Aesop’s Fables Essay

Aesop’s Fables Essay

Length: 1384 words (4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Aesop’s fables were written around 300 BCE, and originated from Greece (“Aesop par. 6). Although most of the fables are about animals, they display the characteristics of humans. Fables are usually short and easy to comprehend, and all fables have their own morals, however; some fables have more than one. Aesop’s fables may seem childish and pointless, but they were written to point out the flaws and strengths of human beings. Most fables have a central problem that the main character must solve, and have been very important to society as a whole.
Aesop’s fables have always been an important part of society because Aesop’s fables take complicated ideas and, using simple characters and plots, explain them in easy to understand ways. Aesop’s fables are very effective tools in teaching children important life lessons. When I was a child, I remember hearing the story of the “Lion and the Mouse.” This story taught me that even though people may be little, they can still be great. Reading and listening to Aesop’s fables can help improve a person’s character. These stories help shape a person’s morals, whether they know it or not.
The Search:
The process I took to find this information on Aesop’s fables was long and challenging. To start off, I was absent on the first day of the assignment, leaving me behind the entire class. Once I finally caught up with the class, I found the assignment very interesting. The first day our class went to the media center was very frustrating. That day, our school had been experiencing severe power outages, and by the time I could get my computer to start working, class was almost over. I quickly did as much as I could in the short time, and took the rest home to finish. The very next day, I had trouble ...


... middle of paper ...


...to this day. I wish that more people would learn and understand these moral as they are very useful for teaching important life lessons. These stories contribute to the well-being of society because they teach humans to better people.



Works Cited

“Aesop” Encyclopedia of World Biography. Vol. 24. Detroit, Gale 25 student resources in context. Web. 20 December, 2013.
Aesop’s Fables. 28 March 2011. Star System 19 December, 2013. Internet
Bottigheimer, Ruth B. “Fairy Tales and Fables” Encyclopedia of Children and Child history and Society. 2008. The Gale Group, Inc. 18 December, 2013. Internet.
Chesterton, G.K. “Introduction to Aesop’s Fables.” The Chesterton Review. Febuary/May 2001 XXVII. 1&2 (2001): 17-20. Print.
Donna Keller, Personal Interview. 4 January 4, 2014.
Gulliver’s Travels. Rob Letterman. Jack Black, Jason Segel. Ben Cooly. 25 December, 2010. DVD.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Aesop's Fables Essay

- Introduction:  I chose to research the genre of fables, specifically Aesop’s fables. I only informed of the basics of fables. To be frank with you I don’t even think there is much to know about fables. What is there to know. They contain lessons, animals, and they are short. From time to time people use them in their quotidian day to back up their opinions. Especially authority figures like parents, teachers, and, well I can just think of those two. Personally I believe that “Don’t let things for the last minute” is their favorite one....   [tags: literary analysis, short stories]

Strong Essays
1374 words (3.9 pages)

Aesop's Fables Essay

- Introduction: I grew up reading fables. Such as, the Tortoise and the Hare, which taught me faster isn’t always better. I enjoyed fables the most because of the valuable lessons that were strung within them. Majority of the fables have life lessons that help you as a person throughout your life. Because fables are short, sweet and to the point, it makes it easier for younger children to grasp. Growing up listening and reading these stories taught me morals that I still live by to this day. Fables have helped me get through multiple life situations....   [tags: the tortoise and the hare, stories]

Strong Essays
1500 words (4.3 pages)

Aesop’s Fables Essay

- Aesop’s fables were written around 300 BCE, and originated from Greece (“Aesop par. 6). Although most of the fables are about animals, they display the characteristics of humans. Fables are usually short and easy to comprehend, and all fables have their own morals, however; some fables have more than one. Aesop’s fables may seem childish and pointless, but they were written to point out the flaws and strengths of human beings. Most fables have a central problem that the main character must solve, and have been very important to society as a whole....   [tags: greeks, aesop]

Strong Essays
1384 words (4 pages)

