Click here for more Persuasive Essays

Self-Analysis Essay of a Writer

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 1134 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

My portfolio absolutely reflects my understanding of persuasive writing. Persuasive writing focuses on the ability to formulate an essay that takes an argumentative stance, but takes the opposition into consideration as well. My portfolio also represents the goals and objectives of persuasive writing. The essays I have written for this course demonstrate that I have certainly developed my critical thinking skills, and developed, or better yet, mastered my communication and personal responsibility skills; but, because of my occasional lack of analysis and issues with word choice, my writing process is not perfected.
The strengths in my writing are my organizational skills, grammatical construct, and my work ethic. Organizing an essay is a very natural process for me. I always follow the basic guidelines for the structure of an essay, which state that one must have an introduction, thesis statement, body, conclusion, and a works cited when needed. The “Are Helicopter Parents Entering the No Fly Zone?” essay, “Animal Cloning—How Unethical Is It?” essay, and the “The Clean Water Act—Is it Successfully Reducing Water Pollution?” essay all have a proper introduction, an informative thesis statement, a body, great conclusions, and works cited pages. Formatting the essays is an integral aspect of organizational skills. Each new paragraph is indented, the font is twelve-point Times New Roman, the sentences are double spaced, and the headers are correct.
Grammar is also vital to a well-organized essay. I have shown through my writing that I excel at creating grammatically correct essays. For example, the thesis in one of my essays, “The Clean Water Act has been successful and effective in past years in controlling certain types of polluta...

... middle of paper ...

...ll come in handy in law school as well.

Works Cited

Shaw, Myles. “Animal Cloning—How Unethical Is It?- Draft 1.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 3 Mar 2014. Print.
---. “Animal Cloning—How Unethical Is It?- Final Draft.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 7 Mar 2014. Print.
---. “Are Helicopter Parents Entering the No Fly Zone?- Draft 1.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 7 Feb 2014. Print.
---. “Are Helicopter Parents Entering the No Fly Zone?- Final Draft.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 10 Feb 2014. Print.
---. “Glove Use Among Nurses Exercise- In-class writing.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 7 Mar 2014. Print.
---. “Response to ‘Lifeboat Ethics’- In-class writing.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 26 Mar 2014. Print.
---. “The Clean Water Act—Is it Successfully Reducing Water Pollution?- Draft 1.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 31 Mar 2014. Print.
---. “The Clean Water Act—Is it Successfully Reducing Water Pollution?- Final Draft.” UTSA: WRC 1023, 11 Apr 2014. Print.

Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

This essay is 100% guaranteed.

