Preview
Preview

Mental Illnesses and Discrimination Essay

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 910 words (2.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Discrimination is the unjust or prejudicial treatment of different categories of people or things, especially on the grounds of race, age, or sex. It is an issue that affects many lives; and it's found nearly anywhere and almost impossible to hide. It's found in communities and spotted in the workplace. A contribution to discrimination is mental illness. Over 9.5% of the adult population in the United States will suffer from a depressive illness ("Depression"), 6% will suffer from anxiety disorder ("Mental Health Problems in the Workplace") and 40% will suffer from schizophrenia (Brohan, par. 14). Mental illness in a working environment varies from depression to anxiety to schizophrenia. Many incidents regarding mental illness often occur in the workplace because employees don't know how to handle the situation and are unfamiliar on how to manage someone with a mental disorder.
In the United States we commonly see a large population of the unemployed living on the streets. One may notice their lack of mental stability. It's possible they were fired from their job due to their conditions and were unable to find employment ever since. Discrimination is playing a major role.
I worked an average of 25-40 hours a week making a living on my own becoming independent. I knew the earning of a dollar and the struggle to make it in Los Angeles; I worked hard every day making a name for myself. Then I was diagnosed with severe depression and moderate anxiety, I didn’t let that get to me as I thought of it as another bump in the road. I didn't inform my superior because I believed I had my illness under control. However I was wrong, one day at work I had an episode in which I started slowly losing my mind, I didn't know what triggered it; ...


... middle of paper ...


