Preview
Preview

President Obama’s speech at the University of Hartford

:: 4 Works Cited
Length: 1786 words (5.1 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


On April 8, 2013, President Barack Obama spoke at the University of Hartford on behalf of those who died in the tragic shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown Connecticut. President Obama addressed the people of the state of Connecticut and on a federal level. The broadcasting networks provided live coverage of President Obama’s speech, and a national audience listened as the president’s addressing the issues and the next steps forward for the country. The impact of this tragedy and previous massive shootings and Obama’s explanation have been a subject of a controversial debate. I plan on using the pentadic method to analyze President Obama’s speech regarding Sandy Hook and gun control. What we can learn about the method by using it to examine this particular artifact is that the five elements of the pentad can demonstrate the motives of the rhetor. As we examine the ratios, we can reveal the worldview and the purpose of his policies on behalf of the shooting. Moreover, it is also an emotional and dramatic situation that tells a story. This paper will examine some the rhetorical choices Obama has made utilizing an emotional appeal to his audience in his address on April 8, 2013 to identify the dramas it creates to both facilitate and its motivation while appealing to two audiences: voters and parents. I will use this example to consider how a rhetor might construct and concurrently present multiple dramas that function to influence multiple audiences that otherwise might reject its message. It will then speculate on the impact that those choices may have on audience response to the speech. The tool used for this investigation will be the Pentadic Method from Kenneth Burke.  The examination of President Obama’s speech...


... middle of paper ...


...motives of the rhetor on why he strongly advocates for gun control.


“Can we say that we are doing enough that we are keeping our children safe, all of them, from harm?”
“Are we truly doing enough to give all the children in this country to live their lives with happiness and purpose.” No we are not doing enough, and we have to change.
4th time, of mass shootings.








Works Cited

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/09/us/politics/obama-in-connecticut-to-push-for-gun-control.html?pagewanted=1&_r=0
http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/president-obamas-speech-at-prayer-vigil-for-newtown-shooting-victims-full-transcript/2012/12/16/f764bf8a-47dd-11e2-ad54-580638ede391_story.html
http://fox6now.com/2013/04/08/obama-to-make-case-for-gun-control-in-speech-near-newtown/

http://www.politisite.com/2013/04/08/transcript-president-obama-speech-on-gun-control-april-8-2013/


