Preview
Preview

Personal Impression of Spanish Food Essay example

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 899 words (2.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

For this project, I went to an authentic Spanish restaurant named Cafe Iberico. The restaurant was centered around tapas, or small dishes. The inside was covered in tile which was similar to Spain where they used tile on all the buildings and even sidewalks. The rest of the restaurant looked very genuine, with Spanish paintings hung along the wall. The restaurant had a tapas bar which presented a large display of tapas in a large glass case where people could order from the bar. The restaurant even had a small deli in the back where people could get Spanish cheese, and many types of Spanish sausage that included chorizo and morcillia (blood sausage). For my visit, my parents and I sat at a table instead of the tapas bar. The restaurant's menu was large and included a very large variety of Spanish cuisine. The menu primarily consisted of tapas, which is what most people ordered, but it also contained other traditional Spanish food like paella. The tapa part of the menu was divided into two sections cold dishes and hot dishes. The cold side consisted of lots of salads, potato dishes, and jamon. During the meal we ordered 4 dishes from the tapas menu. Tapas originated in Spain. There are many different theories as to how tapas originated. Some say it was invented by a king who had a disease that allowed him to eat only small portions of food at a time. Tapas are very popular in Spain and there are many tapa bars throughout the country. Most tapas are not eaten as a meal and are small dishes usually served with wine. The first dish we ordered was a dish called patatas alioli. The dish was a potato dish with a garlic mayonnaise sauce. It was a very rich, garlicy, dish that was very tasty, with the potatoes tasting good with the...


... middle of paper ...


...ally my dad commented on the tile work saying that “It was very similar to tile work in Spain.”
Works Cited
"A Brief History of Tapas." Vegetarian Restaurants Phoenix. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 May 2014.
"The History of Spanish Paella - The Hungry Cuban." The Hungry Cuban RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 May 2014.
Matsumoto, Marc. "Grab Some Bread and Devour Gambas Al Ajillo." PBS. PBS, 06 Nov. 2012. Web. 07 May 2014.
Morgan, KD, and Bronwyn Harris. WiseGeek. Conjecture, 07 May 2014. Web. 07 May 2014.
"Spanish Seafood Salad Recipe Jose's Version - Salpicon De Marisco De Jose." About.com Spanish Food. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 May 2014.
"Spanish Tapas Recipes & Recipes from Spain." Orce Serrano Hams Ceramics RSS2. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 May 2014.
"SpanishGood." Pan Tumaca (Bread and Tomato)- Spanish Recipes How to Make Pan Tumaca. Recipe from Spain. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 May 2014.
















Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Theory and Research on Impression Formation Essay - Why do job candidate wear a suit for a job interview. Why do defense attorneys have their clients dress neatly and get a haircut before they are seen before a Jury. First impressions are considered to be essential. Many crucial decisions involve forming impressions about another person. Decisions about the ability of prospective job candidates, judgments about the suitability of expert financial advisors, and even choices between alternate dating partners all involve processing information about other people....   [tags: first impression, asch experiemnts, impressions]
:: 10 Works Cited
1765 words
(5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Spanish Food Essay - Spain, the third largest country in Europe, has a strong history and diverse culture dating back to when the Iberians first inhabited the land. The country lies between the Mediterranean Sea and Atlantic Ocean and the land ranges from mountains to meadows. Over hundreds of centuries, many different civilizations have inhabited the land influencing the people there today. From the Visigoths and Celts to the Romans of the Middle Ages, Spain has received a rich history and background. One of the strongest of its cultures is the food....   [tags: Food Culture Cultural Research Papers]
:: 4 Works Cited
878 words
(2.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Personal Experience: The Power of an Impression Essay - ... Then, there is this reminder, “Always look the best of yourself in front of others”. I found it different that her other advices because she keep telling me over and over again until I become a grown up man now. When Mom say this for the first time, I thought it was about how I should dress. I agree that I don't like to comb my hair and tuck in my school uniform shirt. Maybe that is why she was saying that to me. Turnout, I was half wrong. It is not exactly concerning about physical appearance, but personality does play important role in giving....   [tags: labeling, prophet Muhammad] 2147 words
(6.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on The Desired Effect: First Impressions - The Desired Effect: First Impressions Whether we like it or not, it takes just three seconds to come to a conclusion about someone new (Flora, 2004). First impressions strike like lightning and before you hear the thunder, you have formed a first opinion. In First Impressions Matter, “According to New York University, Graduate School of Business, people make eleven decisions about us in the first seven seconds of contact: (1) education level, (2) economic level, (3) perceived creditability and believability, (4) trustworthiness, (5) level of sophistication, (6) sexual identification, (7) level of success, (8) political background, (9) religious background, (10) ethnic background, and (11) s...   [tags: Psychology, First Impression] 655 words
(1.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Independence of Spainish Colonies in America Essay - The Spanish empire in the Americas faced huge political, social and economic problems in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The empire was stretched to its limit politically and socially with the threat of an uprising from the slave population in its empire. The economy also played a major role and the outlook was just as bleak for Spain with the American colonies drifting towards independence. Spain did not seem able to cope with its empire and had found itself in trouble with regards to mining which was at the centre of political and social systems, the military and the empire’s economic activity....   [tags: Spanish History]
:: 6 Works Cited
1171 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Taino and the Spanish Essay - The Taino and the Spanish Cristóbal Colón landed on an unknown island in the Caribbean on October 10, 1492. He planted banners in the beach claiming the land for the Spanish throne. Colón’s perceptions and interactions with the indigenous people, the Taino, sparked the events that lead to the colonization of the Americas. Colón’s perceptions of the Taino were misinterpreted by him. His misconceptions about the Taino were built from a compilation of his own expectations, readings of other explorers, and strong religious influence in Western Europe....   [tags: History Spanish Historical Papers]
:: 4 Works Cited
1223 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on History of the Battle of the Spanish Armada - History of the Battle of the Spanish Armada      The great naval battle between Spain and England in 1588- one of the most important battles in the history of the world- is known as the Battle of the Invincible Armada. But in a sense, this is a misnomer. An invincible armada is one that cannot be defeated, yet the mighty fleet of warships that Spain sent to invade England, was defeated so badly that Spain could never again rule the oceans. How was it possible that this armada, which had awed all of Europe with its size and strength, was unable to stand up against the forces of a much smaller and less powerful enemy....   [tags: Spanish Armada History Battles War Essays] 4112 words
(11.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on The Spanish Inquisition - The Spanish Inquisition was the longest and most ruthless inquiry of faith of all time. Jews, Muslims, Hindus, Christians, and all non-Catholic religions were besieged by persecution from the Spanish government. Although it was not intended, thousands of innocent Spaniards were tortured and killed once the king and queen of Spain established the Inquisition. An Inquisition is a very complex process, and at first, seemed innocuous. Inquisitions were designated to be a series of tribunals (courts) held to push non- Catholics to repent and turn to Catholicism....   [tags: Religion, Catholic Church, Spanish Government] 718 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Impression Management Essay - Impression Management Impression management is a social phenomenon that occurs in our daily life both consciously and unconsciously. “It is the act of presenting a favorable public image of oneself so that others will form positive judgments.” (Newman 184) Our first impressions of a person are always based on physical appearance and we compare them to the norms of our society. We can all admit to the initial meeting of a person and first noticing their age, gender, race, or other ascribed characteristics....   [tags: Sociology ]
:: 2 Works Cited
1820 words
(5.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
False Impression vs The Brethren Comparative Essay - Comparative Essay In this essay, a comparison between the novels False Impression, and The Brethren will be made. Although the authors captivate their audience with compelling quotes and facts about the characters, their sudden turn to misleading statistics sometimes failed to persuade the reader that what he is saying is true about some characters. In the book False Impression, the author shows how anybody who wants something bad enough will go and get it, even if it means murder. Anna Petrescu is running around the world to save her life....   [tags: Jeffrey Archer False Impression The Brethren John ] 991 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]