Preview
Preview

Essay Rogerian Argument: Tropic Thunder

:: 5 Works Cited
Length: 1186 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Rogerian Argument: Tropic Thunder
The movie “Tropic Thunder” is a comedy about five actors who set out to create a movie about a Vietnam veteran’s experience. The actors self-absorbed, attitudes caused them to look fake and over-dramatic. As a last minute last hope effort, the director sent these five actors to, what he believes, is where the war actually happened. Soon after arriving to this unknown land, the director is blown up by an old land mine. The actors then find themselves trapped in a real life situation where they have to use their newly learned skills to survive being stranded in the middle of a dangerous drug triangle. In the movie, Tugg Speedman was a fading action star that was going through a rough patch in his career after he failed badly in his bid for an Oscar. Prior to playing in the war movie, Tugg played a young man named Jack in a movie called Simple Jack. Simple Jack was the film within the film about a mentally challenged farm boy who was left behind by a traveling carnival and was force to like with a farmer, Chet Chetkinson, and his wife, Rebecca. Through out the movie, Jack dealing with the hardships of rejection, but through it all, he has the courage to overcome adversity a live a happy life with his momma and animal friends. After his movie, Simple Jack, was a bust, Tugg was in desperate need for a hit to restore his reputation. During one of the scenes in the movie, the two actors, Kirk Lazarus and Tugg Speedman, were having conversation on why Tugg’s movie, Simple Jack, turned out to be unsuccessful. (Tugg Speedman: There were times while I was playing Jack where I felt... [pause] retarded. Like, really retarded. Kirk Lazarus: Damn! Tugg Speedman: In a weird way I had to sort of just free myself...


... middle of paper ...


...iler?". August 9th,
2008.Disability News. March 10, 2010
2. "Memorable Quotes for Tropic Thunder". March 24, 2008. IMBD. March 10, 2010. .
3. Goodykoontz, Bill. "Yes, ‘Tropic Thunder’ offends; that’s the point". August 15th,
2008.The Arizona Republic. March 10, 2010 onarepublic/preview/articles/2008/08/15/20080815goodytropic0815.html
4. Adler, Shawn. “ ‘Tropic Thunder’ Director/Star Ben Stiller Says….". August 9th,
2008.MTV. March 10, 2010 /articles/1592544/story.jhtml>
5. Brevet, Brad. " ‘Tropic Thunder’ Advice:Nonody Goes Full Retard’’ August 5th,
2008.Rope of Silicon. March 10, 2010< http://www.ropeofsilicon.com/article/t ropic_thunder_advice_nobody_goes_full_retard>







Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about Tropic Thunder Vs. Today's Society - In the opening scene of “Tropic Thunder”, we see elements of a satire with the fake trailers of upcoming movies. In our lives, we are familiar (and probably not too happy about) with the previews before the movie we are about to see. We see the top stars in Hollywood in some of the newest films, some good, and some bad. In our heads, we think either Hollywood has run out of ideas or, that we definitely have to see that one when it comes out. The fake trailers displayed in the movie poke fun of some movies we have seen in recent years come out and the times we wish were not sitting in a movie theatre watching their trailers....   [tags: comic relief, satire]
:: 2 Works Cited
2029 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
The Rogerian Style of Argument Essay - One of the elements of the Rogerian argument is cooperation. There will always be disagreements among people, especially within the United States Government and between politicians, this is more apparent now than ever. If people could all agree to disagree and find a middle ground in which they all get some of what they want and some of what they don’t want, life would be much easier. Unfortunately there are people that are so stubborn they truly believe that their way, or their ideas are the only answer and will not budge an inch when offered a compromise from his or her opponents....   [tags: agreement, disagreement, government shutdown]
:: 1 Works Cited
602 words
(1.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Rogerian Arguments Essay - The expression argument has two meanings in scholarly writing. First, it means a composition that takes a position on one side of a divisive issue. You might write an argument against the death penalty, or for or against censorship of pornography. But argument has another meaning, too. It means an essay that, simply, argues a point. You might assemble an argument about the significance of ancestor myths in a certain aborigine culture, or you might write an argument defending your understanding of any poem or essay that is read in your philosophy class....   [tags: Persuasive Writing]
:: 5 Works Cited
2568 words
(7.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Rogerian Argument for Marijuana Legalization Essays - Rogerian Argument for Marijuana Legalization      The cannabis plant has been the topic of much debate throughout the history of this country. Many people don't know that it was not the effect of cannabis that originally spurred its banning. It was actually originally the work of the cotton industry who put big money behind illegalization for the plant's mind altering effects. The cotton industry was afraid that hemp, a product of the cannabis plant, would soon overpower the strong hold of cotton since it was a more durable textile that required less work, less ground depletion, and could be grown almost anywhere....   [tags: Cannabis Legalization Argumentative Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1165 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Yamashita's Tropic of Orange - Yamashita's Tropic of Orange This paper studies Yamashita’s Tropic of Orange as a magical realist text and examines the implications for such a style on the notion of the urban. Specifically, I will explore how Yamashita uses magical realism to collapse boundaries and socially transform Los Angeles into an embattled utopia for the disenfranchised. First, however, magical realism is a loaded term and some definitions are in order. In addition to important recent innovations in the form and its purposes, magical realism is in dialogue with a longer history of writing, including the epic, chivalric traditions, Greek pastoral, medieval dream visions, romantic traditions and Gothic fictions, a...   [tags: Yamashita Tropic Orange Realism Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
2452 words
(7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Thunder-Bird Amongst the Algonkins Essay - Does a flash at night makes you shut your eyes and cover your ears. I do. I remember a night of restless sleep, with huge a thunderstorm roaring from outside and I was lying on bed with a fever. It was cold, and because of the voice of thunder I couldn’t stay calm. I was scared and as I tried to peek at the window, an intense lightning bolt flashed, and a clash of thunder followed by. I was horrified and felt something humongous must produce thunder like he is mad. Throughout history, many stories and myth serve a common goal to the listeners....   [tags: Native Indians, thunder, eagle, supestition]
:: 9 Works Cited
1492 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Economic and Social Impacts of the Oklahoma City Thunder Essays - In overtime, behind and with little time on the clock Oklahoma City’s Russell Westbrook sinks an off balanced three and pushes the Thunder past the Golden State Warriors 113-112. This happened on November 29th, 2013 but 9 years prior this was all a dream of the people in Oklahoma City. It all started on August 29, 2005 when hurricane Katrina released hell on New Orleans. Most of New Orleans was destroyed by flood waters. This caused the New Orleans Hornets to temporarily relocate to Oklahoma City....   [tags: Oklahoma City Thunder]
:: 3 Works Cited
862 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Black Thunder Essay - Black Thunder In the year 1800 Thomas Jefferson was campaigning very hard against John Adams for the presidency of the United States. Across the Atlantic, in France, Napoleon Bonaparte had consolidated his leadership of France. Meanwhile, in Santo Domingo (later Haiti), Toussaint L'Ouverture, with the succor of his countrymen and tropical diseases, repelled 20,000 French troops and formed a new black republic. The exploits of Toussaint did not go unobserved by slaves in the United States, especially in Virginia's Henrico County....   [tags: Black Thunder Essays]
:: 1 Works Cited
1305 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry - Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry An important idea in the novel "Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry" written by Mildred D Taylor is racism. This idea is important because it tells us how life was in the 1930s for a little black girl who matures with racial conflict around her. "Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry" is about a young, black girl, Cassie Logan who tries to understand with her family, why the blacks are different to the whites. Cassie, the narrator leads us through all the disaster and trouble that her and her family have been through in relation with the white folks in Mississippi....   [tags: Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry Essays] 430 words
(1.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry Essay - Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry In Mildred Taylor's enthralling novel, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, the Logan family serves as an excellent model of family values and self worth. In the face of racial and economic adversities, Mama and Papa Logan provide their children with the important lessons they need to be successful in life. First, the Logan children; Stacey, Cassie, Little Man, and Christopher-John, learn to be persistent and determined. Next, the children acquire the knowledge of caring for each other....   [tags: Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry Essays] 575 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]