A Path to Write Essay

A Path to Write Essay

Length: 1126 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The process of writing is a path which allows the writer to emphasize on reader’s demands, and a way to exemplify different perspectives using the basic conventions in the context. Three of the most well known composition theorists present their ideas about this procedure in a way that is based on the same principle of how to write well and to pass the message wisely. Linda Flower, professor of Rhetoric at Carnegie Mellon University, believes that writing is the result of a highly individualized process. Mike Rose, a professor at the UCLA School of Education, also believes that this process is an incredibly complex learned activity procedure that leads to the foundation of a well written piece. And William Zinsser, a lifelong journalist, being notable for his work in this field, strongly believes that a writer should care about matters that are important to him or her while this process is going on. I strongly believe that these enthusiastic theorists unanimously agree that in one’s process of writing the writer should be simple, think as to speak to an audience and to adopt the rhetorical situation in order to convey a clear message.
Among these theorists, Linda Flower believes that the new foundation of process pedagogy lies with the establishment of balanced ideas and a continued work in time. As evidence she states that well written essays “are the result of a long, laborious, intensely personal process” (L. Flower). She recognizes different points of views about the process of writing and that most of theorists know this process as detailed steps. These steps include prewriting, writing, rewriting and the use of strategies to pass the meaning properly. Moreover, she believes that writers should refer to other opinions whil...


... middle of paper ...


... In conclusion, the study of these theories describes that if one wishes to write freely and simple while using the basic conventions of composition, it has to adopt firm rhetorical situations to pass the message clearly. Also the writer has to evaluate the procedure with the reader prose in order to grasp the attention of a broad audience by making the writing immaculate.




Works Cited

Flower, Linda. "The Doubting Game and the Believing Game." Web log post. A Writing Quest. 6 Mar. 2005. Web. 21 Jan. 2012
Rose, Mike. "A Study Of Writer's Blog." Web log post. A Writing Quest. 5 Feb. 2010. Web. 21 Jan. 2012.
Zinsser, William. "Blogging Advice from the Greats." Web log post. Branded Matters. 23 Mar. 2010. Web. 21 Jan. 2012.
Gocsik, Karen. "The Process Approach to Teaching Writing." Web log post. Dartmouth Writing Program. 12 July 2005. Web. 21 Jan. 2012.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Eudora Welty 's A Worn Path

- Nancy Wood Professor LaBossiere Enc 1102 20 Nov 2015 A Worn Path By Eudora Welty A Worn Path is a short story that incorporates the themes of love and determination. The story reveals in its theme the love an old Negro woman had for her sick grandson, and the determination she had to complete the task she set for herself. The title itself suggests that the path taken many times which suggests determination. The author Eudora Welty grew up in the south, and witnessed the hard lives the people of color faced during the depression, and the determination they had was the theme of many of her stories....   [tags: Eudora Welty, A Worn Path, Short story]

Strong Essays
1176 words (3.4 pages)

Dead Men's Path by Chinua Achebe Essay example

- “Dead Men’s Path” by Chinua Achebe      In this short story “Dead Men’s Path,” Chinua Achebe gives the protagonist an exciting chance to fulfill his dream. Michael Obi was fixed officially headmaster of Ndume Central School, which was backward in every sense. He had to turn the school into a progressive one, however the school received a bad report when the supervisor came to inspect. Why did the school get a nasty report and Obi could not become a glorious headmaster even though he put his whole life into it....   [tags: Chinua Achebe Dead Men's Path]

Strong Essays
693 words (2 pages)

Career Path And Job Title Essay

- 1. “Career Path/Job Title” So with looking further into all of the different criminal justice paths I could go down and with my love for science I thought being a forensic scientist would be the perfect job. After I’m done with college, my successful will continue. Regardless my main goal is to just be happy, and never have to struggle for anything. But, when I think about my future the first thing I always think about is the car I want. Which is so odd because I should be thinking about a place to live, and a family maybe first, then a car....   [tags: Forensic science, Police]

