviews. The data reviewed came from OPI’s GEMS data center. Perception interviews were conducted via e-mail, and were filled out by a Helena school districts, high school administrator, data collector, and curriculum instructor. I also choose to review Helena’s ACT test results, and found a comprehensive analysis of the scores in an article posted in the Helena Independent Record (local newspaper)....   [tags: High school, Graduation, College]

Strong Essays
1015 words (2.9 pages)

Graduation Speech : College Achievement

- Junior Achievement offered me the opportunity to experience first-hand teaching through my first education course. I taught a fourth grade classroom and I was teaching Junior achievement’s “My Region: Entrepreneurship. Each lesson focused on entrepreneurship, business, and what is takes or business to succeed. I was able to learn and teach through the curriculum and lesson plans that were already made and sorted out for me to use which helped in preparation for teaching. Not only did I learn for my experience teaching in a real classroom but I also learned from the students I taught....   [tags: Education, Teacher, School, Learning]

Strong Essays
1455 words (4.2 pages)

The Importance of Modeling and Differentiated Instruction Essay examples

- With current trends in the field of education, and the increased emphasis of standardized testing data, classrooms of today have become increasingly outcome driven. Although few would argue with the importance of improving classroom instruction and the logic associated with basing instruction on desired student outcomes, this one size fits all approach is not without its detractors. Today many elementary teachers feel pressured to move forward with content instruction even when they may personally feel that there are students in their classrooms who have not sufficiently mastered the skill....   [tags: education, classroom instruction, ]

Strong Essays
1259 words (3.6 pages)

Overview of Different Methods of Instruction Essay

- This guidebook provides a brief summary regarding four instructional strategies. Each summary includes: (1) a description/summary of the strategy; (2) when, where, and why it would be a good strategy; 3) the strengths and the weaknesses of the strategy; 4) if you have used or seen it in practice; 5) if you would use it - when and when not. The four instructional methods selected for this assignment are lecture, field trips, case studies, and computer-assisted instruction. Lecture Lecture as an instructional method is one of the most common and oldest forms of instructional methods....   [tags: Teaching, Instruction]

Strong Essays
2042 words (5.8 pages)

Essay on Ralph W. Tyler's Basic Principles of Curriculum and Instruction

- In 1949, a small book had a big impact on education. In just over one hundred pages, Ralph W. Tyler presented the concept that curriculum should be dynamic, a program under constant evaluation and revision. Curriculum had always been thought of as a static, set program, and in an era preoccupied with student testing, he offered the innovative idea that teachers and administrators should spend as much time evaluating their plans as they do assessing their students. Since then, Basic Principles of Curriculum and Instruction has been a standard reference for anyone working with curriculum development....   [tags: Curriculum and Instruction]

Free Essays
552 words (1.6 pages)

Graduation Speech : Graduation Party

- Summer has started and the traditional Graduation parties are upon us. A time to celebrate our sons and daughter’s achievements and send them off to the adventure we call ‘adulthood’. Planning such a momentous occasion can be challenging so Grand Rental Station in Fairview Hts. Il has a few tips to make your party planning easier and stress free. Decide: But before you jump in it is important to establish the kind of Graduation party you want. Would you prefer something more traditional such as the backyard barbecue or how about a party extravaganza with dancing....   [tags: High school, Want, Graduation, Academic dress]

Strong Essays
1080 words (3.1 pages)

Should Guardians Determine Identity Of A Child Essay

- Should guardians determine identity of a child or allow child to create one. The film is what I have been watching called black or white, it based on true story. The story was about the grandfather Eliot, who was suddenly left to care for his granddaughter Eloise after Eliot lost his wife. Eloise was torn between two families that love her very much. Both families fight for her and what’s right and wrong, express their true feeling about the race not only that but also forgiveness, and understanding situations....   [tags: Family, Race, Miscegenation, Race]

Strong Essays
884 words (2.5 pages)

Exams Should Not Determine Your Fate Essay

- Education has always been one of the important attribute to success. Those who do not have an education are frown upon in this society. People start to believe that they will be judge and set on a level base on their education. Therefore, many high school and college students work hard with determination in getting that perfect grade scores and being accepted to the top colleges. As people kept a closed mindset, Suli Break, a spoken word poet with a great mindset, set out to inspire and educate young people about the constant issues that we all face....   [tags: education and testing]

Strong Essays
888 words (2.5 pages)

Graduation Speech

- Success. It is something that everyone wants, but no one knows exactly what it is. Some believe it to be how many friends they have, how nice their car is or even being able to stay awake through graduation. I believe it is something different. I believe that success is determined by what a person does with the gifts and opportunities with which they were blessed. Our times at Powell High School have given us both those gifts and the opportunity. We have been fortunate enough to have several wonderful influences shape us into the people we are today....   [tags: Graduation Speech, Commencement Address]

Strong Essays
614 words (1.8 pages)