Preview
Preview

Women's Value of Money Essay

:: 12 Works Cited
Length: 1355 words (3.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

In our current society women have become a double edged sword. Beyond marrying and having children women have begun making huge advancements in their careers. The female society has grown strongly independent and competitive with men, and in many cases money lies at the center of this conflict. Women simply care just as much, if not more, about money when compared to men. Women are required to shop and spend more money on products in our society. Women have begun earning college degrees and entering high paying and competitive job fields while acting as the sole breadwinners of their families. Many women have now adopted a feminist attitude in which many young women now feel required to earn their own income. Due to the increasing changes in our society, women have grown to value money at a higher rate than men. Of course there are still some women in existence that would rather be housewives and stay-at-home moms, but this isn’t because they are “gold-diggers” or “moochers”, it’s because they would much rather stay home and focus on maintaining a level of comfort for her family.
One of the easiest examples of why money is more important to women than men is their shopping habits. Over the years it has been a running joke that women love to shop, and in essence this is true. However in all honesty, women and men make pretty equal purchase amounts. The difference is that women make these purchases more often than men (Hale). Throughout history women have always been known as caregivers. They are expected by society to have children and construct a family. Part of this responsibility is buying the everyday items the family uses. A married woman not only shops for herself, she also shops for her husband, children, relatives, friend...


... middle of paper ...


