Preview
Preview

Essay about The Impact of Global Warming on Oceans

:: 5 Works Cited
Length: 1855 words (5.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Water takes up a larger percentage of the surface of our Earth than does land. The earth’s oceans are vital aspects to our environment and it is necessary that we take care of them. On another note, global warming is an issue that is having effects on almost all aspects of our environment. Global warming itself means a gradual increase in the temperature of our Earth’s atmosphere over large periods of time. There is evidence that global warming has occurred in the atmosphere, however, now we are beginning to see its effects in the world’s oceans, as well. Though some may not see the connection that it has with the oceans, it has had quite a profound effect on our Earth’s oceans. As I mentioned before, oceans are environments that must maintain each characteristic in order to survive. If one aspect of the ocean becomes altered, it leads to many consequences.
     Oceans are one of the most difficult areas to measure and take data from in our environment. However, we must first explore whether the oceans are actually being affected by global warming or not. Scientists have tried to use computerized models of our Earth’s oceans in order to make predictions on global warming effects. Teams of oceanographers have also been compiling ocean temperature readings from 1948 to 1996 in the Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific oceans. The study done by this team came to the conclusion that ocean temperatures below 300 meters have been raised a tenth of a degree Fahrenheit since the 1950s. Also, closer to the surface, ocean waters have increased in temperature by about 0.5 degrees (Pawelski, 2000). The principal author of this study and chief of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Ocean Climate Laboratory, Sydney Levitus, said, “These temperature changes may seem small, but they represent very large changes in heat content of the ocean, and this heat will eventually find it its way back to the atmosphere.” (Pawelski, 2000). Thus, although these temperature changes in the ocean seem small, they can have quite a large effect on our Earth’s atmosphere. Levitus also mentions that a large portion of global warming that seems to be absent in our atmosphere is actually in our oceans. We have found the “missing warming” in our oceans and now it is necessary that we try to reduce it (Kerr, 2000). From Levitus’ study alone and also from recent att...


... middle of paper ...


...c ASAP. 11 March 2002.

Kerr, Richard A. “Globe’s Missing Warming” Found in the
Ocean.” Science. 24 Mar 2000: 2126. Academic Search Elite. 11 Apr 2002.

Kullenberg, Gunnar. “Global Ocean Observing System.� Geotimes.
Sept. 1992: 5. Expanded Academic ASAP. 11 Mar 2002.

Lazaroff, Cat. “Warming Oceans Attributed to Greenhouse Gases.�
Environment News Service. 11 Mar. 2002. <http://ens.lycos.com/ens/apr2001/2001L-04-1606.html>.

Pawelski, Natalie. “New Study Finds Warming Trend in Oceans.� 23
Mar 2000. Cable News Network. 11 Mar 2002. <http://www.cnn.com/2000/NATURE/03/23/warming.oceans/>

Pearce, Fred. “Will a sea change turn up the heat?� NewScientist.
30 Nov 1996: 16. Expanded Academic ASAP. 11 Mar 2002.

Preston, Todd. “The unquiet oceans.� The Environmental Magazine.
Mar/Apr 1997: 21. Academic Search Elite. 11 Apr. 2002.

Rosendahl, B.R. “Pumping up the ocean.� Sea Frontiers. Sept/Oct 1990: 3. Academic Search Elite. 11 Apr 2002.

Spalding, Mark. “Danger On the High Seas.” Geographical. Feb.
2002: 15. Expanded Academic ASAP. 11 Mar 2002.

