Preview
Preview

The Relation Between Financial Literacy and Financial Wellbeing Essay examples

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1325 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Debt: a word that seems to strike fear in the hearts of Americans. Unfortunately, that fear is being faced. Most of the people who lived through the Great Depression have a distrust for banks and credit cards. These people learned from trusting the bank with large amounts of money, and now go to extreme measures to protect their money. In 2008, a similar recession hit the United States and caused many people to lose money. Credit card debt continually increased throughout the 20th and 21st century. However, credit card debt decreased greatly after the recession of 2008 because Americans stopped spending freely, similar to the 1930s. It is commonly believed that people would be wiser spenders after the recession of 2008, but now in 2015, credit card debt has actually increased almost back to what it was in 2007.
In a journal article entitled "The Relation between Financial Literacy, Financial Wellbeing and Financial Concerns", Roshan Abdoreza states that a questionnaire showed that married people and men are the most financially literate, and higher financial literacy leads to less financial concern. Daniel Ray's statistics from CreditCards.com state that in 2012, Generation X(people born between the early 1960s and the early 1980s) had forty-two percent more debt than other generations. Since most of Generation X is at the age to get married, the number of financially literate married people might soon decrease greatly. These frightening statistics can be fixed as they have been in years past, but if Generation X continues in their current direction, the statistics will not change. In today's society, debt, unwise spending, and impatience are rising. Daniel Ray's statistics show that credit card debt has increased...


... middle of paper ...


