Aesop's Fables Essay

Aesop's Fables Essay

Length: 1500 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Introduction:
I grew up reading fables. Such as, the Tortoise and the Hare, which taught me faster isn’t always better. I enjoyed fables the most because of the valuable lessons that were strung within them. Majority of the fables have life lessons that help you as a person throughout your life. Because fables are short, sweet and to the point, it makes it easier for younger children to grasp. Growing up listening and reading these stories taught me morals that I still live by to this day. Fables have helped me get through multiple life situations. Fables were always my favorite to read because of the important lessons they’ve taught me.
I’m writing this paper on fables because it was the easiest for me to relate too. Given that as a child I read these stories a lot, they taught me lessons that I can still implement in my everyday life. Such as, don’t judge a book by its cover…cliché but important to remember. This has helped me to befriend those who judging by looks I normally wouldn’t. Without reading these stories I don’t think I would have learned all the lessons that I have from reading these fables. They’ve also been the most entertaining and intriguing stories to read. A lot of people,

especially children, can benefit from these stories. Because the lessons are so simply stated, it makes it easier for people to learn and that’s why fables are so important to us.
The Search:
One day, Mr. Boardman announced that he was assigning a research paper that was to be written on our choice of the following: fairy tales, fables, or folk tales. He went on to say that the following week we would be meeting in the library daily to research our topic of choice. So the following week, during third period, class was hel...


... middle of paper ...


...lone which leads me to believe I’m not alone and that others have learned these morals from reading these tales.




Works Cited

Aesop,.N.p..Web 17 Dec 2013 . (STEP 2)
Boudreau, Tanya. “Aesop’s Fables.” Resource Links. Oct. 2013: 6 Junior Edition. Web, 19 Dec 2014. (STEP 3)
“Fable”. Encyclopaedia Britannica. 2009. Encylopaedia Britannica Online School Edition. 12 Nov. 2009 . (STEP 1)
“Fable.” Dictionary.com. Dictionary.com, n.d. Web. 21 Jan 2014. (STEP 4)
Phalean. “Aesop’s Fables Lion and Mouse Kids.” Youtube. Youtube, 21 Feb. 2012. Web. 05 Jan. 2014. . (STEP 5)
Gibson, Kyle R. Personal interview. 05 Jan. 2014. (STEP 6)

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Aesop's Fables Essay

- Introduction:  I chose to research the genre of fables, specifically Aesop’s fables. I only informed of the basics of fables. To be frank with you I don’t even think there is much to know about fables. What is there to know. They contain lessons, animals, and they are short. From time to time people use them in their quotidian day to back up their opinions. Especially authority figures like parents, teachers, and, well I can just think of those two. Personally I believe that “Don’t let things for the last minute” is their favorite one....   [tags: literary analysis, short stories]

Strong Essays
1374 words (3.9 pages)

Aesop's Fables Essay

- Introduction: I grew up reading fables. Such as, the Tortoise and the Hare, which taught me faster isn’t always better. I enjoyed fables the most because of the valuable lessons that were strung within them. Majority of the fables have life lessons that help you as a person throughout your life. Because fables are short, sweet and to the point, it makes it easier for younger children to grasp. Growing up listening and reading these stories taught me morals that I still live by to this day. Fables have helped me get through multiple life situations....   [tags: the tortoise and the hare, stories]

Strong Essays
1500 words (4.3 pages)

Aesop’s Fables Essay

- Aesop’s fables were written around 300 BCE, and originated from Greece (“Aesop par. 6). Although most of the fables are about animals, they display the characteristics of humans. Fables are usually short and easy to comprehend, and all fables have their own morals, however; some fables have more than one. Aesop’s fables may seem childish and pointless, but they were written to point out the flaws and strengths of human beings. Most fables have a central problem that the main character must solve, and have been very important to society as a whole....   [tags: greeks, aesop]

Strong Essays
1384 words (4 pages)

