Preview
Preview

Print- A Thing of the Past Essay

:: 2 Works Cited
Length: 904 words (2.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Ten years ago, everyone bought paper- and hardback books. Many people now read on iPhones, Kindles, Nooks, plus a variety of other electronic devices, and many books are published exclusively as e-reads” (Dawson-Cook 21). As technology progresses, so does the way the world reads. No longer must enthusiastic bookworms pay retail for costly hardcovers or spend hours searching library shelves, only to find their desired book already checked out. Does this mean libraries are going to close? No. Many libraries are already offering eBooks for checkout (Wogan). Ebooks are simply giving libraries more options. Many newspapers and magazines are already available to be viewed on the screen of a computer or smartphone. Does this mean the only way to read is off a screen? Again, no. There will always be hardcopies of such publications. According to Albrecht, “Printed books will survive, and probably continue to sell fairly well” (28). However, as technology advances, it only makes sense that books do as well. Although books are traditionally published in print, eBooks are on the rise with popularity, convenience, and conventionalism: digital publishing should continue to gradually replace print.
Books in print format have been popular for centuries and are still in common use today. About 70% of books today are in print (Coker 188). However, this number will decrease due to the disadvantages of print compared to that of eBooks. For example, eBooks have an average cost of less than $9.99 while the average price of a new hardcover is $26 (Rich). For avid readers, this margin can allow more books to be purchased for a lower price. For students carrying an average $900 worth of textbooks to school each day, eTextbooks c...


... middle of paper ...