Vogel, Shawna. “Has Global Warming Begun?” Earth. Dec 1995: 24.
Academic Search Elite. 11 Apr 2002.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Catastrophic Impact of Rising Oceans on the Pacific Islands Essay - The Catastrophic Impact of Rising Oceans on the Pacific Islands All over the world indigenous communities are faced with an array of new problems, though the public continues to gain insight into the lives of these people they continue to be marginalized in the global arena as well. The Pacific Islands are an entity far removed from the minds of most westerners. The primary focus of any political discourse within the United States places most emphasis on Australia and New Zealand ignoring the smaller less politically salient states....   [tags: Global Warming Climate Change]
:: 5 Works Cited
2125 words
(6.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about Global Warming Effects on Hawaii - Global warming affects the ocean water level because of the raising temperatures; it causes the icebergs to melt which adds more water in the ocean. This poses a threat to Hawaii and other islands because Hawaii is made up of islands, which are small and surrounded by water. This leaves us at risk for many things with the reef and the people. Global warming has some very potential impact on Hawaii’s environment, health, economy and natural resources. With the environment if the sea level raises our reefs are at risk....   [tags: Global Warming Essay]
:: 9 Works Cited
1211 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Global Warming Essay: An Inconvenent Truth - Former United States Vice President Al Gore became interested in global warming during his years at Harvard University studying under Professor Roger Revelle. During the Clinton Administration Al Gore pushed and encouraged energy efficiency and alternate fuel resources. After Al Gore’s presidential election defeat to Georgia W. Bush in 2000, Gore focused his full attention back on global warming. Al Gore Traveled across the United States and around the world presenting a slide show featuring the concerns of global warming....   [tags: Global Warming, Al Gore]
:: 6 Works Cited
1045 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
We Must Stop Global Warming Now Essay - Now a days the main problem that our world is facing, is the global warming, but what is global warming. According to Wikipedia.org “Global warming refers to an unequivocal and continuing rise in the average temperature of Earth's climate system”. That only means the change in temperature or should I say the sudden change in temperature is caused by the global warming. And according to oxford dictionary “A gradual increase in the overall temperature of the earth’s atmosphere generally attributed to the greenhouse effect caused by increased levels of carbon dioxide, chlorofluorocarbons, and other pollutants”.From year 1971, 90% of warming is happening at the oceans....   [tags: Global Warming Essay]
:: 8 Works Cited
1759 words
(5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Global Warming Is Not Occuring - Our Earth, the single known planet that supports life in the vast universe is said to be in crisis due to a phenomena known as global warming, luckily, this is just not the case. There are many sides on this debate, some say that the Earth is indeed warming, however some contend that this is not so, furthermore others are not sure about which side they are entrusting the Earth too. My standpoint on the heavily heated and controversial issue is that Global Warming as defined by its proponents is not occurring....   [tags: Ben Bova, Edmund Contoski, natural warming] 1021 words
(2.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Global Warming Essay: Environmental Effects -      The greenhouse effect and global warming are issues that are talked about by geologists all the time. The greenhouse effect is a natural process that keeps the earth at temperatures that are livable. Energy from the sun warms the earth when its heat rays are absorbed by greenhouse gasses and become trapped in the atmosphere. Some of the most common greenhouse gasses are water vapor, carbon dioxide, and methane. If there were no greenhouse gasses, very few rays would be absorbed and the earth would be extremely cold....   [tags: Environment Global Warming Climate Change]
:: 5 Works Cited
1827 words
(5.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Impact of Global Warming on the Ocean Essay - The ocean is the largest water body that covers 70% of the Earth’s surface. In this giant pool, thousands of known and unknown species thrive and create massive food web and environment. For several centuries ocean had and still is providing us with seafood, salt, minerals, transportation, and even leisure. However, in return, humans had leaked toxic chemicals, dumped trash, over-captured fishes and sea organisms, and destroyed environment and geography. Also, due to humans’ ever growing carbon usage from burning fossil fuel had made Earth and ocean temperature unnaturally hot....   [tags: environmental issues]
:: 11 Works Cited
2695 words
(7.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Causes, Effects and Possible Solutions to Global Warming - The Causes, Effects and Possible Solutions to Global Warming Global warming is a problem that threatens the whole world. Though it has had little noticeable impact on the world so far, its potential impact could be disastrous which is why global warming has become an issue ever present in the media and for governments. Global warming is not a new phenomenon. The sun warms the Earth's surface and to stop it over-heating the heat energy is radiated back through the atmosphere and into space....   [tags: Environment Global Warming Climate Change] 1087 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Global Warming, the Kyoto Protocol, and the Global Economy Essay - Global Warming, the Kyoto Protocol, and the Global Economy      As the amount of greenhouse gas emissions increases a plan of action has been introduced, know as the "Kyoto Protocol." As of July 2002 seventy-six of earth's one-hundred ninety countries have agreed to cut their emissions under the "Kyoto Protocol." However, only Japan has set some goals, that currently seem unattainable. Many people and businesses are opposed the Kyoto Protocol.      Climate change is a serious, global, long-term issue that must be addressed immediately....   [tags: Environmental Global Climate Change] 1078 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Global Warming Essay - Global Warming First discovered at the turn of the century by the Swedish scientist Arrhenius, global warming was initially thought to only cause increased greenhouse gases from coal combustion emissions. It wasn’t until fifty years later that the real causes and effects of global warming would be discovered. A British scientist by the name of Calendar correlated the 10% increase of atmospheric Carbon Dioxide between 1850 and 1940 with the observed warming of northern Europe and North America, which began in the 1880's....   [tags: Environmental Global Climate Change] 1378 words
(3.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]