A Rise in ADHD Diagnosis Analysis Essay

A Rise in ADHD Diagnosis Analysis Essay

Length: 1811 words (5.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

“’When people don’t fit in, we react by giving their behavior a label, either medicalizing it, criminalizing it, or moralizing it,’ Nigg says,” (Koerth-Baker n.p.). Professor Joel Nigg, a professor of psychiatry at Oregon Health and Science University, made this statement in reference to the growing amount of people diagnosed with ADHD and prescribed medicine for it. The amount of people with prescriptions has increased immensely over the past several years, and will continue to grow over the next several years. In this statement, Nigg is saying that society simply names something seen as a problem, rather than trying to find a solution or a reason for whatever the issue may be.
ADHD was a little known disorder until the 1990’s, when the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 1991 included ADHD as a disability. It started to become more and more known to parents that there could be an explanation to why their child was hyperactive. The Food and Drug Administration also played a part by making the drugs used to treat ADHD more known to the public. What was once seen as a simple fact of childhood was now being seen more as a hyperactive disorder. Companies that made the medications, such as Adderall and Ritalin, would advertise to parents that the medicines would make the child smarter or more inclined to do choirs around the house. The companies would hype up the product to make parents feel like their child needed the medication in order to succeed in schooling at all or just to be a normal child. An Irish company once printed 50,000 copies of a comic book showing superheroes promoting the medication to children, saying it helped them to do their job as superheroes. As interest in ADHD as an answer to childhoo...


... middle of paper ...


... Researcher. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Cooper, Charlie. “Hyperactivity or Just Hype?.” The Independent. 20 Aug. 2013: 34. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 19 Feb. 2014.
Fured, Frank. ”Kids Don’t Need Pills, They Need Parenting.” The Independent. 14 Aug. 2013: 16 SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Koerth-Baker, Maggie. “No Diagnosis Left Behind.” New York Times Magazine. 20 Oct. 2013: 24-26. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Perry, Susan. “ADHD Is Overdiagnosed, Leading To Needless and Harmful Treatment…” MinnPost.com. 07 Nov. 2013: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
Schwarz, Alan. “Risky Rise of the Good-Grade Pill.” New York Times. 10 Jun. 2012: A.1. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
Schwarz, Alan. “The Selling of Attention Deficit Disorder.” New York Times. 15 Dec. 2013: A.1. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 18 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Over-diagnosis and Medication for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

- This research paper will include strict academic research. It will begin by introducing the existence of an over diagnosis of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and describing the many plausible reasons behind this diagnostic inflation. Although the reasons mentioned in the paper cannot be scientifically tested to provide a direct answer, factual evidence shows a valid correlation. Moving forward, the paper generally addresses the presence of mental disease within the American youth....   [tags: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)]

Term Papers
3069 words (8.8 pages)

Is Adhd A Valid Diagnosis? Essay

- My peer-editor left a lot of great advice for me to use to improve my paper. I made sure that he knew that my paper needed extensive revisions beforehand because I knew that my rough draft was very primitive. He encouraged me to write a stronger introduction and conclusion. To make them stronger, I added more information in my introduction and made my sure my conclusion really got summed up the entire paper. The analysis section needed more specific examples from both articles, so I added some. One of the things I really needed to work on was my sentence structure....   [tags: Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder]

Term Papers
975 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Analysis

- Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) can be described as one of the commonest brain conditions of childhood, which can have the capability of progressing to adolescence and even adulthood. This condition is mostly characterized by symptoms such as difficulty staying focused and paying focused to activities, difficulty controlling behavior, and being over-active (Flisher, & Hawkridge, 2013). Following its presentation, this condition can reduce a child's productivity, making it difficult for him to succeed in school, finish tasks at school, and at home, and chaotic relationship with other children, or even adults....   [tags: behavioral psychotherapy,adhd,brain condition]

Term Papers
1639 words (4.7 pages)

Analysis of over-diagnosing Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Essay

