Preview
Preview

Micro Brewing a Moving Business Essay

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 766 words (2.2 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Though its had its shares of market ups and down micro-brewing is a stable to american beer business.

Micro-brewing took off in the early 90’s with brew pubs. People where looking for a more original taste. Micro beers took form of a affordable luxury. Furthermore people wanted to disconnect with the rapid consumerism from the 80’s with wall-mart’s and Mc Donald's showing up everywhere. People where also starting to connect with their local towns and history trying to distinguish their home town from another. Micro-breweries and brew pubs mostly local owned and operated. Likewise, they often tend to use local ingredients for the brews. Furthermore many micro-brews are marketed towards that local audience by often featuring blue collar work themes such as: steamboats, lumber mills or railroads. This is more then passive qualities, like a big brewer such as Anheuser Busch for example. These are conscious efforts. In addition, many local micro breweries sponsor local sports teams or historical events (Schnel, Steven).

Micro-brewing tends to focus on the craft and have a diverse taste. In fact, many have gone so far as to use many non-traditional ingredients such as tea’s and exotic fruits. Many even create recipes based on historical findings. Author Bilger states in an article about how dog fish head makes it’s beer that, they would go so far as to hire a archeological chemist to run an analysis a Phrygian rulers barrels to discover they made a form of beer and the brewer try to recreate it. Later while recreated the brew Bilger writes:
The mixture contained cardamom, coriander, ginger, allspice, rampe leaves, lemongrass, curry powder, and black tea, custom blended for Calagione in India. It would be added at the last ...


... middle of paper ...


... Dream." Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition 18 Mar. 2009: D1+. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 28 May 2010.

Kesmodel, David. "To Trump Small Brewers, Beer Makers Get Crafty." Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition 26 Oct. 2007: B1+. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 28 May 2010.

Khermouch, Gerry. "Microbrews With Macro Taste." BusinessWeek 3792 (2002): 82-83. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 28 May 2010

Melcher, Richard A. "THOSE NEW BREWS HAVE THE BLUES." BusinessWeek 3568 (1998): 40. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 28 May 2010

Schnell, Steven M., and Joseph F. Reese. "Microbreweries as Tools of Local Identity." Journal of Cultural Geography 21.1 (2003): 45-69. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 28 May 2010.