Strong Essays
1066 words (3 pages)

My Path to Maturity Essay

- “When will I bemature enough to be independent from parents?” I never asked myself this question when I stayed in my hometown. Before I moved to U.S, I was a little quiet and a little closer to the introvert side; therefore my thinking about life at that time was so simple. Everything seemed so beautiful to me. I actually liked a little princess of my parents, I did not have to care about anything because my parent had offered pretty good quality living standard for me. My main responsibility was to study hard and achieve good performance through every semester....   [tags: personal narrative]

Strong Essays
633 words (1.8 pages)

To Write Love on Her Arms Essays

- To Write Love on Her Arms is a “non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery” (Tworkowski, n.d.). In this research paper, we will discuss what this organization does, how and when it began, who started the movement, where it is located, how this organization is environmentally and globally responsible, how the movement supports the local community, as well as any negative aspects to this organization, and why I want to work for To Write Love On Her Arms....   [tags: non profit movement, hope, help]

Strong Essays
1675 words (4.8 pages)

Essay on The Importance of Learning to Write Proficiently

- You have been writing ever since you learned your first letters. From writing a sentence in first grade to five page essays your senior year. It feels like your pen has never left the paper, and the reality of it is, is that it will not be leaving anytime soon. Most occupations will require you to write - whether it be an expense report or an e-mail, ergo, it would be in your best interest to be knowledgable of how to write well and all the rules that come along with that. Writing is and always will be important because you will always be writing, regardless of if you enjoy to or not....   [tags: education, writing]

Strong Essays
662 words (1.9 pages)

Using Free Write A Paper

- When I sit down to write a paper I simply just stare outside from where I’ am sitting, until a great sentence comes flying across my head. If that doesn’t work or simply start double guessing myself, I end the conflict in bringing both my sister and parents into the argument. As a result, they end up resolving the issue through stating what sounds great on the sentence, or what can be done to make it sound better, by following all prerequisites. Most of which ends up giving an excellent pay off, since my parents are in my personal opinion a great help when it comes to starting an essay....   [tags: Writing, Essay, Grammar, Linguistics]

Strong Essays
1204 words (3.4 pages)

Richard Write: A Southern Writer Essay

- ... Richard is rebellious and defiant by nature. At four years old, instead of being quiet as instructed by his mother, he played with fire and accidently burnt down his home. He also killed a kitten, not because he enjoyed taking a life, but to defy his father. Although this type of behavior often lead to some form of punishment, such a mentality and willingness to go against his family, his community, and authority allowed Richard forge his own path to maturation. A young Richard was introduced to literature when Ella, the school teacher living at his grandmother’s house, read him the story of Bluebeard and His Seven Wives....   [tags: Prejudice, Black, Experiences]

Strong Essays
566 words (1.6 pages)

The On The Path And Walking It Essay examples

- There is a difference in knowing the path and walking it.  All Waiest practitioners should know this by heart so you can seize opportunities and so you can meditate on this daily to heighten your sense of awareness and enlightenment.  It will also help you to share the vision so you can explain what Waiest is and actually show knowledge in what you practice, helping us to further our cause.  The Waiest Arts - The Art of Your Journey - The Power of You.  The Waiest Chi Monk ~ I am a Waiest. This is not a label....   [tags: Psychology, Mind, MONK, Philosophy of mind]

Strong Essays
2403 words (6.9 pages)

Essay on Media Production Write-Up

- Media Production Write-Up The title of our piece we produced is “flash back” My group consisted of umar hanif, haseeb yasin, sohail javed, raheel bashir, micahel edwards and my self. We all agreed to create the opening ten minutes of a film. When working in a group with more than two people there will always be some disagreement due to contrasting ideas. This will inevitability causes difficulty with particular aspects with the film’s production. Finally after much debate our story is based on gang war....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
949 words (2.7 pages)