A Career as a Pharmacist Essay example

A Career as a Pharmacist Essay example

Length: 1248 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The importance of the becoming a pharmacist should not be about what the career can give a person in monetary value or the amount of accolades one receives. Instead, the career should be about saving and improving human lives and serving the public. Pharmacists keep people healthy, make them feel better, and try to help the public live longer and happier lives as long as possible. From small infant children to the elderly, everyone needs pharmaceutical care. Sometimes it can be a matter of life and death if medication is not available to the public. Pharmacy as a career would be a wise decision if a person could withstand the amount of education the profession entails.
According to Dr. Robert Zebroski, a professor at the St. Louis College of Pharmacy, King James I established Western society’s first independent pharmacist guild in England during the early 17th century. Pharmacies were known as “apothecaries” back then and they would prepare and dispense medication or remedies and offer medical advice to their patrons (Zebroski). Soon English colonists knew these apothecaries as pharmacist when they traveled to the New World approximately 150 years ago. Zebroski also noted, that Edward Parrish began the American Pharmaceutical Association and “proposed that members of the national professional organization consider all the varied pharmaceutical practitioners ‘pharmacists’ (Zebroski).” The federal government changed the role of pharmacy in 1951 with the passage of the Durham-Humphrey Amendment to the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act of 1938. Basically, what this entailed was that pharmacists needed a physician’s prescription to dispense medication versus simply dispensing all drugs. Pharmacists were restricted to reco...


... middle of paper ...


...omplete. Web.
10 Apr. 2014.
Farr, J. Michael., and Laurence Shatkin. 250 Best-paying Jobs. Indianapolis, IN:
JIST Works, 2007. Print.
Frederick, James. "Interest Still Rising In Pharmacy Careers, Study
Concludes." Drug Store News27.5 (2005): 27. MasterFILE Premier. Web. 10 Apr. 2014.
Graves, Jada A. "Careers To Count On." U.S. News Digital Weekly 4.9 (2012):
13. MasterFILE Premier. Web. 8 Apr. 2014.
"Pharmacists : Occupational Outlook Handbook : U.S. Bureau of Labor
Statistics." U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 8 Jan. 2014. Web. 8 Apr. 2014.
Ulibarri, Amanda. Personal Interview. 25 Apr. 2014.
Zebroski, Robert. "A Brief History of Pharmacy." A Brief History of Pharmacy. St.
Louis College of Pharmacy, 2014. Web. 27 Apr. 2014.


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Treating Diseases with Drugs: My Career as a Pharmacist Essay

- My strong desire to pursue a career as a pharmacist originates from my interest in how drugs are involved in the treatment of diseases. My fascination with medicine has motivated me to further increase my knowledge and understanding of how drugs may be safely delivered into the human body through various methods. In particular I am most interested in the uses of nano technology in the health care industry and how nanotechnology is used in medical industry for prevention, treatment and diagnosis, hence my pursuit of a career in pharmacy....   [tags: Diseases, mediccal, Drugs, Career, Pharmacist,]

Strong Essays
628 words (1.8 pages)

A Career as a Pharmacist Essay

- The flow of the medical community is dependent on every person employed there. The harmony it creates does not only come from the doctors or nurses, but the janitors, surgeons, receptionists, and even the pharmacists. Each job is necessary in order for the hospitals to function properly; for instance, the doctors diagnose the patient with their illness, prescribe them medication to cure it, and send them to the pharmacist, who then gives them their medication and sends them home. However, some jobs are overlooked more than others and do not receive the proper credit, like the pharmacist....   [tags: Career Research ]

Strong Essays
2013 words (5.8 pages)

A Career as a Pharmacist Essay example

- The importance of the becoming a pharmacist should not be about what the career can give a person in monetary value or the amount of accolades one receives. Instead, the career should be about saving and improving human lives and serving the public. Pharmacists keep people healthy, make them feel better, and try to help the public live longer and happier lives as long as possible. From small infant children to the elderly, everyone needs pharmaceutical care. Sometimes it can be a matter of life and death if medication is not available to the public....   [tags: Career Essays]