Scigliano, Eric. "HIP HOPS." New Republic 209.2 (1993): 9-10. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 28 May 2010.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on New Belgium Brewing: SWOT Analysis - Strengths: 1) Stakeholders Since its conception in the early 1990, the facility has been moving toward employee-owned (Gorski, 2013). 2) Environmental impact Strives to be a leader in environmental responsibility 3) Marketing The company went with a new concept the “Follow your Folly where it relied on whimsical branding that evoked nostalgic and reflective memories” (Ferrell, 2010.pg 67/473). 4) Sustainability Strives to be the leader in micro brewing while maintaining the core values it started with and had employee buy in even before it went” 100 % employee owned in2013” (Gorski, 2013)....   [tags: social responsabilities, environmental impact]
:: 6 Works Cited
1339 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Micro and Macro Environment - Environmental factors in marketing are classified into two (2) groups the macro and the micro environment. According to the investopedia Macro environment is the conditions that exist in the economy as a whole, rather than in a particular sector or region. In general, the macro environment will include tends in gross domestic product (GDP), inflation, employment, spending and monetary and fiscal policy. The macro environment is closely linked to general business cycles, as opposed to the performance of an individual business sectors....   [tags: business environment, income] 844 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Moving to St. Paul - You never know where life will take you next. Moving was one of those times for my family and I. Living up in Duluth, Minnesota and graduating from Harbor City International Charter School, was a big achievement. It was my first really big accomplishment in life, but little did I know I had much more to pursue. Moving down to St. Paul, Minnesota was my next big step after graduating. I have never moved before so I was in way over my head, and did not know what to expect. Living with my mom Deb, and having her take care of me all my life....   [tags: moving, ] 771 words
(2.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Alteration in My Life: Moving to America Essay - There are many unfair things in this world. Some people are born rich and live in luxury, while some people are born into a poor life that people are suffering. All of us may live in a different life, but we also have one common thing before that. We are all born into this world to live once and we die when the time comes. While living our lives, we all taste contentment and depression. In this process, we sometimes meet moment of enlightenment and life can change in an instant. When I was young I was an active child....   [tags: moving,] 520 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
New Belgium Brewing Company Essay - Belgium is known for a culture of high-quality beer and this concept was formulated by an electrical engineer from Fort Collins, Colorado. The electrical engineer, Jeff Lebesch, was traveling through Belgium on his fat-tired mountain bike when he envisioned the same high-quality beer in Colorado. Lebesch acquired the special strain of yeast used in Belgium and took it back to his basement in Colorado and the experimentation process was initiated. His friends were the samplers and when they approved the beer it was marketed....   [tags: Business Analysis ]
:: 4 Works Cited
1349 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Micro Ribonucleic Acid Analysis Essay - Studies are being carried out using animal models such as mice and zebra fish to understand the importance of micro RNA in vascular development. Knockdown of micro RNA 126 in zebra fish resulted in loss of vascular integrity and haemorrhage during embryonic development (65). Overexpression of micro RNA 92a (66) induced severe defects in inter segmental vessel formation in zebra fish. An independent study reported that deletion of micro RNA 126 resulted in 50 percent of mice being killed. Micro RNA 23, 24, 27 are highly present in endothelial cells and vascularized tissues....   [tags: micro rna, vascular development] 647 words
(1.8 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Micro RNA and Cardiovascular Analysis Essay - Cardiovascular disease is the leading cause of deaths worldwide and is one of the main causes of morbidity and mortality in developed countries. The pathological process of the heart is related to altered expression of genes that are important for cardiac function. Thus, micro RNAs have become known as key regulators of gene expression and the recent studies have suggested the potential importance of micro RNAs; as diagnostic markers and therapeutic targets for many big diseases including cardiac diseases....   [tags: cardiovascular, micro rna, cardiac muscle] 1023 words
(2.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Brewing Company Essay - Brewing Company History The dream of Brewing Company started in the mid nineties, when five college students, your name all had a common love for beer. Each individual challenged one another to home brew their own favorite, different type of beer. After the beer creation and a small group of investors, all five of us formed Brewing Company. Located on historic "E" Street in downtown San Bernardino, Brewing Company is a small micro brewery that has an alternative attitude and approach to brewing, we strive for flexibility, low cost, adaptability, experimentation and have exceptional customer service....   [tags: Business Analysis Management Strategy] 921 words
(2.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Brewing Change at Breckenridge Brewery Essay - Brewing Change at Breckenridge Brewery INTRODUCTION Breckenridge Brewery is a craft brewer which was established by Richard Squire. Richard turned his passion for brewing good home made beer into a lucrative business. In 1989, he started his first Breckenridge Brewery and Pub at Breckenridge which has a production capacity of 3,000 barrels per year. During his first two years in business, he sold out the brewery's annual maximum capacity. He opened a second brewery and brew pub in Denver in November 1992....   [tags: Case Study, Business Management, solution]
:: 3 Works Cited
1661 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Mountain Man Brewing Company Case Essay - Mountain Man Brewing Company Case The purpose of this case study is to explore the implications for expanding the products offered by Mountain Man Brewing Company (MMBC) from one product, Mountain Man Lager, to adding a Light version of the beer. This paper will evaluate the following: 1. The positioning statement of MMBC; including what has made MMBC successful and how MMBC distinguishes itself from competitors. I will argue that quality and authentic West Virginia family recipe created a brand that differentiates the lager from competitors....   [tags: Business Strategy management Analysis]
:: 2 Works Cited
1948 words
(5.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]