Preview
Preview

Is Cell Phone Communication Secure? Essay

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 1053 words (3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Is Cell Phone Communication Secure?

According to a 2010 survey by the CDC (Center For Disease Control) 26.6% of US households use only cell phones at home (Blumberg). With such a large amount of people depending on cellular for communications it is important to understand the security risks they face.

Cell phone communication is not completely secure but the risk depends on a variety of variables, user habits, interception points, and user vigilance.

Legally no one is supposed to listen to cell phone calls but it does happen. In April of 1994 the Federal Communications Commission “ruled no radio scanners may be manufactured or imported into the U.S. that can pick up frequencies used by cellular telephones, or that can be readily altered to receive such frequencies. (47 CFR Part 15.37(f))(Fact Sheet). “Another federal law, the Counterfeit Access Device Law, was amended to make it illegal to use a radio scanner "knowingly and with the intent to defraud" to eavesdrop on wire or electronic communication. (18 USC 1029) Penalties for the intentional interception of cordless and cellular telephone calls range from fines to imprisonment depending on the circumstances. (18 USC 2511, 2701)” (Fact Sheet).

User Security

Two of the most common avoidable breaches to secure calling have to do with the ease of use and portability of cell phones. As people have become more comfortable with holding conversations in public many people talk on the cell phone as if they are alone with no one able to hear. They may not be thinking about security when they talk to someone asking for verification by using their Social Security number, birth date, or other personal items. Another common issue is pocket calling. An article in In...


... middle of paper ...


...ion (EFF). “What Can I Do To Protect Myself?”. The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF). Surveillance Self-Defence. Web. 29 October 2011
“Fact Sheet 2: Wireless Communications: Voice and Data Privacy.” Privacy Rights Clearinghouse. Revised August 2011. Web. 29 August 2011.
Grimes, Roger A. “Unintended cell phone calls put privacy at risk.” Info-world. 15 June 20101. Web. 29 October 2011.
Valentino, Vishnu. “Vodafone Hacked – Root Password published” Vishnu Valentino: Blog. Web. 29 August 2011.
Walker, Michael. “On the Security of 3GPP Networks.” International Association for Cryptologic Research. Web. 29 October 2011.
Walter, Vic and Krista Kjellman. “Can You Hear Me Now?” ABC News Investigative. 5 Dec 2006. Web. 29 October 2011.
Wikipedia.

