Essay about America Needs Mass-immigration

Essay about America Needs Mass-immigration

Length: 2684 words (7.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Research Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

It is no secret that the United States’ economy has seen a massive drop within the last ten years. One of many facts that support this claim is that the United States’ GDP accounted for about 32% of the world’s economic activity in 2001, but has dropped to a very meager 21.6% in 2011 – just ten years later (Snyder, 2013). Also, as the nation’s debt continues to rise, all lawmakers in Washington, DC can do is point fingers at one another and claim their methods for fixing our economy are the best, while unconsciously refusing to listen to what the other group has to say. What they are unable to do is realize that there is a workforce of eleven million hard-working and eager people who have already assimilated into our population, with many more able to come behind them, that could be wielded to repair America’s economic standing. While the eleven million people that are here illegally do pose a problem to the United States’ ability to secure its borders, they also represent a great resource that must be used. Immigrants are a necessity, and the Mexican immigrants should be the next catalyst for economic prosperity to hit the United States, so we should embrace them. The reform of our very flawed immigration system should not depend solely on one side’s preferred methods, but a compromise between the opposing groups. This would close the borders to those we don’t wish to have enter our country, but open them wider to those that we need in order to maximize economic growth. If the United States jumps in at the right time (being now) and utilizes the readily available workforce made of currently “illegal” immigrants, then a huge economic boon would follow and possibly even result in our country being where it was in it’s heyday. I s...


... middle of paper ...


...gration Law Center, 23 January. 2013. Web. 08 Oct. 2013.

Snyder, Michael. "40 Stats That Prove The U.S. Economy Has Already Been Collapsing Over The Past Decade." The Economic Collapse. N.p., 17 July 2013. Web. 05 Jan. 2014.

"The Rising Power of the Chinese Worker." Www.economist.com. The Economist Magazine, 29 July 2010. Web. 6 Jan. 2014.

“Undocumented American: Inside the Immigration Debate.” Interview. Inside the world of the “Illegal” Immigrant. N.p., 14 June 2012. Web. 15 Sept. 2013. http://content.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,2117284,00.html.

“U.S. Immigration Since 1965.” History.com. A&E Television Networks, n.d. Web. 15 Sept. 2013.

Vargas, Jose A. “U.S.” Time.com. N.p., 24 June 2012. Web. 15 Sept. 2013.

Winkle, A. Barton. “Why Immigration Makes America Better.” Reason.com. N.p., 19 Aug. 2013. Web. 2 Sept. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

America Needs The Best For America Essay

- America Needs the Best Everyone, all over the world, stay in tune for the United States Election. Who shall be elected as the next president for America or should we say who is the most qualified. We have an unusual selection this year for presidency. People are not sure if they will be voting or not. It seems the media has already made the decision clear. Tension is rising all over America. Who will it be. Donald Trump (Republican), Hillary Clinton (Democrats party), Gary Johnson (Libertarian party), and Jill Stein (green tea party), have all chosen to step up to the plate and run....   [tags: Immigration to the United States, Immigration]

Research Papers
2309 words (6.6 pages)

Essay The Negative Effects of Mass Immigration

- The Negative Effects of Mass Immigration For decades immigrants to America were sure of two things. They came for the opportunity to build a better life for their families and they would not seek nor would they accept a handout. The drive and attitude of immigrants who came to America during the nineteen twenties through the nineteen sixties built strong work ethics that created our now famous American melting pot. But for the past thirty years a runaway welfare state has poisoned our good intentions....   [tags: Cons of Illegal Immigration, Immigrants]

Research Papers
1549 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on The Immigration Of The Mexican Immigration Wave

- “I do not believe that many American citizens . . . really wanted to create such immense human suffering . . . in the name of battling illegal immigration” (Carr 70). For hundreds of years, there has been illegal immigration starting from slavery, voluntary taking others from different countries to work in different parts of the world, to one of the most popular- Mexican immigration to the United States. Mexican immigration has been said to be one of the most common immigration acts in the world....   [tags: Immigration to the United States, United States]