Essay about Aesop of Aesop's Fables

- Some may say that Aesop is infamous for the life he led over 2000 years ago and mostly for the hundreds of fables that have been attributed to his name since. Aesop’s fables have reached countless generations since he is reported to have been alive, and they continue to be a part of the lives of many. Not every fable, however, that has been linked to Aesop is his own original material. In actuality, there are many fables attributed to Aesop that, for a variety of reasons, couldn’t possibly be his own....   [tags: Essays Papers]

Strong Essays
581 words (1.7 pages)

Aesop’s Fables Essay

- Aesop’s Fables Introduction: I already know a good amount about the Aesop’s fables before doing any real research. Almost everyone as a child was introduced to the stories such as “the boy who cried wolf” or “the tortoise and the hare”. As a child many adults would read these stories to me because they have a very strong moral. It can guide children to do the right thing when they are in doubts. I have a very personal experience with the tortoise and the hare because since I am a tennis player, my coaches would always mention these stories in regarding to practice and how we should be playing....   [tags: literary analysis, the tortoise and the hare]

Strong Essays
1307 words (3.7 pages)

The Lion and the Mouse who Returned a Kindness Essay

-      Aesop among many other prominant authors wrote tales of animals taking on human characteristics, but none is so prevelant as the reputation of the mighty lion. Known as the king of animals, the lion appears as an object of strength and nobility in countless aspects of life including history, literature, art, astronomy, movies, and dance.      Who is this amazing creature. According to the Encyclopedia Britannica, the lion (Panthera Leo) is a flesh-eating animal that live cheifly in sandy plains and rocky places where there are thorn thickets and tall grass....   [tags: Aesop, Aesop's Fables]

Free Essays
612 words (1.7 pages)

Japanese Fables: The Influences Essay examples

- Think back to when you were a child, and when your parents read you stories. Do you recall any of these stories being about animals. Chances are good that you heard fables as a child. For those who don’t know what a fable is, a fable is a story that uses animals in the place of humans. In relating fables to the Japanese culture, I discovered that animals play an important role in Japanese culture. And as in most cultures, stories play a big role also. So by using common sense, any person could assume, and be accurate, that there are many fables in Japanese culture....   [tags: Japanese Fables, Japan, Fables, ]

Strong Essays
1100 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Use of Animals in Japanese Fables

- Japanese Fables The influence from within and everywhere else. Think back to when you were a child and to when your parents read you stories. Chances are pretty good that some of the stories you encountered were fables. For those people who do not know what a fable is, it is a story that uses animals in the place of using human beings. In researching Japanese tales, I did not have a hard time finding an abundance of fables. In relating fables to the Japanese life, I discovered that animals play an important role in Japanese culture....   [tags: Japanese Fables]

Strong Essays
1468 words (4.2 pages)

Essay about The Importance of Fables

- Introduction: A fable is a narrative that teaches a moral through the use of animals as the main character. Fables toy with the idea of human vanity. Fables are very popular in children’s literature as it teaches children lessons while keeping them interested with the animal characters. Fables were westernized through the help of Aesop. It is unknown whether or not Aesop was a real person but is viewed as one of the fathers of fables. Modern editions contain up to 200 fables and are growing. I am writing this paper in order to inform you, the reader, about the importance of fables....   [tags: literary analysis, children literature]

Strong Essays
1311 words (3.7 pages)

The Boy Who Cried Wolf and The Tortoise and the Hare Essay

- “Fables” Introduction: Now I know a little bit about fables, after doing a little bit of research in my English class. I know that fables are short stories that center upon animals. Fables also all have morals at the end, stated outright, or inferred. These morals are sometimes called Aesops, after the original creator of fables. Aesop was a Greek slave who wrote a lot of fables. “The Boy Who Cried Wolf” and “The Tortoise and the Hare” are two of the most famous Aesops in America. Aesops are primarily short stories; they can range from a few sentences to a page....   [tags: fables, animals, aesops]

Strong Essays
1498 words (4.3 pages)