A Face-off Essay

A Face-off Essay

Length: 1188 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The forsaken, Thinmint, wanders through the Horde capital atop his massive blue drake, robes draped over his exposed, rotting bones, sneering as best as he can with no lips at any low-levels who give him a second glance. He waits to carry his allies through another encounter with Azeroth's finest foes by channeling divine energy to heal their wounds, but to feed his personal vendetta against the world of the living, not out of the goodness of his now useless heart. This is the character I have chosen to play through the highest content of World of Warcraft, but does he express my real world identity in this virtual space effectively? Learning by playing Thinmint through the game's content and researching my class and race, I have come to realize that the identity I project through my character draws from my personality in some interesting ways.
Thinmint is a member of the now lucid undead community and is practiced in the priestly arts. Being aligned holy as a main talent spec, he has healed countless groups of his Horde allies though battles against the Alliance and Illidan's, Arthas's, and Deathwing's armies, as well as against the various other bad guys World of Warcraft has to offer. He is not, however, entirely helpless on his own due to his now rarely used shadow off-spec. Shortly after the shattering of Azeroth, Thinmint replaced his Icecrown epic equipment with new rare and uncommon gear found in the newly opened lands and dungeons, working his way up to level 85 and into heroic dungeons. He has regularly worked on the enchanting profession, early on using it for making large amounts of money by disenchanting cheep greens on the auction house, but after the shattering he has been working on obtaining useful enchantment...


... middle of paper ...


... me realize that I can project more of my real world identity though him than I first expected. When playing the game, I hardly ever think about my character as a product of my choices, and that these choices reflect a personality that creates both who I am in the real world and the game. This probably makes me want to play this character more than, say, a female Gnome Paladin. Or maybe I'll just be prepared when I wake up with no skin in a crypt.


Works Cited

"Forsaken." WoWWiki. Wikia, 08-03-2011. Web. 8 Mar 2011.
Stickney, Anne. "Know Your Current Horde Politics-- The Forsaken." Wow Insider. Joysiq, 10-03-10. Web. 8 Mar 2011.
Vazar-da-Priest, . "Undead Priest Lore." 06-12-2010. Online Posting to MMO-Champion. Web. 9 Mar 2011.
Warcraft III. 1.25.1.6397. March 9, 2011. Blizzard Entertainment.
World of Warcraft. 4.0.6. February 8, 2011. Blizzard Entertainment

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Analysis of Face Descry System

- The user interface for the computer systems is evolvinginto an intelligent multi-modal interface. It is now movingaway from keyboard-given instructions to more naturalmodes of interaction, using visual, audio and sensorialmeans. This is the first step in achieving a human-likecommunication between man and machine. Human communication has two main aspects: verbal(auditory) and non-verbal (visual). Phenomenalike facial expressions, body movements and physiologicalreactions are the atomic units of the non-verbal communication.Although it is quite clear that non-verbal gestures arenot necessary for successful human interaction, considerable research in social psychology has shownthat non-verbal...   [tags: software, interface, face detection]

Strong Essays
985 words (2.8 pages)

Improve ATM Security by Face Recognition Essay

- ... If details of SIM card matches, the device asks the face recognition. The recognition is done by MATLAB. When the image matches from the data base it asks for selecting the bank when the user select the bank it ask the pin number of bank account and next processing starts like user can make transactions, check balance etc, otherwise the process is cancelled. The system used Spartan-3 FPGA kit for controlling the system, one buzzer is connected to the system on the FPGA board which guide the process for transaction....   [tags: databases of face, biometic techniques]

Strong Essays
1369 words (3.9 pages)

Use of Plot and Sensory Description in Julio Cortazar's Face Up Essay examples

- How do you know that a dream is really a dream or if reality is real. The ‘Night Face Up’ is a short story written by Julio Cortazar depicting a nameless protagonist who flips between dream and reality. The main character is switching between a hospital setting between the 1950’s and 1980’s, and an ancient Aztec area. The man experiences a world where he was recently involved in a motorcycle accident and ends up in the hospital with a broken arm. In the Aztec area he is running for his life as he is being hunted down to be a human sacrifice....   [tags: face up]

Strong Essays
1252 words (3.6 pages)