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Hartford University Admission Request Essay - There is a very famous maxim, “You can never be overdressed or overeducated.” I strongly believe in this quotation. My desire for knowledge was never ending. Machines fascinated me since my childhood. I always wondered what the mystery behind their functioning was. So I chose to study mechanical engineering. I learned many things about the machines, the more I learn about them through the research the more they enthralled me. I developed a strong interest towards manufacturing field when I started studying manufacturingtechnology in my 4th semester....   [tags: Mechanical, Engineering, Undergraduate] 529 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Rhetorical Analysis of President Obama's Inauguration Speech - On January 20, 2009, President Obama was officially inaugurated and sworn in as the forty-fourth president of the United States of America. The tradition of being inaugurated requires the president to give a speech about the goals they want to reach during their presidency. The president must make a speech that appeals to the audience while being professional. Rhetoric is a useful strategy to utilize in speech making. Obama uses rhetoric to achieve presenting his message of creating hope and change together in America while fixing the economic and social challenges and issues left behind from the previous president....   [tags: Rhetoric of Inauguration Speech] 1403 words
(4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
College or University Graduation Speech - Members of the faculty, parents, guests, and graduates, have no fear. I am well aware that on a day of such high excitement, what you require, first and foremost, of any speaker is brevity. I shall not fail you in this respect. When we arrived at State College, all was new to us and we walked around looking up at everything in awe. As we have been preparing to leave, we were given the chance to see State College from the top of the tallest building, looking down on everything with nostalgic familiarity—inspecting the tiny people that bring State College to life, trying to imagine the countless buses we squeezed to get on, and the hours spent talking to friends....   [tags: Graduation Speech, Commencement Address] 933 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Informative Speech: The American Red Cross Club at State University - Topic: The American Red Cross Club at State University is group that organizes blood drives, and thinks of creative ways to motivate people do donate blood. Purpose Statement: Check out the flyer, stop in at a meeting, or search for us online, to find out how to sign up. Audience Analysis: 1. Demographics: People who wish to donate blood will need to be at least 17 years of age and weighing no less than 110 pounds. If one is interested in joining the American Red Cross Club, they will need to be a current MSU student....   [tags: Informative Speech] 1261 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Commentary on The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama Essay - Summary The title of the book is “The Audacity of Hope;” and it is written by current president Barack Obama. In 2004, he was only a young U.S. Senator from Illinois, who was driven into the national eye at the 2004 Democratic Convention when he delivered a speech called “The Audacity of Hope.”After less than twenty minutes of speaking, Obama’s name was known all over the country, with many political examiners predicting that he was well qualified to enter the next presidential race. Before this, Obama is a graduate of Columbia University and Harvard Law School....   [tags: Senator, Politician, Speech]
:: 1 Works Cited
1235 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Barack Obama Speech Analysis - ... His conclusion also contained the only serious part of his entire speech. Obama’s conclusion ended his speech perfectly. He let his sense of humor and personality shine, made sure that the audience had a lasting image of his accomplishments, and showed that he could be very serious if he needed too. President Obama’s organization was excellent, but great organization is only one part of a great speech. Delivery is just as important as organization when giving a speech. If a speaker doesn’t appear confident and professional, than the speaker’s credibility may be questioned, and the goal of the speech may not be accomplished....   [tags: public speaking skills]
:: 2 Works Cited
889 words
(2.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Obama's First Inaugural Speech - Picture this: a cold January day in Washington D.C, the first African American president is about to be inaugurated with a combined audience of over 38 million looking to be inspired. Ted Sorensen, a former speechwriter for John F. Kennedy, believes “An inaugural address is by definition a defining moment for any new president.” An inaugural address is a stepping stone for each new administration because it creates a first impression; the address marks the time when the president stops trying to win votes and starts taking action....   [tags: Inauguration, American Presidents] 627 words
(1.8 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Analysis of President Obama’s Speech in Cairo, Egypt - President Obama’s speech, given on June 4, 2009 in Cairo, Egypt, was a current event everyone who lives in the U.S. should be aware of considering almost all of us as a nation were affected by the events of September 11th, 2001. Obama’s speech was fantastic in many ways, but especially because someone with little to no political knowledge could understand the message clearly. His points were apparent and presented eloquently. The reasons the talk was so effective and listenable is directly related to who and where he spoke, the simple yet extremely efficient structure, the support content of the speech, and the delivery method tied to his language used....   [tags: Analysis of Rhetoric]
:: 5 Works Cited
2115 words
(6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Frank's Explaination of the Main Characterstics in Obama's Inauguration Speech - ... As Campbell argues, “specific policies are proposed for contemplation, not for action... contemplative expository function differentiates inaugurals from State of Union address, in which proposals are presented for congressional action” (p. 40). Hence, Frank should have made clear Obama’s vision that forms the basis of his signatures instead of policies. Furthermore, I suppose there are two critical ideas behind Obama’s encouragement of a cosmopolitan civil religion that Frank should explicate....   [tags: unity, religion, politics]
:: 6 Works Cited
622 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
McCain vs. Obama Essay - The 2008 democratic presidential nominee Barack Obama and the republican presidential nominee John McCain are both very well political speakers when it comes to the presidential election, but have certain issues that they differ on. To name a few issues are abortion, economy, same sex issues, taxes, and the war in Iraq. Which ever presidential candidate becomes elected this year, it will be a year to make the history books. If Barack Obama becomes elected he will be the first black president of the United States and if John McCain becomes elected his running mate Sarah Palin will be the first ever woman Vice President in America....   [tags: John McCain Barack Obama] 777 words
(2.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]