Essay about Aesop of Aesop's Fables

- Some may say that Aesop is infamous for the life he led over 2000 years ago and mostly for the hundreds of fables that have been attributed to his name since. Aesop’s fables have reached countless generations since he is reported to have been alive, and they continue to be a part of the lives of many. Not every fable, however, that has been linked to Aesop is his own original material. In actuality, there are many fables attributed to Aesop that, for a variety of reasons, couldn’t possibly be his own....   [tags: Essays Papers]

Strong Essays
581 words (1.7 pages)

Aesop’s Fables Essay

- Aesop’s Fables Introduction: I already know a good amount about the Aesop’s fables before doing any real research. Almost everyone as a child was introduced to the stories such as “the boy who cried wolf” or “the tortoise and the hare”. As a child many adults would read these stories to me because they have a very strong moral. It can guide children to do the right thing when they are in doubts. I have a very personal experience with the tortoise and the hare because since I am a tennis player, my coaches would always mention these stories in regarding to practice and how we should be playing....   [tags: literary analysis, the tortoise and the hare]

Strong Essays
1307 words (3.7 pages)

Analysis Of The Poem ' Aesop 's Fables ' Stories Written By A Slave And Story Teller

- Aesop’s Fables, stories written by a slave and story-teller believed to have lived in ancient Greece between 620 and 560 BCE, contains the tale The Crow and the Pitcher. This fable describes the struggle of a thirsty crow and a pitcher filled with water at the bottom, out of reach of the crow’s beak. The bird tries to push the pitcher over, and fails, but he refuses to give up. He begins to collect up pebbles, and drops them into the pitcher until the water is pushed up and high enough from him to drink from....   [tags: Brain, Intelligence, Human brain, Frontal lobe]

Strong Essays
1409 words (4 pages)

The Lion and the Mouse who Returned a Kindness Essay

-      Aesop among many other prominant authors wrote tales of animals taking on human characteristics, but none is so prevelant as the reputation of the mighty lion. Known as the king of animals, the lion appears as an object of strength and nobility in countless aspects of life including history, literature, art, astronomy, movies, and dance.      Who is this amazing creature. According to the Encyclopedia Britannica, the lion (Panthera Leo) is a flesh-eating animal that live cheifly in sandy plains and rocky places where there are thorn thickets and tall grass....   [tags: Aesop, Aesop's Fables]

Free Essays
612 words (1.7 pages)

Japanese Fables: The Influences Essay examples

- Think back to when you were a child, and when your parents read you stories. Do you recall any of these stories being about animals. Chances are good that you heard fables as a child. For those who don’t know what a fable is, a fable is a story that uses animals in the place of humans. In relating fables to the Japanese culture, I discovered that animals play an important role in Japanese culture. And as in most cultures, stories play a big role also. So by using common sense, any person could assume, and be accurate, that there are many fables in Japanese culture....   [tags: Japanese Fables, Japan, Fables, ]

Strong Essays
1100 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Use of Animals in Japanese Fables

- Japanese Fables The influence from within and everywhere else. Think back to when you were a child and to when your parents read you stories. Chances are pretty good that some of the stories you encountered were fables. For those people who do not know what a fable is, it is a story that uses animals in the place of using human beings. In researching Japanese tales, I did not have a hard time finding an abundance of fables. In relating fables to the Japanese life, I discovered that animals play an important role in Japanese culture....   [tags: Japanese Fables]

Strong Essays
1468 words (4.2 pages)

Essay about The Importance of Fables

- Introduction: A fable is a narrative that teaches a moral through the use of animals as the main character. Fables toy with the idea of human vanity. Fables are very popular in children’s literature as it teaches children lessons while keeping them interested with the animal characters. Fables were westernized through the help of Aesop. It is unknown whether or not Aesop was a real person but is viewed as one of the fathers of fables. Modern editions contain up to 200 fables and are growing. I am writing this paper in order to inform you, the reader, about the importance of fables....   [tags: literary analysis, children literature]

Strong Essays
1311 words (3.7 pages)