A Career as an Adoption Counselor Essay examples

A Career as an Adoption Counselor Essay examples

Length: 2059 words (5.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Adoption is a process where by a person assumes the parenting for another and, in so doing, permanently transfers all rights and responsibilities from the biological parent or parents. Unlike guardianship or other systems designed for the care of the young, adoption is intended to effect a permanent change in status and as such requires societal recognition, either through legal or religious sanction. Adoption has changed considerably over the centuries with its focus shifting from adult adoption and inheritance issues toward children and family creation; its structure moving from recognition of continuity between the adopted and kin toward allowing relationships of lessened intensity. In modern times, adoption is a primary vehicle serving the needs of homeless, neglected, abused and runaway children (Wikipedia, “Adoption”).
Child, Family, and School Social Worker make average annual earnings of $38, 280. The employment of such social workers is expected to grow by twenty percent between 2012 and 2020, per the BLS (“Adoption”). Some counselors find that because adoption touches on so many family issues, it evolves naturally out of a more general practice. A difficult prejudice that adoption counselors face is the perception that they are baby stealers or baby sellers. A birth mother may require help making the difficult decision to give a child up for adoption. Many adoption counselors are social workers who have come to focus on adoption because they have had a personal experience with adoption (“CFNC.org”). This is somewhat the case in my situation. My parents were about to start the adoption process when my mom found out that she was pregnant. For Glory To, the most difficult time is when placement doesn’t wor...


... middle of paper ...


...heir own kids, they shouldn’t panic, they may be able to adopt!



Works Cited
"Adoption Caseworker: Job Description and Education Requirements." Education-Portal.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Feb. 2014.
"CFNC.org - Career Profile." CFNC.org - Career Profile. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Feb. 2014.
"IVCC - Illinois Valley Community College." IVCC - Illinois Valley Community College. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"IVCC Sociology and Anthropology." IVCC Sociology and Anthropology. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
"McKendree University." Marching Bearcat Band. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"McKendree University." McKendree University. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"The Process." California Kids Connection. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Wikipedia contributors. "Adoption." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 10 Feb. 2014. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Becoming A Licensed Christian Counselor Essay

- Every person over the age of 19 can honestly say they have been a teenager, and as we all know the teen years can be pretty tough years. Being able to talk with an adult about these challenges is key to their future successes; unfortunately, many parents fall short on the explanation of God’s physical, emotional and spiritual design for them. This is where the Christian counselor comes in. It is my dream and goal to ultimately become a Christian counselor specializing in at-risk teens and families....   [tags: Education, Adolescence, Foster care, Psychology]

Term Papers
714 words (2 pages)

Essay on The Field Of Career Counseling

- Throughout our lives as human beings, the concept of change is an inevitable process which we are forced to experience in different areas at some point whether biological, cognitive, social, psychological, environmental and structural among others. As with the human body, likewise the field of career counseling which is currently undergoing changes attributable to factors including globalization, population diversity, increased technological innovations and changing job roles. “Managing a global career now means fostering global relationships, remaining patient and persistent , acquiring local language skills and cultural sensitivity, and migrating to where the work is” (Feller, Russell and...   [tags: Culture, Multiculturalism, Psychology, Behavior]

Term Papers
1235 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on Career Counselors For A Career Counselor

- In 2001, the Army came to the consensus to add career counselors (MOS 79S) as recipients to receive Special Duty Assignment Pay (SDAP). The SDAP payment for a Career Counselor was originally set at $300. Due to the unusual high degree of responsibility and demand, the position requires of the Soldier. Career counselors received SDAP because they execute binding contracts on behalf of the US government. This includes the severity and importance of their daily duties, led to the proposal and endorsement....   [tags: Non-commissioned officer, Soldier, Money]

Term Papers
1547 words (4.4 pages)

A Careeer as a Counselor: The Career Theory Integrative Life Planning Essay

- As I expand my knowledge in the different counseling approaches, my values appropriately fit in with the humanistic theoretical orientation. The career theory Integrative Life Planning (ILP) also resonates in my future ambitions as a counselor. I am very interested in working with high school and/or college students and helping them successfully prepare for their future. The holistic approach has stood out to me from the start of the program and has been useful in my personal life. My goal is to help the student/client to be able to discover their own personal motivations and self-satisfaction within them, as well as a way to benefit society....   [tags: humanistic therapy, career development]

Term Papers
2244 words (6.4 pages)

The Career Of A Professional School Counselor Essay

- A professional school counselor is skilled and trained to use his/her best judgment when it comes to students’ rights and confidentiality. One should behave as a professional at all times and be mindful of their behavior. One not only have to be aware of professional values they should also be knowledgeable of applying these standards as they apply to the role of the school counselor. The professional school counselor is responsible for removing barriers to learning and to advocate for change for all students....   [tags: School counselor, Education, Ethics]

Term Papers
1265 words (3.6 pages)

Job Requirements of an Addiction Counselor Essay

- The job of an addiction counselor specializing in, but not limiting my choice to substance abuse is the job profession I have chosen. The opportunities for this field are very open in my area of the country and throughout the Unites States. The counselors that work within range of me are very busy, and have little time to offer to a person in training. I was able to arrange an email interview with a particular counselor working at a rehabilitation facility for alcoholics and drug addicts. His job entailed monitoring the day-to-day progress of several people assigned to his case load....   [tags: Career]

Term Papers
1010 words (2.9 pages)

Child Adoption Research Paper

- My sister Katie feels like she “doesn’t belong” with my family. As kids, we used to play dress up with one another and Katie would always ask my mom to make her have blonde hair just as I did. My mom would then put a yellow towel on her head so that she could pretend she did. As a child I could not understand why Katie would want to do such a silly thing to try and look as I did. In my eyes we were both the same and nothing else mattered. As we got older, it became more apparent to me how different we really were....   [tags: Adoption]

Term Papers
1913 words (5.5 pages)

Essay about Personal Statement For A Counselor

- III. Aspirations A. Comment at length regarding why you want to receive preparation as a counselor. I want to retrieve preparation as a school counselor because it would be very rewarding career. High school was a crucial point in my life because there were many teachers, coaches, and counselors that were vital toward my development. Many of these faculty members became role models and major inspirations to me. My counselor in high school was particularly inspiring to me because he connected with me, coached me in athletics, and guided me toward success....   [tags: School counselor, High school]

Term Papers
1066 words (3 pages)

Essay on Career Counselor : $ 53610

- 36. Career Counselor - $53,610 These professionals guide and assist individuals develop skills necessary to make practical career and/or educational decisions. They may conduct assessments and provide counseling to determine which strengths an individual has that may be advantageous in their occupational development. BLS.gov lists the median pay for career counselors at about $54k. 37. Clinical Supervisor - $52,673 Within the field of psychology, clinical supervisors are generally professionals that promote, develop, and coordinate the services of a healthcare clinic....   [tags: Psychotherapy, Psychology, Psychiatry]

Term Papers
997 words (2.8 pages)

Career: School Counselor Essay

- My dream career is to become a school counselor. Researching the training and education, debt accrued, skills needed, work environment and so on educated me to a very full extent. My dream career will take a lot of focus and determination but I am confident in my ability to achieve what I set my mind too. A fair amount of training and education is needed to become a school counselor. You must first have a bachelor’s degree preferably in a Psychology related program. I will be obtaining my bachelor’s degree in psychology at Western Washington University (WWU) next year....   [tags: education requirements, training]

Term Papers
674 words (1.9 pages)