A Look Into the Medical Profession Essay

A Look Into the Medical Profession Essay

Length: 2663 words (7.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

1. Introduction
I’m interested in becoming a doctor. I’m not sure what type of doctor, but I hope that this project will help me decide.

2. The History and Development of Medicine
There were many developments in ancient medicine due to the fact that people get injured and get diseases. In prehistoric times, people used herbs as healing agents. When tribes were formed and the caste system enacted, there were shamans or apothecaries who were the healers.
In 700 B.C., there was a medical school in Cnidus that is the first known Greek medical school that started the idea of observing patients. The Greek centers of medical advice, prognosis, and healing were dedicated temples to their healer-god Asclepius. At these shrines, patients would enter a dream-like state of induced sleep known as "enkoimesis" not unlike anesthesia, in which they either received guidance from the deity in a dream or were cured by surgery (Wikipedia). Hippocrates of Kos is known as the “father of modern medicine.” The
Hippocratic Corpus was constructed by Hippocrates and his students. Hippocrates made the Hippocratic Oath that even physicians today use. Hippocrates and his followers are credited for being the first to describe many diseases, including clubbing of the fingers that are sometimes
referred to as Hippocratic fingers. The clubbing of the fingers is an important diagnostic sign in chronic supportive lung disease, lung cancer, and cyanotic heart disease.
Once the Roman Empire fell in Western Europe, medicine changed into a more localized profession. Ancient practices in medicine were altered because of individual observations and experiences. Surgical practices were greatly improved. Rogerius Salernitanus wrote the book “Chirurgia” which ...


... middle of paper ...


...010.
Cooper, Richard A. Health Affairs. Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 2010. Web. 4 March
2010.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. United States Department of Labor, 17 December 2009. Web. 4
March 2010.
Student doc: Medical Student’s Resource Guide. Medical Resource Group, 4 March 2010. Web
4 March 2010.
Freedom For All. n.p., 2009. Web. 4 March 2010.
Education-Portal. n.p., n.d. Web. 5 March 2010.
Kaiser Permanente. n.p., 2010. Web. 5 March 2010.
Mee Memorial Hospital. n.p., 2009. Web. 5 March 2010.
The University Of Sint Eustatius School Of Medicine. n.p., 2010. Web. 4 March 2010.
The University Of Michigan Medical School. n.p., 2010. Web. 4 March 2010.
The University Of Texas Medical School at Houston. n.p., 2009. Web. 4 March 2010.
The University of Minnesota. n.p., 2008. Web. 4 March 2010.
UC Davis School of Medicine. n.p., 2010. Web. 4 March 2010.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on A Look at the Nursing Profession

- A. History & Development The history and development of the nursing profession is very interesting. Theoretically, nursing is believed to have began in the home as a result of the tradition of women taking care of their family when needed, whether it be the role of a wife, a daughter, a mother, or a sister (Self Growth). Women were the typical use for the care of society. Nursing beginning in the home is just a basic belief that came about from modern type thinking. Nursing became very popular in times of war....   [tags: Nursing Career, healthcare, history, informative]

Term Papers
2682 words (7.7 pages)

Nursing: A Profession of Art and Science Essay

- Nursing is a dynamic profession built upon a foundation of art and science. It has adapted to rapidly changing technology, rising patient acuity, and weathered the challenge of nursing shortages with an unwavering commitment to professionalism. In this paper I will discuss my beliefs and values, my vision for the future, and my strengths and limitation in pursuing my career goals. I will also reflect upon the influences that contributed to choosing nursing as a profession. Choice of Nursing In truth, a wide range of career possibilities did not exist in Southern Indiana where I grew up....   [tags: nursing, medical, ]

Term Papers
1105 words (3.2 pages)

The Professionalism Of The Medical Field Essay

- Medical Professionalism in Academic Medicine Professionalism is of critical importance in the medical field. Professionalism plays a large role in shaping an organization. In academia as well as the workplace this concept can be challenging. The pressures to function in at the highest capacity level are not simple. Often people don 't understand their respective roles in an organization. There can be many reasons why it may not be clear. Sometimes there is not enough professional training provided or the presently available training methods may need to be updated....   [tags: Physician, Medicine, Patient, Profession]

