Preview
Preview

The Rio Grande River Essay

:: 14 Works Cited
Length: 2289 words (6.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The United States and Mexico share a 2000-miles border stretching from the Golf of Mexico to the Pacific Ocean. The border region is shared by ten states, wetlands, numerous mountain ranges, canyons, rivers and deserts. The U.S.-Mexico border is “Situated between a developed nation and a developing one, the U.S. -Mexico Border Region is a formally defined transnational region of land. The region extends approximately 2,000 miles along the full length of the international boundary, 62.5 miles (100 kilometers) north and south of the border and 62.5 miles into the Pacific Ocean and Gulf of Mexico.” The economic, political and social changes continue reshaping the relationship between the two nations and provide direct and indirect prosperity to communities along the border, and across the country. However, despite these opportunities the border region is confronted with many environmental issues including environmental degradation that affects air, water, and soil quality along the Rio Grande River. The environmental degradation results in destruction of ecosystems by human activities.
Due to the limited scope of this paper only some of the environmental issues along the Rio Grande River will be identified specifically, rapid population growth, growth of industries, air pollution, grand and surface water quality, ecosystems, deforestation, and the Rio Grande water quality.
The Rio Grande River, or Río Bravo as it is called in Mexico is the natural boundary between the U.S. and Mexico from El Paso, TX, to Brownsville, TX, however, the Rio Grand River no longer flows naturally as the extensive networks of diversions and dams control the natural flow of the river. “The Amistad International Dam, built jointly by the U.S. and Mexico...


... middle of paper ...


