A Career in Cosmetology Essay

A Career in Cosmetology Essay

Length: 994 words (2.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

A survey certified that average women spend about $13,000 on makeup in her life time. Not only that, but also spend 300 hours applying it. Beauty tends to increase the self esteem of women, they think more positive of themselves. Along with that like anything else cosmetology has revolutionized throughout the years. Cosmetology has played an important role in lives of women, it does not only represent beauty, but also self confidence.
In the industry of cosmetology there has been women that have played an important role. Like Sarah Breedlove, who later became known as Madam C.J. Walker was America’s first African American female millionaire. She was born poor and orphaned, but later built her own business of manufacture hair products. A scalp infection lead her to the creation of her products. Like many women she struggled to find the solution to her problem, after she tried thousands of products, soon she started loosing her hair. While sleeping she had a dream of a man advising her of ingredients she needed to mix. She got up the next morning and did as her dream demanded. To her surprise this product had worked, she then begun selling her unique formula (“Beauty”). Who would have thought a women could have became so successful. They say dreams can lead you to great accomplishments and this was the case of Sarah Breedlove. Another example of a successful women is Jane Iredale, founder and president of Iredale Mineral Cosmetics. Jane Iredale introduced the full line of cosmetics, she wanted to create cosmetics that were beneficial to the skin. In order to make her products the best, she collaborated with make up artist, dermatologist, and plastic surgeons in the production (“Beauty”). These two women are great icons of the Beaut...


... middle of paper ...


...SMETOLOGISTS." COSMETOLOGISTS. California Occupational Guide, n.d. Web. 21 Oct. 2013.
"Hair Salons: Protecting Worker Health: What OSHA Requires." Hair Salons: Protecting Worker Health: What OSHA Requires. United States Department of Labor, n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013.
"Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists." Career Information:. Campus Explorer, 2013. Web. 15 Oct. 2013.
Michael, Elvis. "Cosmetology Career Facts." Work. Chron, 2013. Web. 15 Oct. 2013.
Murphy, Francis. "The Origin and Rise of Cosmetology." Ezine Articles. N.p., 19 Aug. 2009. Web. 23 Oct. 2013.
Schurman, Aysha. "A Brief History of Cosmetology." - Life123. Life123, n.d. Web. 24 Oct. 2013.
"Summary." U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 29 Mar. 2012. Web. 21 Oct. 2013.
"A TIMELINE OF BEAUTY DEFINED THROUGH THE AGES." - TheFashionSpot. N.p., n.d. Web. 28 Oct. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Hollywood Celebrities and Cosmetology Essay

- Have you ever seen a celebrity walking down a red carpet and wonder how she looks so beautiful and if she looked that beautiful before they got her dolled up. This person probably used the services of a professional cosmetologist. Cosmetology is a career having to do with skin care, hairstyling, cosmetics, manicure and pedicure. While many people can do, some of these things on their own, hiring a professional ensures a better outcome and helps enhance the looks of clients. Working in this field, whether it is as a nail technician, makeup artist, hairdresser does not just demand certain skills, you must have imagination....   [tags: beauty, services, cosmetologist, career]

Better Essays
1867 words (5.3 pages)

Essay about History And Background Of Cosmetology

- A lot of women love to look good on a day to day basis, so a cosmetologist is what they need. A cosmetologist is a beauty specialist who is educated in doing hair, makeup, and nails. It’s very interesting because you get to be creative, have fun, have people looking gorgeous, and get paid for doing something you love. In this paper, you will be introduced to a lot of information in the field of cosmetology. Learning about the history and background, requirements to obtain the career and job positions will be covered throughout this paper....   [tags: Cosmetics, Cosmetology]

Better Essays
1408 words (4 pages)

Essay on The Career of a Cosmetologist

- A lot of women love to look good on a day to day basis, so a cosmetologist is what they need. A cosmetologist is a beauty specialist who is educated in doing hair, makeup, and nails. It’s very interesting because you get to be creative, have fun, have people looking gorgeous, and get paid for doing something you love. In this paper, you will be introduced to a lot of information in the field of cosmetology. Learning about the history and background, requirements to obtain the career and job positions will be covered throughout this paper....   [tags: cosmetology, beauty specialist, makeup ]