... Psychiatric Rehabilitation, 2014. Web. 27 Apr. 2014.
Lugo, Salvador. Personal Interview. 21 April 2014.
"Mental Health Problems in the Workplace." Mental Health Problems in the Workplace. Harvard University, Feb. 2010. Web. 26 Apr. 2014.
United States. Office on Women’s Health. "Americans with Disabilities Act and Mental illness." Office on Women's Health. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 27 Apr. 2014. Web. 29 March 2010
United States. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. "Depression." National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion | Division of Population Health. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Department of Health and Human Services, 27 Apr. 2014. Web. 23 October 2013.
Silcox, Sarah. "Closing The Gap On Mental Health At Work." Occupational Health 66.3 (2014): 15-17. Business Source Complete. Web. 26 Apr. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Better School Programs for Mental Health - Currently in today’s society, coming out as gay is easier than admitting to a serious mental problem. This effect puts a burden on teens who suffer from problems and don’t know where to go; which led to the increase of teen suicides as seen in the media. In the average classroom size, about three of the twenty-four students have depression; not mentioning other common disorders such as bipolar disorder, panic disorder, ADHD, conduct disorder, and eating disorders. Without better programs in schools to prevent and inform about mental disorders, the current taboo on them, the bullying of students suffering, and the romanticization of diseases will continue to increase the negative effect menta...   [tags: mental health, bullying, adhd]
:: 8 Works Cited
933 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
How Stigma and Discrimination Effect Mental Illness Essay - Mental illness is a term which is used when a persons mind is affected in some way by a group of illnesses (Ministry of Health [MOH], 2012). People with mental health issues have been viewed and treated in a variety of ways within western society throughout time. Historically if an individual displayed behaviours which disrupted their function in society and defied social norms they were viewed as lunatics, insane or even cursed (Cowan, 2008; Elder & Evans & Nizette, 2009). It is from these past issues that many people still have unreasonable thoughts about mental illness; their misconceptions have created unreasonable fears and negative attitudes toward those who experience it....   [tags: Mental Illness ]
:: 23 Works Cited
2265 words
(6.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Mental Health Stigma in our Society Essay - Imagine society blamed people for being diagnosed with illnesses such as cancer. Claiming that it was their choices in life that led to such an awful disease. To make them feel guilty of a situation that was in no way deserved by them. This happens all the time to victims of mental illness, but with the added burden of shame. Considering the shocking statistic that one in four will experience some kind of mental health problem in the course of a year in the UK , why is it that we hardly hear of people suffering from mental illness....   [tags: mental disorders, equality act, depression]
:: 2 Works Cited
1157 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Mental Health of Individuals in the LGBT community Essay - The mental health of individuals in the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered) community is something that is a serious problem. For most of the history of the United States and many different parts of the world LGBT people faced much persecution and in some cases even death. This constant fear of discovery and the pressure that one feels on oneself when “in the closet” can lead to major mental distress. Research has shown that people who identify as LGBT are twice as likely to develop lifetime mood and anxiety disorders (Bostwick 468)....   [tags: discrimination, borderline personality]
:: 8 Works Cited
3253 words
(9.3 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Analysis of Mental Health in Canada Essay - Close to six million Canadians live with mental illness; let alone the thousands that are undiagnosed. Mental illness has made big headlines in the news in the recent years. The people suffering from mental illness have been faced with discrimination a caused by a stigma towards them. Mental illness can be caused by many different factors whether they are psychological or environmental. Although only twenty percent of Canadians personally experience mental illness in their lifetime, it affects everyone in their lives....   [tags: mental illness,clara hurghes, mental treatment]
:: 32 Works Cited
1572 words
(4.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Mental Illness Essay - According to Vasquez (2008), the rate of persons with mental illnesses will rise to 176 million persons in 2010, compared to 114 million persons in 1990. With the increase in this rate there will be a subsequent increase in the discrimination and abuse of these persons. Mentally ill persons may be thought of as a vulnerable group in our society and discrimination and abuse against these persons usually exist because other persons take advantage of their vulnerability. Not only are persons discriminated on a social level but they are also susceptible to physical abuse from persons who do not fully understand mental illness, or persons who belong to a culture that states that persons with men...   [tags: Rate, Discrimination, Healthcare]
:: 5 Works Cited
574 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Mental Illness and Facilities Essay - Madhouses, loony bins, insane asylums, monsters, witches, and lunatics. These are the terms that haunt both the mentally ill and the facilities that provide their treatment. The stigma of mental illness prevents persons in need of treatment from seeking help for their mental illnesses. Stigma has been reduced throughout the years due to mental health support groups and out-patient care; however, stigma is still a very prominent issue today. Stigma causes those with mental illness to feel isolated and alienated, so they may harm themselves, or be afraid to find help....   [tags: Treatment, Mental Health Support Systems]
:: 16 Works Cited
1626 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Social Stigma and the Disclosure and Diagnosis of Mental Illness in the UK - Mental illness is very common and affects thousands of people in the UK and around the world. Research shows that every year 1 in 4 British adults experience at least one mental disorder (Singleton et al, 2001, 32) and around 450 million people worldwide are estimated to have a mental health problem (World Health Organisation, 2001). Mental illness can be defined as “Medical conditions that disrupt a person’s thinking, feeling, mood, ability to relate to others and daily functioning. Serious mental illnesses include major depression, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder and borderline personality disorder” (National Al...   [tags: health, mental illness]
:: 23 Works Cited
1752 words
(5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Exploring the Impacts of Ageism in the Mental Health and Addictions Sector - Overview Ageism is defined as the discrimination or expression of prejudice towards another individual or group of individuals on the basis of age. Ageism encompasses prejudicial attitudes towards older people and the aging process, discriminatory practices against older people, and institutional practices and policies that perpetuate stereotypes about older adults (Allen, Cherry & Palmore, 2009). The majority of older adults communicate that they have experienced some form of ageist behaviour, (Allen, Cherry & Palmore, 2009), and for older adults living with addiction or mental health issues, this experience of stigma is compounded....   [tags: Mental Health Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1518 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Discrimination Makes African-Americans Stronger Essay - In the past, research has shown that the black-American community’s exposure to social inequality and discrimination has had a negative impact on their mental health.  To summarize this general theory, Dr. Kwame McKenzie states, “In the USA, interpersonal discrimination has been associated with increased rates of hypertension, depression and stress” (Chakraborty).  Despite the several social and technological advances that the United States has made over the past few decades, we have not necessarily freed ourselves from the constraints of racism.  In a 2009 study evaluating the rates of perceived discrimination among blacks, 60.9% claimed to have experienced day-to-day racism (Keyes).  Past...   [tags: Mental Health Black Community 2014]
:: 8 Works Cited
1510 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]