Preview
Preview

What is the Purpose of College? Essay

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 1352 words (3.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A college education gives a person the opportunity to be successful in life, either financially or morally dependent on the goals that they set for their life. They will choose a college that offer programs for the major of their choice, where they will specialize and receive a degree. The decision to pursue a higher education will give the opportunity to earn a better income over someone who does not have a degree. College is more of life preparation course that will help make sure a successful career. If a person pursues a career in engineering, physics or mathematics their curriculum would include more liberal art preparation courses, in order for them to earn their degree, so someone pursuing a degree in these types of careers are attending college for job preparation. On December 10, 2009 at Hamilton University in Clinton, New York, college professors debated current college curriculum (Liew). They talked about how their college could make a leap from being good to being great. At the 22nd American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges conference held in Long Beach California on November 14, 1996 the topic of changing curriculum was discussed (“Mich”). The University of Louisiana, Lafayette, is eliminating its philosophy major, while Michigan State University is doing away with American studies and classics, after years of decline in enrollments in those majors (Zernike). The purpose of a college education is to meet the student's liberal art’s needs so that they can compete and understand the connection between a degree and a job that will enable them to compete with other world economies, give them a well-rounded education that will enable them to earn a higher income, and retain a lifetime full of knowledge.
...


... middle of paper ...


...ch AMATYC Algebra Curriculum Reform.” 24 Jan. 2010 < http://www.amatc.org/ publications/Electronic-proceedings/LongBeach22/Steinfort.pdf> Rimer, Sara. “First Woman Takes Reins at Harvard.” The New York Times. 13 Oct. 2007. 23 Jan. 2010 “Secretary of Education Richard Riley addresses Mathematicians.” American Mathematical Society. 8 Jan. 1998. 24 Jan. 2010 Williams, Mara Rose. “What’s A Degree Really Worth?” NorthJersery.com. 24 Jan. 2010. 24 Jan. 2010 Zernike, Kate. “Making College ‘Relevant’.” The New York Times. 29 Dec. 2009. 24 Jan. 2010 < http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/03/education/edlife/03careerism-t.html>


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
What is the Purpose of College? Essay - A college education gives a person the opportunity to be successful in life, either financially or morally dependent on the goals that they set for their life. They will choose a college that offer programs for the major of their choice, where they will specialize and receive a degree. The decision to pursue a higher education will give the opportunity to earn a better income over someone who does not have a degree. College is more of life preparation course that will help make sure a successful career....   [tags: Education, informative, expository]
:: 9 Works Cited
1352 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
What is the Purpose of College? Essay - Since an early age, parents, teachers, and society in general have penetrated the idea into students’ head that we must go to college. Maybe you remember when you were 5 years old in the kinder garden drawing in the classroom, when the lovely teacher asked the “what you want to be when you grow up” question. Since that day students are bombarded with the concept that they have to go to college in order to be successful in life. If students don’t go to a four-year college and have good grades, their life will be a complete disaster....   [tags: student debt]
:: 3 Works Cited
934 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
College Education Purpose Essay - College Education Purpose Before World War II, attending college was a privilege, usually reserved for the upper class, but, in today’s society scholarships, grants, and loans are available to the average student which has made pursuing a college education a social norm. Norms are usually good, they help keep society run in an organized manner by sharing common rules and values. But, when pursuing a college education becomes a norm, it does more destruction than good. For a lot of students, a major reason for attending college is because their parents tell them it’s the thing to do to become successful in life....   [tags: Education University Degree Essays] 1137 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Purpose of the Electoral College Essay - Tuesday, November seventh, the year 2000; fourteen years ago, millions upon millions of Americans cast their ballot for either Democratic candidate Al Gore or Republican George W. Bush for the presidency. Later in the election process the public would learn that Al Gore had won the popular vote of the nation. Also, the public learned that despite this fact, Bush had won the majority of the electoral votes, resulting in him becoming the next president of the United States. This event left many people questioning the legitimacy of the system for selecting a president, the Electoral College....   [tags: US election process]
:: 9 Works Cited
1091 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Uses of a College Education Essay - Uses of a College Education Is there really a difference between common sense and book sense. In general, common sense is that sixth sense or that survival intuition that has been given to every animal on earth. Therefore, common sense is literally an instinct or an advanced understanding about one’s surroundings. Many people think of common sense as intuition or wisdom that comes from living a life that exposes one to many different experiences and circumstances. On the other hand, book sense can be derived from the same experiences and circumstances as common sense, but there is a difference....   [tags: University College Degree Purpose Essays] 789 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Statement of Purpose for Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Science’s Economics Curriculum - While other children watched their favorite cartoon or played their favorite video game, reading business articles and watching the fluctuations seen in the stock market enthralled me. Renowned leaders in the business world have always been of interest to me, specifically Warren Buffet. My favorite quote by Buffet is “It’s better to hang out with people better than you. Pick out associates whose behavior is better than you and you’ll drift in that direction.” By attending CMU, I would personify this quote....   [tags: global electronics, mba, academics] 661 words
(1.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Sustainability: It's Better for the Future - Have you ever thought to yourself, wondering how your life will be when you’re finally a college graduate. Well I, meaning you from the future, finally became a college graduate from California State University Monterey Bay. It only took me four years to obtain my Bachelors of Science in Kinesiology. However along the way I made a couple important decisions in my life that changed it for the better; remember always wanting to change the way you consumed energy and water because you thought you used more than necessary....   [tags: statement of purpose after college] 1143 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
I Am Committed to Becoming a Historian Essay - I Am Committed to Becoming a Historian As a Ph.D. student in U.S. history, I would like to continue to explore the intersections of culture and economics in U.S. history, especially as they relate to working-class life and consumption. Although I am now committed to becoming a historian, my academic background has been quite varied. Disillusioned with the often reductionist truths of physical science, I transferred from the School of Engineering to State College after my first year. As an undergraduate, I not only majored in history, but also concentrated in mathematics, especially as it related to economics....   [tags: Statement Purpose College Admissions] 641 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Study Plan - I am applying to Seoul National University to continue the development of my critical learning skills and to broaden my knowledge base. I feel I am now ready to complete a degree, and understand what is required to function successfully in our environment. I realize that to advance from the world of undergraduate college curriculum to that of an atmosphere of higher education in graduate training, takes much of a prospective graduate student??s time and effort. Throughout my life, I have worked towards one goal which is to become a doctor....   [tags: Statement of Purpose College Application] 1034 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Statement of Purpose to Pursue a Degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering at Malla Reddy Engineering College - ... This urge along with the lectures and seminars at college during my undergraduate years gave me the required motivation to pursue my Masters in Electrical Engineering. While building strong rudiments in the subjects that were intriguing, on the other hand, I also did an internship along with two projects as a part of our curriculum. The internship was mostly research based with focus on how different types of communication systems function. This internship was done at Innovative Communication Systems....   [tags: undergraduate, career, program] 566 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]