- The mental health community has been noticeably slow in identifying that there may be a problem with diagnoses and prescriptions for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. The National Institute of Mental Health government publication, “Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General” notes a rise in concerns regarding over-diagnosis and overprescribing of stimulant therapy, by stating there may be "inappropriate diagnosis and treatment" taking place (National Institute of Mental Health, 2001)....   [tags: mental health community, diagnoses, prescriptions]

Term Papers
2148 words (6.1 pages)

Essay on Increase in the Number of ADHD Diagnoses

- Johnny will not pay attention in class. He is constantly interrupting the teacher when she is talking. He continues to get up out of his chair without permission. Ms. Brown is at her wits’ end. She is scheduling a conference with Johnny’s parents, as she suspects he has Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, more commonly known as ADHD. ADHD is diagnosed as a condition that affects children and adults who exhibit “inattentiveness, hyperactivity, and impulsive/compulsive behavior (CNN). However, the diagnosis entails more than this simple explanation....   [tags: Students, Psychology]

Term Papers
611 words (1.7 pages)

Debate on the Medicalization of the Ailment Known as ADHD Essay

- Among the various conditions that have risen to prominence in the American media, the debate on the medicalization of the ailment known as A.D.H.D. has proven to be controversial. There is a growing concern within the American medical community that due to various sociological reasons, the number of people diagnosed and treated for A.D.H.D. is rising drastically despite the lack of a formal test that guarantees the presence of the disorder. It must be considered that American society has medicalized A.D.H.D....   [tags: adhd, pharmaceutical industry, medication]

Term Papers
1538 words (4.4 pages)

The Diagnosis Of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder ( Adhd ) Essay example

- The diagnosis of Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) has grown to epidemic proportions in many areas of the world, and most prominently within United States (Timimi and Radcliffe 2005). Although many children demonstrate the symptomatic behaviours that characterize ADHD, there is no biological evidence of a deficit and no medical test for the condition despite it being categorized as a neurodevelopmental disorder (Timimi and Radcliffe 2005; APA 2013). This focus on the assumed biological aspect of ADHD has caused a tunnel-vision effect, steering researchers away from looking at cultural factors to the disorder....   [tags: Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder]

Term Papers
1550 words (4.4 pages)

Over Diagnosis And Over Prescriptions Of Adhd Essay

- Over-diagnosis and over-prescriptions of ADHD Currently America has an over prescription problem, this plagues all age groups and socioeconomic backgrounds. In young children the diagnosis of Attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder also known as ADHD has rapidly increased. Because we live in world where so many need quick results, normal childhood behavior are now being mistaken for ADHD and other disorders. In this paper I will prove that ADHD is over diagnosed and overprescribed, especially in lower socio-economic groups....   [tags: Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder]

Term Papers
1834 words (5.2 pages)

The Struggle of ADHD Medication and Over Diagnosis Essay

- This is a question many parents struggle with. Should I be medicating my child for ADHD. Will the drugs cause other problems for my child. You’re not alone. Many parents have these questions. Some parents choose to give their child medication all the time, some only give the medication when the child is in school, and others choose not to give their child medication at all. ADHD diagnosis has increased dramatically over the last several years. [Over diagnosis and over medication for ADHD needs to stop.] ADHD stands for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder....   [tags: children, stimulants, drugs, therapy]

Term Papers
1016 words (2.9 pages)

Medical Diagnosis Essay

- CHIEF COMPLAINT: A 45-year-old female with one month unilateral paroxysmal left sided headaches and sharp and shooting pain in back of head up to the top of skull referring into face, back of eyes and ears causing photophobia and nausea. Associated neck pain and discomfort with occasional muscle spasms and paraesthesia, dysaesthesia and reduced sensation of the scalp region [1]. HISTORY OF PRESENT ILLNESS: Frequent migraine headaches but recently, the character of headache has changed from a pulsating throbbing pain to a burning, aching and shooting type [2]....   [tags: Medical Diagnosis]

Free Essays
2392 words (6.8 pages)