A Neo-Aristotelian Essay on Martin Luther King's I Have a Dream Speech

A Neo-Aristotelian Essay on Martin Luther King's I Have a Dream Speech

Length: 1423 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

On April 24th 2014, the entertainment television channel TMZ released an audio record of a conversation between Donald Sterling, the owner of the professional basketball team Los Angeles Clippers, and his girlfriend. In the conversation, Sterling expressed his extreme racism towards the African Americans. He specifically told his girlfriend, “You can sleep with [black people]. You can bring them in, you can do whatever you want. The little I ask you is not to promote it on that… and not to bring them to my games.” Sterling’s recorded conversation immediately invoked a series of protesting reactions from a great deal of public figures within and outside the basketball field. Five days after the recording tape was released, on April 30th 2014, Adam Silver, the NBA commissioner, announced that Sterling would be banned from NBA games for life, and most likely would be forced to sell the Clippers. Silver stated, “We stand together in condemning Mr. Sterling’s views. They simply have no place in the NBA.”
This story proves that even though the society’s opinion towards racism has changed dramatically for the better in the past decades, racism still exists and remains a real problem in our society today. It becomes even more important to look back into the past and re-examine the legacies of anti-racism, especially one of the most prominent anti-racist figures in history, Dr. Martin Luther King Junior. He was famous for his activism in the Civil Rights movement in the 1960s, and after his death by assasination has become an influential figure in the anti-racism movement.
On August 28, 1963, the date of the March on Washington, from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, Dr. King delivered his most essential speech in his ca...


... middle of paper ...


...nst Sterling’s racism proves that racism is declining, and the world is changing for the better. In King’s own words, “in Alabama little black boys and black girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and white girls as sisters and brothers.” If he can be here today, he would be happy to see that his dreams have finally come true. 


Works Cited

King, Martin Luther Jr. “I Have a Dream.” Lincoln Memorial, Washington, District of Columbia. 28 August 1963. Public address.
“About Dr. King.” The King Center. The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change. Web. 4 May. 2014.
TMZ Staff. “L.A. Clippers Owner to GF: Don’t Bring Black People to My Games… Including Magic Johnson.” TMZ. EHM Productions, Inc, 25 Apr. 2014. Web. 4 May. 2014.
“Donald Sterling receives lifetime ban.” ESPN. ESPN Internet Ventures, 30 Apr. 2014. Web. 4 May. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Martin Luther King's I Have a Dream Speech

- Martin Luther King, Jr. was born on January 15, 1929 in Atlanta, Georgia. He was born into a society that treated him inferior to white people just because he was African-American. As a bright young boy in a diminishing culture, his father reassured him that he was just as good as anyone else. He was determined to work hard, and demonstrate his equality regardless of race. He set out to be the best he could be and graduated high school at the early age of fifteen. Martin Luther King Jr....   [tags: I Have A Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
1841 words (5.3 pages)

Martin Luther King Jr.'s I Have a Dream Speech

- Martin Luther King Jr. was introduced on that hot August day as the “Moral Leader of the Nation”. As such he played a key role in the Civil Rights movement. His “I have a dream” speech ensured that he would remain so because of its powerful impact. There are three main categories of reasons that it is regarded as one of the greatest speeches of all time. The first area is historical; the second is in regards to the technical aspects of the speech itself; while the final reason is spiritual. It is often said that the winners write the history books....   [tags: I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
2177 words (6.2 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- Martin Luther King’s speech was made after the March on Washington on August 28, 1963. He delivered the “I Have a dream” speech on the Lincoln Memorial steps. He verbalized this speech to millions of people blacks and whites. This is one of the greatest speeches because it has many elements like repetition, assonance and consonance, pathos, logos, and ethos. Repetition in M.L.K.’s Speech Martin Luther King uses a lot of repetition in his speech. They are scattered throughout but very close. One of the repetitions in his speech is “I have a dream.” He uses this phrase to show what he sees in the future of America....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
822 words (2.3 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- In a period of time where few were willing to listen, Martin Luther King, Jr. stood proudly, gathered and held the attention of over 200,000 people. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech was very effective and motivational for African Americans in 1963. Many factors affected Kings’ speech in a very positive manner; the great emotion behind the words, delivering the speech on the steps of the memorial of the President who defeated slavery. And not only was this message beautifully written for the hope of African Americans, but the underlying message for white people, revolution and peace....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
988 words (2.8 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- "I Have A Dream" is a mesmerizing speech by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. It was delivered to the thousands of Americans on August 28, 1963, during the March on Washington. Aimed at the entire nation, King’s main purpose in this speech was to convince his audience to demand racial justice towards the mistreated African Americans and to stand up together for the rights afforded to African American under the Constitution. To further convey this purpose more effectively, King cleverly makes use of the rhetorical devices — ethos, pathos and logos — using figurative language such as metaphors and repetition as well as various other techniques e.g....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
846 words (2.4 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- The famous “I Have a Dream” speech delivered by Martin Luther King, Jr. at the historic March in Washington in August 1963 effectively urged the US government to take actions and to finally set up equality between the black and white people in America. Although there were many factors that contributed to the success of the speech, it was primarily King’s masterly use of different rhetorical instruments that encouraged Kennedy and his team to take further steps towards racial equality. King effectively utilizes numerous linguistic devices, such as metaphors, anaphoras, allusions, and provides an abundance of specific examples in his address and this all makes the speech more convincing and me...   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
1085 words (3.1 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- Rhetoric: "The use of words by human agents to form attitudes or induce actions in other human agents....The use of language as a symbolic means of inducing cooperation in human beings that by nature respond to symbols." If Kenneth Burke is correct, then I would propose that speakers who use the technique of Rhetoric properly will thoroughly "induce" their listeners to action. Perhaps no other speech nor speaker eloquently used rhetoric, amongst other speaking techniques, to evict such emotion, persuasion, and call to action as the "I Have a Dream" speech by Martin Luther King Jr....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
798 words (2.3 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- Dr. King is an emotional, inspiring and strong speaker. His " I Have A Dream" speech tugs a deep root war of emotions in every American’s heart; therefore, this speech is the perfect display of pathos. Even though pathos overwhelm logo and ethos, they also very much present in his speech. On August 28, 1963 Dr. King made his way to Washington Mall from the Washington Monument to the Lincoln Memorial to commit his speech to his fellow Americans. Dr. King commands his speech during an ironic period time of America history....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Free Essays
1035 words (3 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Dr. Martin Luther King's I Have a Dream Speech

- On August 28th, 1963, Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered a speech to more than 200,000 people during the March on Washington. King's speech was one of the most influential during the era of the Civil Rights Movement and is to this day recognized as a masterpiece due to its effect on the audience as well as for its eloquence and language. Many components went into this passionate speech that portrayed King's hopes for racial equality and a brighter future made the speech as moving as it was. It is doubtful that any person can guess that this speech was written without forethought regarding what goals King wished to accomplish in this speech....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have a Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
995 words (2.8 pages)

Rhetorical Analysis of Martin Luther King's I Have A Dream Speech

- More than 40 years ago, in August 1963, Martin Luther King electrified America with his momentous ‘I Have A Dream’ speech, dramatically delivered from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. His soaring rhetoric demanding racial justice and an integrated society became a mantra for the black community and is as familiar to subsequent generations of Americans as the US Declaration of Independence. His words proved to be a touchstone for understanding the social and political upheaval of the time and gave the nation a vocabulary to express what was happening....   [tags: Rhetoric of I Have A Dream Speech]

Powerful Essays
1423 words (4.1 pages)