Preview
Preview

Essay on To Live in Different Corners of the World

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 1295 words (3.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

There are many different cultures around the world; some of them we think are normal while others are so bizarre that we cannot wrap our heads around them. Some countries have a different set of standards than other countries. For example, some non-offensive gestures in one country might be offensive in another. The OK sign means ‘okay’ in the U.S., but “in countries like Brazil, Germany, and Russia, the OK sign is an offensive gesture that depicts a private bodily orifice” (Cotton). If one is not careful, he or she can unintentionally offend the people that are living around him or her which can make living there really difficult. Since each nation around the world have a different set of culture with a different set of living standards, each individual have different preferences on where they want to live in the future. Living in Japan should be more beneficial than living in any other country around the world. Based on their geography, demographics, government, and the typical life styles of the people for United States, China, and Japan, I would prefer living in Japan than in both U.S. and China. United States is unique in which multiple cultures are blended together to create a nation with many different cultures, either several cultures mixed together to create a new single culture or a single culture that has retained its originality.
United States have been known as the ‘Melting Pot’, a mixture of many different cultures in one nation. For example, the Chinese from Asia and Hispanics from Mexico migrated to California during the Gold Rush in the mid nineteenth century to gain rich and fame. Bordered by two oceans, the Pacific to the west and the Atlantic to the east, and two countries, Canada to the north and Mexico to t...


... middle of paper ...


.... "The World Factbook Home." The World Factbook. Central Intelligence Agency, 30 Jan. 2014. Web. 11 Feb. 2014. .
Cotton, Gayle. "Gestures to Avoid in Cross-Cultural Business: In Other Words, 'Keep Your Fingers to Yourself!'." HuffPost Business. HuffingtonPost.com, Inc., 13 June 2013. Web. 12 Feb. 2014. .
FBI. "United States Crime Rates 1960 - 2012." The Disaster Center. N.p., 2013. Web. 20 Feb. 2014. .
Johnson, Marcia L., and Jeffrey R. Johnson. "Daily Life in Japanese High Schools." Stanford University. N.p., Oct. 1996. Web.
"U.S. Federal Government." USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal. N.p., 4 Mar. 2014. Web. 5 Mar. 2014. .
Wikipedia. "Akihabara." Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc, 22 Jan. 2014. Web. 5 Mar. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Peter Tosh and Nelson Mandela Fighting from Opposite Corners Essay - Peter Tosh and Nelson Mandela Fighting from Opposite Corners The Prize: Equal Rights Peter Tosh and Nelson Mandela are two men who dedicated their lives to fight for equal rights. They are united by common goals but walked on different paths in their struggles against the oppressors. The major commonality, which made both men brilliant leaders and revolutionary thinkers, was their passion. The passion they had for their beliefs and turning their visions into reality. Tosh and Mandela’s divergent approaches started during their youth and followed both individuals through a lifetime struggle....   [tags: essays papers]
:: 23 Works Cited
4129 words
(11.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Case for Contamination by Kwame Anthony Appiah Essay - Being raised in Ghana, receiving higher education in England and working as a professor in the United States certainly helped Kwame Anthony Appiah receive a fair share of different cultures. Appiah is a recognized philosopher with several published books and an impressive track record of accomplishments. His article The Case for Contamination, which was published in The New York Times, speaks on the topic of how globalization affects individuals in many aspects of their life. He discusses how forcefully preserving cultures can harm a culture more than help it....   [tags: globalization, ghana, different cultures]
:: 6 Works Cited
1113 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Different Styles of Latin Music Essay - Salsa, tango, and bachata have very different historic backgrounds, but come from the same culture. Latin music is popular for various genres in Latin America, mainly in Cuba, and is unique for the type of rhythmic structure it builds. The music is so alive that is pulls at the feet and hips of dancers, driving them to the dance floor. When dancing to the music their hips sway in time, and their feet mark the beat. If people did not grow up with this type of music, its complex rhythms can be intimidating....   [tags: Latin Music, Music, ]
:: 2 Works Cited
715 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Maps - Foundations for the Modern World - The early modern period encompasses roughly 300 years of history, but within this brief period emerged the modern world as we know today. The foundations for national boundaries, the existence and confirmation of faraway continents, the establishment of colonies all took place in this period, and it was a time when globalization in the modern sense came to appear. This period was the harbinger for the interconnected society which we live in today, and it was made possible by enterprising nations and adventurous individuals who chose to navigate the known world and aggregate the knowledge of the cultures therein....   [tags: Mapping] 1408 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Toxic Animals: The world of Spiders Essay - TOXIC ANIMALS INTO THE WORLD OF SPIDERS INTRODUCTION Spiders are beautiful creatures that belong to the order Arachnida, their found in different environments all of the world even in damp marshes of the desertas long as there are arthropods to feed on (Preston-Mafham, 1993).All spiders are carnivores they hunt and feed on live insects, although some family of spiders specialize in hunting other spiders, the main thing is that they are all carnivores (Preston-Mafham, 1993). Some spiders hunt at night while others hunt during daylight time....   [tags: morphology, poison, bite]
:: 8 Works Cited
1170 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Afternoon the World Changed Essay - ... He found his mother and sister Ruth listening to the radio. The newsman reported waves of planes dropping bombs, ships sinking in flames and thousands dead. With each new flash, his voice rose in a crescendo of breathless horror. Arthur saw his mother staring at him with a sad anxious look in her eyes. Katherine dreaded this day but knew it would come. Men always find a way to go to war. Her youngest son stood there panting with excitement. She tried to picture a military uniform hanging off his rail thin body but couldn't....   [tags: personal narrative] 984 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Witchcraft Ideas And Their Parallels Across The World Essay examples - Witchcraft is said to be the most widespread cultural phenomenon in existence today and throughout history. Even those who shun the ideas of witchcraft cannot discount the similarities in stories from all corners of the globe. Witchcraft and its ideas have spread across racial, religious, and language barriers from Asia to Africa to America. Primitive people from different areas in the world have shockingly similar accounts of witchcraft occurrences. In most cases the strange parallels cannot be explained and one is only left to assume that the tales hold some truth....   [tags: essays research papers fc]
:: 2 Works Cited
1064 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Four Corners of My Heart - The Four Corners of My Heart When you’re with people that care about you and show you that they love you, it’s the best feeling in the world. Well when I was growing up, my family provided that love and support and it was all I needed to be entirely happy. Every year our tradition would be going to Florida for Christmas and spending it with my aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents. I always looked forward to seeing them every year and that’s what kept me going inside. We all shared the same ethnicity, culture and heritage....   [tags: Personal Narrative Family Papers] 1739 words
(5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Live Television Essay - Live Television In the Article The Concept of Live Television: Ontology as Ideology, Jane Feuer presents the idea of liveness in television. Television as an institution identifies all messages emanating from the apparatus as live. However in the technological advances, the meaning of live has greatly changed. Computerized editing equipment has made editing as flexible as most film editing. Much of this new equipment is used for the recording and freezing of "live" sports events that were supposed to be the glory of the medium....   [tags: Concept of Live Television TV] 809 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Opposite Corners Essay - Opposite Corners In this piece course work I am going to investigate opposite corners in grids. I will start by investigating a 7x7 grid. Within this grid I will use 2x2, 3x3, 4x4, 5x5, 6x6 and a 7x7 grid. I will do this to find whether I can find a pattern. I will do this by multiplying the two opposite corners together then subtracting them. I will try to find the patterns and do a formula that will work for all grid sizes and shapes. I will experiment shapes and sizes of all different grids....   [tags: Papers] 2031 words
(5.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]