Term Papers
2227 words (6.4 pages)

My Life At Medical School Essay

- ... After discharge, he had several similar episodes with normal blood sugar levels, which the doctors described as the honeymoon period for the disease. Finally, my family was advised to go to the city for a second medical opinion. There he was correctly diagnosed with organic acidemia. The doctors showed compassion, explained the disease and advised diet modification to prevent future episodes, but unfortunately, nothing could be done for his neurological symptoms. After a few months my nephew suffered another severe episode and did not endure....   [tags: Physician, Medicine, Medical school]

Term Papers
779 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on Medical Treatments Of The Hospital Bill

- Introduction A person is going about their business, doing their regular routine and it is time for a doctor’s visit. The patient goes in there, and the doctor performs his regular examine and sends the patient home. The next phone call they get from their doctor is a tragic one. They have just been diagnosed with a disease that has a low survival rate. Also so begins the medical treatments. These treatments could last weeks, months, or years, during which the patient will face some of the most difficult choices....   [tags: Death, Patient, Physician, Medical ethics]

Term Papers
2469 words (7.1 pages)

Nursing Profession: The patient-nurse Relationship Essay

- The nursing profession is one that provides care, collaborates with others, and provides education in a variety of different settings. I choose to work in the field of nursing to advance my career from an operating room technician to a medical-surgical nurse. I enjoy the sensation of helping others and assisting with the surgical fixation of a medical complication. The American Nurses Association (ANA) created the nursing code of ethics to ensure proper moral care, goals, values, and professional obligations of the nurse where known....   [tags: education, care, medical-surgical nurse]

Term Papers
885 words (2.5 pages)

The Profession of Biochemistry Essay

- The Profession of Biochemistry “If cancer is to be cured, the earth’s pollution cleaned up, or the aging process slowed, it will be biochemists . . . who will lead the way” (“Biochemists” 13). Biochemistry is the profession of studying the chemistry of living things and using that knowledge to solve real world problems (13). This career is a demanding but interesting job. After researching biochemistry, I found that it is a field with a very diverse set of responsibilities, working conditions, and educational requirements; and my interest in becoming a biochemist is now more heightened than before....   [tags: medicine, nutrition, agriculture]

Free Essays
733 words (2.1 pages)

Essay about Nursing is a Profession

- Nursing is a Profession Nursing is a profession that blends the rich traditions of the past with the ever changing realities of today's health care industry. Nursing is not simply an assortment of special skills and the nurse is not simply a person proficient in performing these specific tasks. Nursing is a profession. I believe this statement to be true because of several factors. The Title 19 Code for Nurses is titled "Standards for Professional Nursing Practice". The status of nursing as a profession reflects the values that society places on the work of nurses and how central nursing is to the good of society....   [tags: Papers Argumentative Persuasive Medical Essays]

Term Papers
479 words (1.4 pages)

My Motivation For The Medical Field Essay

- In my post secondary studies, many people are interested in what I want to do after I graduate and where I want to go in life. It is far rarer to have people ask the question of why. Why do I want to pursue a career in the medical field. Why do I want to spend my life helping people. Why do I want to attend the nursing program at Clarkson. My answer to the big question of why is not a simple one-faceted answer. I want to be a nurse for a myriad of reasons. In this reflection, I will touch on my long-lasting love for a career in medicine, my experience in school that solidified my desire to become a nurse, and the path that led me to apply to Clarkson College....   [tags: Nursing, Bachelor of Science in Nursing]

Term Papers
814 words (2.3 pages)

Essay on History of the Nursing Profession

- In the 1980's, the nursing profession was transformed by World War two. The first known nurse during the early years of the Christian church was Phoebe a deaconess. Phoebe took care of both men and woman, in 323 A.D construction of a hospital has begun in every cathedral town. Nursing professionalized in the late 19th century. Larger hospitals set up nursing schools that attracted ambitious women from working-class back grounds. Till the early 1900s, nursing schools came to an end and was controlled by hospitals....   [tags: nursing, nurses, hospitals]

Term Papers
668 words (1.9 pages)