...nvironmental Microbiology. New York: A John Wiley & Sons, Inc; 1992. pp. 125?156. Accessed December 2, 2013.
Souers, Amy and Peter Kelly. 200. ?Rio Grandee listed among Nation?s Most Endangered Rivers.? American Rivers. Search." Accessed December 2, 2013.
Telephone interview, Kenneth N. Rakestraw, chief, Water Accounting Division, International Boundary and Water Commission, Austin, Texas, May 6, 1998. Google Search." Accessed December 1, 2013.
Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission, Watershed Management Division Regional assessment of water quality in the Rio Grande Basin Austin, TX. 1994. Search." Accessed December 3, 2013.
United States Environmental Protection Agency and Secretar_a de Medio Ambiente y Recursos Naturales. State of the border region 2010. Border 2012: U.S.?Mexico Environmental Program. Indicators Report; 2011. Accessed December 2, 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Upper Rio Grande Essay - The Upper Rio Grande Change is an unavoidable part of life. For some, change can bring promise and a new beginning. For others, change disrupts what is routine and normal and makes what is new seem strange and unfamiliar. The history of North America has been shaped by change ever since Columbus first discovered the continent in 1492. With that discovery, the continent would never be the same again. More specifically, the Native American tribes who first inhabited this continent would never be the same....   [tags: Native Americans Indians Essays]
:: 12 Works Cited
3338 words
(9.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Texas-Mexico Water Treaty Essay - Water… A resource that is vital to a person’s everyday life. Water is what our farmers use to grow their crops, water is what the energy industry uses to extract oil and gas from the earth, water is what we consumers drink and depend on everyday. Without water, we could not live and function. In fact, water is so important that 70 years ago Texas and Mexico signed a treaty, in 1944, to ensure that both Texas and Mexico would always share water in the Rio Grande River. For decades this treaty has benefitted both Texas and Mexico, however, recently tensions have risen between the two powers....   [tags: Rio Grande, History, Solutions]
:: 12 Works Cited
1217 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Impact of the Great Recession in Texas and the Rio Grande Valley - Short-Term and Long-Term Impacts of the Great Recession and Related Financial Crisis in Texas and the Rio Grande Valley Introduction The 2008 financial crisis erupted straightforwardly because of the breakdown of the lodging move in the United States in 2006, which brought about give or take October 2007 called sub- prime mortgages. The effect of the credit emergency started to show a to a great degree genuine since right on time 2008, first tainting the U.s. monetary framework, and after that worldwide, having thus a profound liquidity crisis and creating, in a roundabout way, other budgetary phenomena, for example food crisis, unemployment, different stock crumples and on the whole, a fin...   [tags: Financial Crisis]
:: 16 Works Cited
2714 words
(7.8 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Biotechnology in the Rio Grande Valley Essay - Biotechnology in the Rio Grande Valley When you get right down to it, the Rio Grande Valley is a lot like a cell. Everyone in the valley contributes to its existence, working day and night, keeping everything working. Our unique cultural blending serves as the DNA, and tacos seem to serve as our primary food source. Oh, and not to mention that the vast openness of the King Ranch serves as our cell membrane. The Valley, even though our quiet and simple life may not speak it, is well aware of the science taking place in the world around us, as well as in our own backyard....   [tags: Genetics Biology Essays Papers] 965 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Human Genome Revolution in the Rio Grande Valley Essay - The Human Genome Revolution in the Rio Grande Valley Most, if not all, of the technological and scientific advances throughout history, were influenced by the burning desire to discover, to know, and to be in control. The ambition to acquire knowledge has led mankind to embark on controversial and risk full, yet promising and intriguing fields, such as genetic research and study. In our modern day world, genetic research, or what we know as the genome revolution, has caused unceasing turmoil and controversy; however, behind all the ethical and religious opinions lies the hope for a brighter future for humanity....   [tags: Genes Biology Argumentative Essays Papers] 564 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
What The Human Genome Revolution Could Mean For Me And The Rio Grande Valley - What The Human Genome Revolution Could Mean For Me And The Rio Grande Valley The human genome revolution will have as big an impact on the average person as it does on the scientist researching it. Millions of people throughout the world will benefit from this experimentation. Understanding genetic material and the ability to pinpoint errors in genes, may lead to the prevention of many genetic diseases. The ultimate goal is to use research to develop new ways to treat, care, or even prevent the thousands of diseases that afflict humankind....   [tags: Genetic Engineering Biology Essays Papers] 923 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
What the Genome Revolution Could Mean for Me and the Rio Grande Valley Essay - What the Genome Revolution Could Mean for Me and the Rio Grande Valley With technology advancing more quickly than even our own minds can comprehend, the effects of these advancements cannot be measured in our time, as they are just beginning to reveal themselves. Nowhere is this more evident than in the world of biotechnology, where researchers are changing the way people look at themselves as individuals with imperfections. The newly mapped human gene sequence provides scientists with the tools needed to manipulate, 'fix', or alter the human genetic code to create a person with any specifications desired in a human....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Biology Essays] 1013 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Water Pollution in River Yamuna - INTRODUCTION The 14th of December 2013(Saturday) was the day when this fieldtrip was organised .it was a pleasant day, our whole class of grade 10 evm students (25 students) got ready and we head out for wazirabad Delhi. We had decided to go to three places and collect water samples so that we could conduct different tests on samples such as: 1. Ph. value test 2. BOD level 3. Coliform level To see how polluted river Yamuna gets ,as it passes different destinations in the nation capital region, but ended up going to only two places as we were running short of time.one of two place where we visited had water going downstream and at the other place water was pretty still....   [tags: Yamuna River]
:: 8 Works Cited
2775 words
(7.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Loss and Healing in The River Warren - Loss and Healing in The River Warren      Each of us, in time, will experience a heart-stopping reality - the death or loss of someone or something we love. Maybe it will be of a family member or just a pet we dearly cherished, but the feelings we have are all too real and all too painful. This loss is probably by far the greatest and most severe emotional trauma we can encounter, and the sense of loss and grief that follows is a healthy, natural, and important part of healing ("Death")....   [tags: River]
:: 3 Works Cited
1974 words
(5.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Colorado River Essays - The Colorado River is the seventh longest river. In the 1920’s Western states began dividing up the water in the Colorado River by building dams and divert river flow to San Diego, Phoenix, and other large cities in order to supply water to these cities. In the past the river has been known for being a major source of water and electricity. The Colorado River passes through Utah, Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, California, Baja California, and Sonora. During the past decade a drought has been sweeping the Southwest resulting in a lowered river level....   [tags: history, grand river, aqueduct] 1296 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]