Essay about Adventure English : Experiences With Face Saving

- Week Two Paper Jesus Cabral Brandman University Face defined according to Rosenberg, S., is a multi-faceted term, and its meaning is inextricably linked with culture and other terms such as honor and its opposite, humiliation. Saving face or giving face has different levels of importance, depending on the culture or society with which one is dealing. Perhaps the most familiar term to many is "saving face," which we understand simply to mean not being disrespectful to others in public, or taking preventive actions so that we will not appear to lose face in the eyes of others (2014, p.3)....   [tags: Chinese culture, Shame society, Face]

Strong Essays
1229 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on Summary Of ' Silas House 's ' Fake Face '

- Pets aren 't just animals, they are the creatures we selected to come into our lives to bring us happiness. Silas House states that if we stop as see what is in front of us we would be happier (House). He also states that if people were more like dogs we wouldn’t have a lot of the issues we have in the world (House). I believe that we have three faces: The face you show your family, the face you show the outside world, and the real you face. The face you show your family is the face that you want to portray yourself as, ‘the good one’, ‘the bad one’, ‘the smart one’ they know you and see you but you don’t tell them everything....   [tags: Dog, Love, Brian Wilson, Face]

Strong Essays
1703 words (4.9 pages)

Essay on Lucy Grealy's Autobiography of a Face

- Lucy Grealy's Autobiography of a Face "Language supplies us with ways to express ever subtle levels of meaning, but does that imply language gives meaning, or robs us of it when we are at a loss to name things?"(Grealy 44). Throughout her childhood and young adulthood, Lucy Grealy attempts to create a self-image based on her looks, through the reactions of others, and her own hopefulness, but these fail and she learns to forget her image completely. It is at this time of forgetting her image that Grealy demonstrates that she is able to recognize a difference between an image that is reflected in a mirror and an image that one can create through language....   [tags: Lucy Grealy Autobiography of a Face]

Strong Essays
1429 words (4.1 pages)

Face Recognition Using Various Kinds of Analysis Essay

- The proposed method is based on eigenspaces [14] and it is obtained with the Principal Component Analysis (PCA) [15] of the vectorized set of three features include WF, FFP, and RFF. Localizing the facial feature points is obtained by a novel algorithm. For this purpose, we briefly review some of the previous methods in this section. 2.1 Face Recognition Using Principal Component Analysis Principal Component Analysis (PCA) is a dimensionality reduction technique based on extracting the desired number of principal components of the multi-dimensional data....   [tags: Face Recognition, Principal Component, Analysis, c]

Strong Essays
846 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on A New Algorithm for Age Group Recognition from Frontal Face Image

- In this paper, a new algorithm for age group recognition from frontal face image is presented. The algorithm classifies subjects into four different age categories in four key stages: Pre-processing, Facial feature extraction by a new projection method, Face feature analysis, and Age classification. In order to apply the algorithm to the problem, a face image database focusing on people’s age information is required. Because there are no such these databases, we created a database for this purpose, which is called Iranian Face Database (IFDB)....   [tags: algorithms, age group recognition, frontal face im]

Strong Essays
2507 words (7.2 pages)

Mel Gibson’s "The Man Without a Face": A Cry against Discrimination Essay

- Mel Gibson’s The Man Without a Face is a touching story about a boy chasing his dream and his strange yet brilliant mentor, McLeod. In the film, Chuck Norstead is a troubled young boy from a broken home who finds a friend in the town outcast, McLeod. When the town discovers this friendship, they are quick to separate the duo and brand McLeod as a child molester, despite Chuck’s fervent denials. While this seems unjust and heinous, I cannot help but recall a certain story by the name of The Scarlet Letter....   [tags: Mel Gibson, Man Without a Face, Discrimination, ]

Free Essays
434 words (1.2 pages)

The Relation of September 11 to Goffman's Theory of Face and Line Essay

- Goffman was the contemporary theorist who first introduced the idea of face and line into a sociological perspective. When Goffman refers to the concept of the line, he is referring to the patterns of behavior through which a person uses to express their view of a particular situation to others and ones self (Layder 1998:172-174) It is the view that a person takes on an issue that he tries to "sell" to himself and others. An example of a line could be a person stating that he or she is the fastest kid in high school....   [tags: Theory of Face and Line]

Free Essays
439 words (1.3 pages)