Better Essays
1071 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Cosmetology : The Study Of Cosmetics And Their Use

- The American Heritage dictionary defines cosmetology as “The study of cosmetics and their use.” Cosmetology is more than just hair or nails. It’s a massive world of everything from cosmetics to skin care. Cosmetology opens not just one door, but multiple to other careers in this field of work. The career of cosmetology is a positively frantic world because of the different aspects and other related fields. The research will describe the career of being a cosmetologist, what is required to become a successful stylist/cosmetologist, and the impact if this career on society....   [tags: Cosmetics, Cosmetology, Manicure, Skin]

Better Essays
1357 words (3.9 pages)

All Career Fields Have Personal Responsibilities Essay

- All career fields have personal responsibilities including cosmetology. Being a beautician requires peoples trust because the client must have confidence that their hair, makeup, and nails will accentuate their finest features. Cosmetologists have been providing people with the luxury of not having to fix themselves up for decades, which is why the beauticians have an obligation in this age to make people appear more and more beautiful because of the modern techniques and technology used such as new brushes and sponges that allow foundation to look as if the skin is as smooth as silk....   [tags: Cosmetics, Cosmetology]

Better Essays
721 words (2.1 pages)

Exploring Cosmetology Essay

- Have you ever thought about becoming a cosmetologist. Are you familiar with what a cosmetologist does. Do you think you have the skill and patience it takes to become a cosmetologist. The basics of becoming a cosmetologist and why it is so common in today’s world will be explained in the following paragraphs. “A cosmetologist is a beauty specialist who is educated in treating the hair, skin, and nails” (McKay). Some of the services that are required of a cosmetologist include but are not limited to: shampooing, hair, treating disorders, haircuts or trims, and styling hair (Chronicle Guidance Publications)....   [tags: Career Research ]

Better Essays
1500 words (4.3 pages)

My Love for Cosmetology Essay

- ​Every since I was a child I have had a passion for doing other people’s hair. When I was little I would use my baby dolls as clients and work on their hair until it was perfect and neat. I have chosen to be in the cosmetology field because I like to help other people with their needs and wants as well as mine. I am aware that while working in this industry I will work with many different ethnic groups and many different hair types. I feel I can do anything as long as I have the determination to do so....   [tags: career choices]

Better Essays
1373 words (3.9 pages)

The Study of Beauty: Cosmetology Essay

- ... helping me get the word out. Not only by words but I can show pictures of what I can actually do. I’m young and I have questions about what I have to do to become more knowable of being successful such as: What salary can I earn. What not to do with real hair. What are some of the best products for hair out. How long can weave last in someone’s hair. The commitment in going to school for this field. How much will I have to lose or sacrifice business wise. I plan to research the study of beauty by internet, books, magazines, and interviews....   [tags: career choices, opportunities]

Better Essays
1587 words (4.5 pages)

Essay on Making Ugly Beautiful with Cosmetology

- Cosmetology Overview Think you have to go to traditional college to make the big bucks in a career. Think again. Do you like to give make-overs. Are you always looking at people and trying to figure out how to make them less ugly. Do you pride yourself on always looking your best with the latest styles and current hair trends. If you've made it this far, cosmetology may be the answer to your dream of making major mullah while setting your own hours, using that creative brain of yours, and looking absolutely smashing while doing it....   [tags: make-over, infection control, hairdresser]

Better Essays
1266 words (3.6 pages)

Cosmetology Has Led Me to Dentistry Essay

- Cosmetology has led me to dentistry. At fifteen, to better support my family financially, I pursued a cosmetology license. For two years, I balanced school, a part-time job and a 1500-hour cosmetology course. Shortly after becoming a licensed esthetician, I was promoted to a team manager and I trained others in technique and use of equipment, distributed work, made quick decisions in a fast-paced environment and accommodated customer complaints. As an esthetician, I did an initial consultation, monitored progress and level of client satisfaction....   [tags: esthetician, customers, leadership, communication]

Better Essays
758 words (2.2 pages)