Preview
Preview

Essay about Aesop's Fables

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1049 words (3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Introduction:
Fables are great stories that teach lessons about life. There are many great fables that have been written, but for me I never really read any. The little bit I do know about fables are that they use personified animals as characters, and they use them to teach the readers valuable life lessons. Most of the fables that are made today are for children, and they are great for them because they are easy for kids to understand because of the fact that they use animals. But I know that the old fables have been censored because the old ones were a little too graphic for our young ones today.
If you're wondering why I chose to write a report on fables rather than the other options, my answer is simply that I don't know that much about fables. I have heard many more fairy tales and folk tales than I have fables, and I would love to research something that has a had a better impact on our lives in a positive way. So with this paper I want to explore and find out more about the famous Aesop and his great works of art. I also want figure out what makes people so attracted to fables and their lessons. I know that stories are important to us because they can give us an escape from the hardships of life, but I wonder why we like Aesop's fables so much.
The Search:
With my interest toward knowing more about Aesop and his work, I started the research. I came across a problem though, and that was where do I start. After consulting with my peers, I decided that should first start with researching about the famous writer of these fables, and that man goes by the name of Aesop. For my research of Aesop I used an online encyclopedia, but it was frustrating because it was hard to find articles with information about him or hi...


... middle of paper ...


...d enhanced for the future generations, but that's awesome, because you know that it will always be in use, and always be informing or amusing someone. Aesop's name will never be forgotten even though he did not create all these amazing works of art.




Work Cited
"Aesop." Encyclopedia of World Biography. Vol. 24. Detroit: Gale, 2005. Student Resources in Context. Web. 20 Dec. 2013.
"Alphabetical Index of Fables." Aesop's Fables. University of Massachusetts Amherst, n.d. Web. 20 Jan. 2014.
Chesterton, G.K. "Introduction to Aesop's Fables." The Chesterton Review. Feb. /May 2001 XXVII. 1&2 (2001). 17-20. Print.
"Fable" Encyclopedia Britannica. 2009. Encyclopedia Britannica online school edition. 12 Nov. 2009.
Lynch, Patrick M. "Aesop Interview" Personal interview. 3 January. 2014
"The Lion & the Mouse. "YouTube. YouTube, 11 Nov. 2010. Web. 06 Jan. 2014. Internet.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Aesop's Fables Essay - Introduction:  I chose to research the genre of fables, specifically Aesop’s fables. I only informed of the basics of fables. To be frank with you I don’t even think there is much to know about fables. What is there to know. They contain lessons, animals, and they are short. From time to time people use them in their quotidian day to back up their opinions. Especially authority figures like parents, teachers, and, well I can just think of those two. Personally I believe that “Don’t let things for the last minute” is their favorite one....   [tags: literary analysis, short stories]
:: 1 Works Cited
1374 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Aesop's Fables Essay - Introduction: I grew up reading fables. Such as, the Tortoise and the Hare, which taught me faster isn’t always better. I enjoyed fables the most because of the valuable lessons that were strung within them. Majority of the fables have life lessons that help you as a person throughout your life. Because fables are short, sweet and to the point, it makes it easier for younger children to grasp. Growing up listening and reading these stories taught me morals that I still live by to this day. Fables have helped me get through multiple life situations....   [tags: the tortoise and the hare, stories]
:: 6 Works Cited
1500 words
(4.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Aesop’s Fables Essay - Aesop’s fables were written around 300 BCE, and originated from Greece (“Aesop par. 6). Although most of the fables are about animals, they display the characteristics of humans. Fables are usually short and easy to comprehend, and all fables have their own morals, however; some fables have more than one. Aesop’s fables may seem childish and pointless, but they were written to point out the flaws and strengths of human beings. Most fables have a central problem that the main character must solve, and have been very important to society as a whole....   [tags: greeks, aesop]
:: 6 Works Cited
1384 words
(4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Aesop of Aesop's Fables - Some may say that Aesop is infamous for the life he led over 2000 years ago and mostly for the hundreds of fables that have been attributed to his name since. Aesop’s fables have reached countless generations since he is reported to have been alive, and they continue to be a part of the lives of many. Not every fable, however, that has been linked to Aesop is his own original material. In actuality, there are many fables attributed to Aesop that, for a variety of reasons, couldn’t possibly be his own....   [tags: Essays Papers]
:: 5 Works Cited
581 words
(1.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Aesop’s Fables Essay - Aesop’s Fables Introduction: I already know a good amount about the Aesop’s fables before doing any real research. Almost everyone as a child was introduced to the stories such as “the boy who cried wolf” or “the tortoise and the hare”. As a child many adults would read these stories to me because they have a very strong moral. It can guide children to do the right thing when they are in doubts. I have a very personal experience with the tortoise and the hare because since I am a tennis player, my coaches would always mention these stories in regarding to practice and how we should be playing....   [tags: literary analysis, the tortoise and the hare]
:: 7 Works Cited
1307 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Lion and the Mouse who Returned a Kindness Essay -      Aesop among many other prominant authors wrote tales of animals taking on human characteristics, but none is so prevelant as the reputation of the mighty lion. Known as the king of animals, the lion appears as an object of strength and nobility in countless aspects of life including history, literature, art, astronomy, movies, and dance.      Who is this amazing creature. According to the Encyclopedia Britannica, the lion (Panthera Leo) is a flesh-eating animal that live cheifly in sandy plains and rocky places where there are thorn thickets and tall grass....   [tags: Aesop, Aesop's Fables] 612 words
(1.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Japanese Fables: The Influences Essay examples - Think back to when you were a child, and when your parents read you stories. Do you recall any of these stories being about animals. Chances are good that you heard fables as a child. For those who don’t know what a fable is, a fable is a story that uses animals in the place of humans. In relating fables to the Japanese culture, I discovered that animals play an important role in Japanese culture. And as in most cultures, stories play a big role also. So by using common sense, any person could assume, and be accurate, that there are many fables in Japanese culture....   [tags: Japanese Fables, Japan, Fables, ] 1100 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Use of Animals in Japanese Fables - Japanese Fables The influence from within and everywhere else. Think back to when you were a child and to when your parents read you stories. Chances are pretty good that some of the stories you encountered were fables. For those people who do not know what a fable is, it is a story that uses animals in the place of using human beings. In researching Japanese tales, I did not have a hard time finding an abundance of fables. In relating fables to the Japanese life, I discovered that animals play an important role in Japanese culture....   [tags: Japanese Fables] 1468 words
(4.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about The Importance of Fables - Introduction: A fable is a narrative that teaches a moral through the use of animals as the main character. Fables toy with the idea of human vanity. Fables are very popular in children’s literature as it teaches children lessons while keeping them interested with the animal characters. Fables were westernized through the help of Aesop. It is unknown whether or not Aesop was a real person but is viewed as one of the fathers of fables. Modern editions contain up to 200 fables and are growing. I am writing this paper in order to inform you, the reader, about the importance of fables....   [tags: literary analysis, children literature]
:: 7 Works Cited
1311 words
(3.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Boy Who Cried Wolf and The Tortoise and the Hare Essay - “Fables” Introduction: Now I know a little bit about fables, after doing a little bit of research in my English class. I know that fables are short stories that center upon animals. Fables also all have morals at the end, stated outright, or inferred. These morals are sometimes called Aesops, after the original creator of fables. Aesop was a Greek slave who wrote a lot of fables. “The Boy Who Cried Wolf” and “The Tortoise and the Hare” are two of the most famous Aesops in America. Aesops are primarily short stories; they can range from a few sentences to a page....   [tags: fables, animals, aesops]
:: 2 Works Cited
1498 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]