Research Papers
2191 words (6.3 pages)

The Issue Of Illegal Immigration Essay

- America is a country which is entirely made up of immigrants who cme from different parts of the world. As a result, the issue of immigration especially illegal immigration has been a sensitive issue for America 's illegal immigrants who are aliens that came to United States without permission or those immigrants who stayed in United States beyond their visa date. With the increasing number of illegal immigrants who come to America in search of a better life, the issue of illegal immigration needs a special attention....   [tags: Immigration to the United States]

Research Papers
1422 words (4.1 pages)

President Obama 's Address Of The Nation On Immigration Essays

- Eric Dean Outside Learning Assignment #2 For this second outside learning assignment I chose to watch President Obama’s Address to the Nation on Immigration on November 20, 2014. The purpose of this address was to discuss the issues surrounding immigration and to come up with a plan of action. Immigration has been an integral part of our nation’s history and therefore this speech had a very serious and urgent tone to it. President Obama began by discussing how immigration has positively affected our nation by keeping us youthful, dynamic, and entrepreneurial....   [tags: Immigration, Immigration to the United States]

Research Papers
938 words (2.7 pages)

Immigration Is A Word That Everyone Essay

- Immigration is a word that everyone seems to have a significant opinion about. Immigration needs reform; I agree there is some negatives but yet there does not have to be discrimination, many say that illegals take American jobs but don’t know what hard labor they are doing. Immigration is a very important topic for me because my parents were born in Mexico and came to the United States for better living. My grandparents wanted their kids not to go through a rough and unstable living conditions as what they went through growing up....   [tags: United States, Immigration to the United States]

Research Papers
1026 words (2.9 pages)

Immigration Reform Essay

- In the first article, The Economic Benefits of Comprehensive Immigration Reform, Raúl Hinojosa- Ojeda argues that if the United States government moved from an ‘enforcement only policy’ to a comprehensive immigration reform, both individuals born in America and immigrants would increase benefits. The comprehensive immigration reform that Ojeda describes “legalizes current unauthorized immigrants and creates flexible legal limits on future immigration in the context of full labor rights…” (Ojeda page 175)....   [tags: Raul Hinojosa-Ojeda, Immigration]

Research Papers
2126 words (6.1 pages)

Essay on Illegal Immigration

- The subject of illegal immigration seems to be a very hot-button topic for many Americans. The subject seems to lose public outcry on either side at any given moment, then suddenly cause tremendous tremors on our social conscious. The subject of illegal immigration has many sub-issues, but one of the most problematic is that illegal immigrants are a financial drain on the American economy. Ellis Island is the location where European immigrants passed through and were documented. According to June F....   [tags: Immigration, aliens, legal, social, reform]

Research Papers
1839 words (5.3 pages)

What To Do About Immigration Essay

- What To Do About Immigration The concern about the impact that immigration imposes on American society is not a new one. Since the discovery of the New World immigrants from all over the world moved to American continent in search of a better life, that this vast and rich in sources, yet scarce in population land had promised them. Soon the immigrants outnumbered the native population. They came from England, Europe and Asia. In addition, millions of Africans were imported as slaves. By 1700 the United States became a country of immigrants and more were still to come....   [tags: United States Immigration Essays]

Research Papers
2487 words (7.1 pages)

immigration Essay

- We have a clear choice of accepting increasing immigration with the consequent exploitation of this land and a falling standard of living and quality of life, living in crowded, polluted, high density cities, with over-taxed recreational areas and intercommunal tensions and feeling like strangers in our own country. The economic consequences of an increasing foreign debt, foreign ownership and undesirable, unsustainable economic expansion, will destroy any chance of maintaining life. Stoping mass immigration and attempting to live in harmony with our fragile environment, creating an economically and environmental sound, self reliant and self sustaining community, maintaining our quality of l...   [tags: essays research papers fc]

Free Essays
479 words (1.4 pages)