...IRGs. September 2010.
Web. 4 April 2014. .
Rich, Motoko. “Steal This Book (for $9.99).” The New York Times. n.p. The New York Times.
16 May 2009. Web. 5 April 2013.
.
Sigler, Scott. Personal Interview. 30 March 2014.
"Traditional Textbooks vs. eTextbooks–Which is Right for You?." Grossmont.edu. N.p., n.d. Web. 4
Apr. 2014. .
“Why Can’t I Use a PDF?–The Differences Between Ebooks and Books designed for Print.”
PublishGreen.com. n.p. n.d. Web. 2 March 2014.
.
Wogan, J.B. “Americans Still Love Their Libraries.” Governing 18 March 2014:
McClatchy-Nibuno Collection. Web. 21 March 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Letters Are a Thing from the Past Essay - Letters Are a Thing from the Past When was the last time you wrote a hand written letter. Probably, “not recent.” When was the last time you sent an e-mail. You’re thinking, “I’ve sent a couple just today.” Smart phones, laptops, and tablets are taking over the world. Texting is the number one way of communication these days. The advancement of technology is the reason why hand-written letters are a thing from the past. Technology is the main reason why hand written letters are getting lower and lower in quantity....   [tags: communication methods and influence of technology] 739 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Techniques Used in Print Advertising Essay - There are a plethora of features and techniques used in print advertising which are often invisible to the naked eye, and primed at targeting the audience’s subconscious mind. Audiences consume advertising wherever they look or go, whether it be on a train, reading a newspaper, or even using the public bathrooms. Conventions are constructed, and past knowledge is exploited, by what can be acknowledged as a ‘language of advertising’. Print-based advertising is a genre that has been around for a significant amount of time now, and a form that continues to flourish and adapt itself despite the prominence of more contemporary methods, such as the internet, and more recently, the growth of tablet...   [tags: Literary Analysis]
:: 5 Works Cited
1986 words
(5.7 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Nike's Print Advertisement Campaigns Essay examples - Nike is one of the most influential businesses in the world today. According to Forbes.com, Nike is the twenty-fourth most valuable brands in the world and it carries over in the way they advertise. The popular swoosh sells itself, but the media plays a valuable role in how they get their message to the public. When analyzing a few print advertisements, we see how the messages are communicated and how the media interprets what the advertisement means. For the past twenty-five years, we have seen one of the most popular brand sayings become a part of our daily life....   [tags: marketing strategies and ethics] 2777 words
(7.9 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Writing as Thing and Event Essay - The average person does not give much thought to the way we perceive speaking and writing: event or thing. Writing and speaking It is so innate, or as Ong says of writing “deeply interiorized” in most of us that we use these methods of communication every day without considering what it means for how we communicate and even perceive ourselves and others. Ong describes writing itself as a technology which changes how we look at words in general whether spoken or written. These ideas can particularly be applied to computers and internet technology as methods of communication....   [tags: Walter Ong, Paul Saenger]
:: 2 Works Cited
908 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Censorship of Print Media is Wrong - Censorship of Print Media is Wrong       The printed media is undeniably a very powerful source used to communicate. It can be used for bad as well as good purposes. It can be used to inform the world of important events, or to publish pornography and mindless tabloids. Should the government be allowed to regulate what people can and cannot publish. Newspapers and forms of reading material are one of the largest forms of news that we use today. Every morning people can get out of bed, walk outside and pick up a piece of paper that informs them of important events that are occurring though out the world....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Topics]
:: 3 Works Cited
834 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Importance of Reading Out Loud and Print for Children Essay - ... (informal) and writing the author does not connect with on a emotional level(formal ) . Different styles , and genres are introduced to preschoolers but it is important that that teachers realize that students at this age do not understand these concepts , however, children do understand that there is in fact difference. Between them. In order to engage children and to incorporate standards at the same time, teachers must integrate a mixture of teacher-determined content ( left side of the “Degree of a Child Initiation and Decision Making in Different Approaches to Teaching continuum) and More child initiation and decision making(right part of the continuum)....   [tags: Literacy, Play ] 881 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Print Books vs. E-Readers: An Apples-to-Apples Comparison - ... The tactile experience of the reader is worlds apart, as readers of print books must turn the printed page by hand every time, in the process engaging their sense of touch, whereas readers of eBooks only interact with an e-reader’s buttons or touchscreen. The electronic components of e-readers have no variation in texture of feel, and do not engage the reader’s senses in the same way as print books, which are printed on many different kinds of paper with varying aesthetic and sensory qualities....   [tags: book formats and technology] 578 words
(1.7 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
What Does Our Handwriting Say About The Way We Think Essay - Everyone has a unique handwriting style. There is cursive, print, or a mixture of both kinds of writing. When you write you have a choice of how you want to write the letters, you choose your handwriting; it is like an opening to the mind. The process of analyzing and decoding handwriting is called graphology. There are many studies of handwriting and psychologists argue on the right way to decode it. After look up certain characteristics about my handwriting for example I now know that I am a person who doesn’t like to crowd much because in my writing I don’t space words together to closely; and I am stubborn and have tendency to not let things go because I have long lines for when I cross...   [tags: Culture, Print, Writing, Handwriting]
:: 4 Works Cited
878 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Redefining Animation Methods: From the Past to the Future - There is a huge industry dedicated to animation and creating entertainment like movies, cartoons, video games, and educational software to deliver a message, tell a story, and/or educate the masses. Animation is the process of creating a continuous motion and shape change illusion by means of the rapid display of a sequence of static images that minimally differ from each other. Anyone who as ever turned on a television, gone to the movies, seen a commercial has been exposed to an animation style at some point....   [tags: continuous motion, shape change illusion]
:: 8 Works Cited
950 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Cyberculture and the Future of Print - I remember a time, when I would actually sit down and write out an assignment, with a pencil and paper before going to the computer and typing it. Those days are long gone. Now when I have a writing assignment to do, I simply go to my computer desk, sit down, and begin to type. The technologies that once were have become something of the past, and we are faced with these high powered machines that connect to the World Wide Web in a matter of minutes, or link you to anyone across the United States for a one on one instant message conversation....   [tags: Writing Technology Technological Papers]
:: 3 Works Cited
1050 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]