...nism." History and Theory of Feminism. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Nov. 2013
"Knowledge Center." Catalyst. N.p., 18 Sept. 2013. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.
Magan, Christopher. "For First Time, Women Hold More Advanced Degrees than Men." Dayton, Ohio, News and Information. Daytondailynews.com, 7 May 2011. Web. 09 Nov. 2013.
"More Working Women Than Men Have College Degrees." United States Census Bureau. United States Census Bureau, 26 Apr. 2011. Web. 10 Nov. 2013.
Mundy, Liza. "Women Are Becoming the Bread Winners - and It Will Transform Every Aspect of Our Lives." Mail Online. N.p., 7 Sept. 2012. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.
Ross, Tim. "What Women Really Want: To Marry a Rich Man." The Telegraph. Telegraph Media Group, 30 June 2004. Web. 11 Nov. 2013.
Tennery, Amy. "Young Women Care More About Making Money Than Men Do?" The Jane Dough. Thejanedough.com, 30 Apr. 2013. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Sex- Prostitution and The Value of Sex Essay - Elizabeth Anderson makes a claim that “The attempt to sell gift value on the market makes a mockery of those values.”(Anderson 188) Anderson uses this claim to object commoditized sex (prostitution). There are two premises that Anderson uses to support her claim. The first premise being the gift value of sex cannot be realized in commercial terms and the second premise being that the gift value of sex is more significant that the use value of sex itself. To support her first premise Anderson argues that the good which is sex in this case, is realized only when each partner mutually returns the other's gift in the spirit with which it was received by giving one’s own sexuality to the gift giv...   [tags: Gift, Significance, Value] 1535 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about Portrayal of Women in the Twentieth Century - The role of females during much of the Twentieth Century is domestic. Two well-known authors during this time period have conflicting views of how women fulfill these roles. In F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby and John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath, the women portray two very different perspectives on the roles of women within families and the values they instill within their families. The value the women share about money is one of the most prominent perceptions the authors portray. Both pieces of Modern literature differ in the perception of a woman’s rightful role as well as the importance of family in relation to monetary wealth....   [tags: Scott Fitzgerald, John Steinbeck, role of women]
:: 4 Works Cited
814 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Women of the Middle East Essay examples - The Women of the Middle East have played substantial roles for their corresponding countries since the advent of colonialism in the region. Middle Eastern women have worked in all types of fields including medicine, education, agriculture, government, private sector, and even defense. They have kept roofs over their family’s heads while their husbands were away in wars, or even in foreign countries to work in jobs that they could not find in their own countries. The roles of women in the countries of Yemen and Oman are no exception, but while they still find ways to contribute to their country, they care constantly stereotyped, discriminated, and ridiculed by men who are known and unknown to...   [tags: Women's Rights]
:: 3 Works Cited
771 words
(2.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Women's Rights in Bangladesh - Bangladesh is a country that puts on a facade of gender equality. While the constitution and several laws make provisions for the equal treatment and protection of females, few of these laws or constitutional rights are ever enforced. The primary factor behind this is that few people view women in any capacity other than that of mothers or potential mothers, and, under the further influence of out-dated “religious” beliefs, may even treat females in a family as possessions. Additionally, the ignorance that many women possess regarding their rights, or a fear of repercussion from a male dominated and highly chauvinistic society, keep them from speaking out for themselves, especially in matter...   [tags: Women's Rights ] 1173 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Women’s Suffrage Movement in America - As I walked into the Crowne Plaza on the Ventura promenade on November 2, 2010, I was preparing to vote. I walked into the polling room, gave my name and identification, and was handed a voting sheet just as I had every other time I went to vote. I think this was the first time that I really contemplated about how lucky I was to live in a time where my voice has meaning. So many of my friends ask me “why do you vote, it doesn’t matter” and to me it is this kind of attitude that we need to as a society reflect on and regroup our thoughts on this issue....   [tags: Women's Rights ]
:: 9 Works Cited
2476 words
(7.1 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Society Must Begin to Value the Labor of Women Essay - Society Must Begin to Value the Labor of Women The very idea that Capitalism doesn't work for some groups of law abiding, liberty-loving humans stirs horror in the minds of some -- traditionalists, in particular. Nevertheless, Capitalism, (as a way of life) and its economic objectives simply does not serve the lives or the welfare of large segments of our population. Most of us will never become wealthy corporates. Most of us will never own a highly successful business, become a famous rock star, or attain the status of a highly paid professional athlete....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Argument Essays] 810 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Are Women Slaves to Fashion and Beauty? Essay - Are Women Slaves to Beauty.      What does it take to feel beautiful. Perhaps a little bit of time, make-up, and a breathtaking dress; or at least that's what we have been programmed to believe.  Without a doubt, all of the magazines, advertisements, and make-up beauty tips have influenced women’s beliefs about what it means to be beautiful. An artificial image of beauty has been imposed on each and every woman in our culture.   I would like to begin with the fact that women have always been known to dedicate their time to beauty....   [tags: Feminism Feminist Women Criticism]
:: 4 Works Cited
1707 words
(4.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Women's Social Status in the World Essay - [Introduction] Women's status is a complex issue and a hard-to-define subject. Around the world, women's status in each society and culture varies in different ways. In some societies, women's status improved gradually, while in other, it declined or remained unchanged. What affects women's status in a society. In what kind(s) of society, /is women's status /is/ among the highest. And why. My research paper will focus on the relationship between women's status and the degree of stratification and wealth of a society....   [tags: Gender Female Women Woman] 1237 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Time is Money - Time is Money How do we get this adage of “time is money?” Some say that it came about in 1748 when Benjamin Franklin actually coined the term, “Time is money” when giving advice to a young tradesman (Pausch). Why did this concept of time being worth money come in to our culture. Time evolved into being worth money because it cost money to allocate time to activities other than work. Either you work and get paid or you partake in another activity and forgo your distribution of capital. Think of the common phrase “let’s spend some time together.” Why do we use the term “spend” when we talk about time....   [tags: Time Management Finances Financial Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1671 words
(4.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Money for Nothing Essay - Money for Nothing Why is there a stigma attached to using government-financed food stamps to purchase food but there's no stigma attached to accepting government money to grow the food in the first place. American farm policy is filled with such stumpers. Consider that federal cash payments to individuals--the program formerly known as Aid to Families with Dependent Children--were widely criticized for creating intergenerational dependency on government and allowing people to maintain an idle lifestyle....   [tags: Papers] 584 words
(1.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]