Strong Essays
1248 words (3.6 pages)

A Career as a Pharmacist Essay

- Pharmacists have very important roles in healthcare from all angles. Physicians and licensed practitioners that write a written prescription, the pharmacist reviews patient history, health conditions, and interactions with the new medication prescribed. As a pharmacy technician (for six years) I had a somewhat of an overview on what they accomplished in a shift but did not know everything on what I know now from this research. Pharmacy students that are in the process to obtain their doctor of pharmacy (D.Pharm.) go through a series of training, education and internship to become a well-rounded pharmacist....   [tags: Career Essays]

Strong Essays
611 words (1.7 pages)

A Career As A Clinical Pharmacist Essay

- A career as a clinical pharmacist seems to be the goal was working up to my entire life, even before I knew what it was. As a child I found myself fascinated by what made people sick and how to make them feel better. This interest only continued to grow through my education, culminating in my decision to attend pharmacy school upon reaching adulthood. Though pharmacy school is long and arduous for many, for me it was a journey that I wanted to make the most of. Each year I learned more and I developed more, not only as a student, but as a person as well....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Pharmacist]

Strong Essays
725 words (2.1 pages)

My Career And Become A Pharmacist Essay

- After a postdoctoral fellowship at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine, I was appointed assistant professor at Qazvin University of Medical Sciences where I worked as a lecturer and a principal investigator from 2012 to 2014. Although, as a group leader, I had opportunities to lead some research in drug development, I often felt unfulfilled due to lack of hands-on clinical experience and direct patient contact. I had a burning desire for a profession that allowed me the flexibility to counsel patients on their medications and to be an educator while continuing research in drug development....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Pharmacist, Medicine]

Strong Essays
707 words (2 pages)

Career Options For Attending A Pharmacy School And Becoming A Pharmacist

- Before I started the spring semester, I was completely set on attending medical school after getting my undergraduate degree. However, the more I planed for my future the unhappier I became. BMD 150 helped me realize that there were more career options out there for me besides being a doctor; however, it was still an extremely painful time trying to decide which path to choose. As I listened to the lecturers give their presentations on different career options, many paths stood out as interesting to me....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacist, Samford University]

Strong Essays
960 words (2.7 pages)

Career Research Project: Pharmacist Responsabilities Essays

- One of my goals after I have finished high school is to attend pharmacy school. Pharmacy is the career that I want to pursue and have been for a couple years. The reason pharmacy interests me is mostly the setting, having options of working in a hospital, community pharmacy, or even a laboratory. My main interests in school involve math and science, which pharmacy is mostly composed of. My main goal I hope to achieve in life is to attend pharmacy school, graduate, and then become a licensed pharmacist....   [tags: pharmacy, pharmacists, prescription]

Strong Essays
738 words (2.1 pages)

Career Report - Pharmacist and Physician Essay

- Career Report - Pharmacist and Physician Over the past few weeks I have been researching my interests, values, and goals. Throughout this research a lot of things that were already evident to me, were proven for a fact. My interests included researching different aspects of science and data analysis. Analysis has always been a big part of my life because I analyze everything. My values have been proven to be centered toward helping people and being around people. These interests and values are almost equivalent with what my goals in life have been over the past years....   [tags: Job Working Research Pharmacy Essays]

Strong Essays
1637 words (4.7 pages)

Becoming a Pharmacist Essay

- Putting together a puzzle is comparable to the road in becoming a pharmacist. It involves patience, thinking from many different perspectives such as using trial and error to find the solution. As a freshman in college, I was doubtful about what to major but suddenly one day, I witnessed my mother’s deteriorating health due to her suffering from high blood pressure. This made me feel pity and if there was a way out of everything, I was willing to take that path to help her. During my visit in Vietnam, I also encountered many close family members who were sick due to many types of illnesses....   [tags: Pharmacists, career,]

Strong Essays
573 words (1.6 pages)