Zetter, Kim. ”Hacker Spoofs Cell Phone Tower to Intercept Calls.” Wired. 31 July 2010. Web. 29 October 2011.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on The Effects of Being Addicted to Your Cell Phone - Have you ever wondered why you keep staring at that phone every 5 seconds. Some people never let go of their phones, and carry it around wherever they go. Cell phone addiction has plagued millions of people, ages ranging from 11 to 57 (Gorily 1). Due to the mass addiction to cell phones, it has affected our behavior, our economy and including our environment. The younger generations are losing communication skills due to their addiction to their cell phones. Personally I do not own a cell phone, but from my personal experience in playing video games it made me lose social skills....   [tags: behavior, communication, economy] 934 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Mobile Advertising : A New Communication Media - Mobile Advertising : A New Communication Media Mobile marketing is becoming the most productive and cost effective medium for reaching a highly desirable demographic. It purposes are numerous : canvassing, building up customer loyalty and of course selling. The mobile phone is a good tool to exchange information with customers with several medium : Small Message Service (SMS), Mini Message Service (MMS), video MMS or internet. Today, it is also possible to pay with your mobile phone and some people think that mobile-phones will replace credit-cards or loyalty-cards in a next future....   [tags: Mobile Phones Cell Phones Technology] 566 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Revolutionized Communication: The Cell Phone - Revolutionized Communication: The Cell Phone The emerging technologies of the century have greatly affected how people interact personally and professionally. From 1990 to 2010, mobile phone users grew from 12 million to over 4 billion worldwide; in fact, almost 90 percent of households in America have a mobile phone (Wortham). The creation of the mobile phone marked a new era for America and the world. Phones have evolved from the “bag phone” to the BlackBerry, and will forever change the way a society communicates....   [tags: Communications]
:: 4 Works Cited
1610 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Communication and Technology in the Business Organization Essay - The explosion of technology innovations within recent years has created a multitude of new and exciting ways for companies to conduct business. We now have technologies such as robotic manufacturing, electronic mail, online videoconferencing, and global networks to connect everyone and everything. Small and medium businesses are now able to cross all traditional boundaries that limited them in the past. Technology has fundamentally altered the way businesses are structured and changed the ways in which managers perform their duties....   [tags: Technology]
:: 4 Works Cited
1700 words
(4.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Computer Based Technology Essay examples - ... Now with the touch of a key you can do math or put together something that would have involved you taking hours, day’s even weeks and months to do in a matter of a sec. I can understand the great significance of being able to accomplish something with the ability of computers. There is no doubt in my mind that we as humans may need such technology, and may not even know it. In an article in how computers influence us today study’s show “it is a place where growing segments of humanity congregate and take part in what many call the “WORLD’S LARGEST CONVERSATION”....   [tags: communication, tv, cell phones]
:: 4 Works Cited
891 words
(2.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Privacy: Security, Confidentiality, or Convenience? - Privacy: Security, Confidentiality, or Convenience. INTRODUCTION The evolution of the Internet started from the department of defense's project, and rapidly distributed to world wide. With the rise of the Internet age comes with the benefits and the concerns. Because of the easeness to communicate information and displaying data, the first amendment needs to be applied to this communication channel. How are we using and communicating information without offending and harm others. Since the evolution of the Internet, there has been acts from Congress to regulate the use the Internet such as the Communications Decency Act in 1996 and the Child Online Protection Act in 1998....   [tags: Internet Privacy Secure Cyberspace Essays]
:: 9 Works Cited
3152 words
(9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Our Cell Phones, Our Selves by Christine Rosen Essay - Since the Industrial Revolution, technology has become an essential tool in human life. Technology impacted lives in society by offering a way to “multitask” by using two or more technological devices. Technology and internet offers the facility to do homework faster through Google, while listening to music on Pandora or YouTube. Sometimes, you can even talk on the phone while you listen to music and do homework. All you need in order to multitask is to have all the technological devices needed....   [tags: Technology, Impacts, Society]
:: 6 Works Cited
1761 words
(5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay Communication Sparks Change - Technology in the twenty-first century has spawned a host of new inventions from cellular advances, to the latest iPad2. With each new advancement we broaden our minds ability also our social behaviors by embracing this unconventional modernization, we becoming even more knowledgeable and skillfully fit than in the past. I can recall having to drive to my local community college just to acquire my class schedule. I compiled a list of acceptable classes after careful examination. I then proceeded to drive back to the college administration office only to grab a number; sit and wait to be called by the next available admission assistant....   [tags: Social Media ]
:: 2 Works Cited
1238 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay Technology: The Invention of The Cell Phone - Technology has been a part of Americans’ lives for several years and continues to improve. It has given society an easier way to communicate with family and friends with one simple device, the cell phone. A cellular phone is the most common type of technology used by all groups of people including parents, teenagers, and even young children. The number of people who own a cell phone also continues to increase, causing a huge distraction on society. Cell phones seem to own a person as they depend on their phone for almost everything....   [tags: communication, smart phone, apps]
:: 8 Works Cited
1421 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Camera Phones Trigger Controversy Essay - Camera Phones Trigger Controversy When Catherine Zeta Jones appeared in a television commercial, she was one of the first to advertise one of the newest additions to a cell phone: the camera phone. The purpose of the commercial was to show how convenient, compact and useful such an apparatus could turn out to be. The theory is quite simple, basically combining a cell phone and a digital camera into one gadget. Major cellular companies like Nokia, Samsung and Sanyo observed how popular digital cameras were becoming, and decided to integrate it with one device most Americans find a necessity and not a luxury; the cell phone....   [tags: Communication Technology Cell Phones Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
2801 words
(8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]