...5. Business Source Complete. Web. 8 Oct. 2013.
Bidwell, Allie. "Breaking The Debt Cycle." U.S. News Digital Weekly 5.40 (2013): 8. Business Source Complete. Web. 6 Nov. 2013.
Dean, Lukas R., et al. "Debt Begets Debt: Examining Negative Credit Card Behaviors And Other Forms Of Consumer Debt." Journal Of Financial Service Professionals 67.2 (2013): 72-84. Business Source Complete. Web. 6 Nov. 2013.
"Financial literacy to the rescue: teaching students what they owe before they owe it: American student assistance's SALT program helps Indiana students manage their debt." University Business June 2012: 23.Academic OneFile. Web. 6 Nov. 2013.
"FRB: Economic Research & Data." FRB: Economic Research & Data. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.
Ray, Daniel P. "Credit Card Statistics, Industry Facts, Debt Statistics." CreditCardscom News. N.p., 10 Sept. 2013. Web. 08 Oct. 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about The Importance of Financial Literacy - THE IMPORTANCE OF FINANCIAL LITERACY   Making improvements on our financial literacy results in a wave of impacts on our economy and the financial health in our society because of responisble behiavior with our finances. These modifications to our behavior are neccesary because it let's us address primary cultural problems, for example over-credits on your purchases, mortgages possibly resulting in debt, dealing with expectations on inflation and also planning on your retirement.   Statistics suggest about 32% of consumers are going to over estimate the rating on their credit, while only around 4% are going to under estimate the rating on their credit....   [tags: financial crisis, society, behavior] 631 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Relation Between Health Literacy to Health Outcomes Essay - Health literacy can have a major impact on the health of a patient. This is because if the patient is unable to comprehend the information that is being provided to them by the health professional, they will not be able to take fully informed decisions regarding their health. When a health professional is communicating information to a patient they need to take a step back and evaluate how the patient is comprehending the information they are providing. This essay looks at two main topics. The first one is what health literacy is and how an individual's knowledge can influence how they how see and approach their own health....   [tags: Health Literacy Essays]
:: 9 Works Cited
1023 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Financial Literacy Impacts Financial Decision Making Essay - Introduction Ethical standards in the financial services industry were severely tested in light of news of outright fraud, Ponzi schemes, lack of regulatory oversight, and the likes in recent times. These gross violations, although shocking, are not a novelty especially when it comes to the money management business. But the sheer size, frequency and egregiousness of these recent scams and scandals highlight the lack of basic ethical standards in the industry with total disregard of their customer’s interests....   [tags: ethical standards in the financial services system] 1397 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about Critical Literacy and Pedagogy - In this time where we receive knowledge different then anytime before, the question of how we should interact with it should not be just raised, but emphasized on. In this new flat fast world that we get our knowledge through, critical literacy is a valuable tool and ability that should be recalled and available for all readers. More specific, it should be transferred by teachers to students in all educational environment. It is an important ability for students to have towards texts. And redefining texts to any devices or materials that we are getting the knowledge from, is the first step toward understanding critical literacy....   [tags: Literacy Essays]
:: 7 Works Cited
1422 words
(4.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
My Journey to Literacy Essay - My first experience to literacy came as a young adult. I have always been reluctant with my education, because of the family problems I experienced growing up. The harsh treatment our family received growing up made it very difficult to study in school, my body was physically in class but my mind was not. The trials and tribulations I went through growing up as a kid continued throughout my teenage years. Dropping out of high school I believe brought upon literacy difficulty. At the age of twenty-three, I finally had enough of feeling undereducated....   [tags: Literacy, GED] 943 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Rasool’s Multidisciplinary View of Literacy Essay example - There are many different opinions as to ‘What is literacy?’ and ‘What are literacy difficulties?’ Rassool’s (2009) article looks at literacy from an interdisciplinary approach which demonstrates how multidimensional it is and how literacy should be considered in relation to ‘ideology, culture, knowledge and power’ (Rassool, 2009, p. 7). She looks at the question of ‘What is literacy?’ from the perspective of the individual and the broader issues which shape both government policy and the practice of the individual tutor....   [tags: Literacy Essays]
:: 20 Works Cited
2400 words
(6.9 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Richard Hoggart's The Uses of Literacy Essay - In 1957 Richard Hoggart wrote The Uses of Literacy. His book was split into two parts, the first looking at the era in which he grew up, the 1930’s and the second looking at the contemporary time, which was of course the 1950’s. the aim of the book was to analyse what Hoggart saw as the decline of the popular culture of the working class. He discussed what was ‘good’ and ‘bad’ popular culture and what part they played in the two times. These things are obviously a matter of opinion and Hoggart puts his case to argue against the changes which were occurring in the 1950’s, particularly with regards the moral standards of the mass entertainment....   [tags: Literacy Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1139 words
(3.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Literacy Learner Essay - Differentiation is the key for these students. All students may be working on the same objective, but for this group, the assignment will be given in a different style to accommodate their learning. This will help ensure that they complete understand the material being taught. The student may just need the process or the product of the material to be different. The distinction between below – average readers and severely disable readers is an important one. Wherever we as educators draw the line separating the two groups, the idea is that instruction should vary depending on the severity of a child’s reading difficulty....   [tags: Literacy]
:: 6 Works Cited
1713 words
(4.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Development of Musical Literacy in Relation to the Learning of a Primary Language - The Development of Musical Literacy in Relation to the Learning of a Primary Language Many parents demolish their child’s chance to succeed before they send them off to their first day of kindergarten. So much of American society believes more or less that the talent and abilities of a child can only be as good as what was passed onto them from the genes of their parents. Therefore, before they even enter the school system, parents, teachers, and students alike hold high, average, or low expectations for the success of the child....   [tags: Musical Education Music Essays]
:: 9 Works Cited
2120 words
(6.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Importance Of Literacy - Rita Mae Brown describes literacy as, "a social contract, an agreed upon representation of certain symbols" (420). If the symbol's (letters) meanings are not agreed upon by those attempting to communicate, then interpreting one another becomes difficult. Simply stated, literacy is very important. Society has proven time and time again, it will reward those individuals who are competent and impede those who are not, whether expressed in terms of employment opportunities (job success) or just on a social level....   [tags: Literacy Essays] 990 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]