Title Length Color Rating  
Mid-Self Evaluation Essay - Mid-Self Evaluation Essay As this semester has begun, and I have begun to adjust to this course’s requirements, expectations, and goals I have found myself taking more risks and challenging my prior writing style. I’ve been a little apprehensive with my writing style this semester and feel that at times I may be missing the entire ideas of the topic. Although I do the work and get a good grade, I always feel uncertain before posting a blog or turning in my final assignment. Although the entire courses topic is nothing foreign to me it has become a challenge for me to write about....   [tags: Self Evaluation ] 888 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
I Am Not a Writer Essay - As a writer, I cannot call myself a writer, an author or any such label of professional word assembly and production. Once the label and definition is in place, experience declines, life becomes a mission to find interesting subjects for the means of inspiration a parenthetical/false inspiration worthy of air quotes (the previous statement would be more concise and academic if I had just used actual quotes and parenthesis instead of the rhetoric). The fault in this means of inspiring writing through experience comes from the approach; I’m lying from the beginning paragraph because I’m not experiencing a damn thing....   [tags: essays on writing] 647 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Analysis of Portfolio Essay - Throughout this portfolio, I demonstrate my abilities to critique my own writing and to make an argument based on evidence and analysis. My revised papers are the evidence, and the analysis I make is how these papers show my growth, improvement, and now capable writing abilities to meet the outcomes of English 131. In the very creation of this portfolio, in addition to the revised essays, I accomplish multiple global objectives for this class. These objectives include writing a complex claim, writing with intertextuality, showing awareness of my audience, and revealing the effect of successful, critical revision and editing techniques....   [tags: Self-Analysis] 1044 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
What Makes an Effective Writer and Learner Essay - This essay will describe and analyse my prior experiences during the course, related with what I have learnt about myself as a writer and learner. The thoughts I had before the beginning of the course where different from what they are now, but the important issue is to explain how they evolve throughout the last three months. Throughout the four assignments done in the course, I identified fundamental requirements I need to do an effective writing and an effective learning. Firstly, I have identified the ideal environment I need for doing my essays....   [tags: environment, time, planning, phase]
:: 1 Works Cited
821 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Eva Ibbotson: Writer of Theme, Characterization, and Imagery - Eva Ibbotson: Writer of Theme, Characterization, and Imagery British author Eva Ibbotson was one of the most imaginative writers to come about. Michael Morpurgo states, “Eva Ibbotson weaves a magic like no other. Once enchanted, always enchanted” (“Eva Ibbotson Dies Aged 85”). She may not have been well-known, but she was still admired among the people who were familiar with her works, and she was able to sell many novels. Ibbotson was born in 1925 in Vienna, Austria. She later moved to London, England, where she lived the remainder of her life....   [tags: Literary Analysis]
:: 1 Works Cited
1820 words
(5.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Analysis of Brock Clarke's, An Arsonist’s Guide to Writer’s Homes in New England - In the 2007 novel” An Arsonist’s Guide to Writer’s Homes in New England”, by Brock Clarke, is a story within a story about a man named Sam Pulisifer. Sam as a teenager accidentally torches an American landmark in Amherst, Emily Dickinson’s Home and kills a young couple, Linda and David Coleman, which was up stairs in a bed. After serving ten years in prison for his crime, Sam tries to put his past behind him. He gets his GED, goes to college and majors in plastics, falls in love with Ann Marie and gets married to her; they have two adorable children and buy a home in Camelot....   [tags: Arson, Fiction Analysis] 804 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Writing Self-Evaluation Essay - Now that I have completed the Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth course Crafting the Essay, I feel I have tremendously grown as a writer. Even after submitting the first assignment, I looked back at a position paper I wrote for school that I received an A+ on, yet I saw several flaws I wished I had changed. I feel I have significantly improved on my aspects of punctuation in grammar; the progressions Leslie suggested to me on said aspects synchronized with the grammar lessons taught in my English Honors class....   [tags: Self-Analysis] 551 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay A Self Analysis - I don't particularly like to write. Unless we're talking poetry, I have no innate talent in written expression. While I deeply enjoy the consumption and sharing of knowledge, its conveyance is not my strong suit. When pen is put to paper or fingers to keyboard, coherence is of the utmost importance. There is no way to clarify mistakes made or intentions left unclear and what we say in writing is more or less final. The effort, or lack thereof, that a reader is required to expend in order to comprehend information is key to that reader's acceptance of the ideas that an author presents....   [tags: Language] 1859 words
(5.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Writing Self-Reflection - As a writer I am like a muscle. This quarter has been a workout of personal growth. I have really learned to enjoy the writing process and the workout of just writing. When I started the course I had not worked out in such a long time. My muscles had started dystrophy they were weak. My muscles had had never been worked out like this before. I had no real understanding how to work them out. Or where to go once I had started to work out. Now I have a drive to work out every day. I have fallen in lust with where my muscles (writing) are taking me....   [tags: Self-Reflection] 723 words
(2.1 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Self-Analysis Essay - Self-Analysis Before taking this course my writing styles and habits were very different. I was the typical procrastinator because I would wait until the night before a paper was due to start it. This did not allow me enough time to properly proofread everything, which resulted in getting points deducted for simple grammatical errors that could have been avoided if I would have had the time to proofread. My writing styles have many strengths and weaknesses and I have been able to improve my writing because of them....   [tags: Essays Papers] 577 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]