Preview
Preview

High School Dropouts: Finishing School or Not? Essay

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1629 words (4.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

When a person drops out of high school, there are many reasons behind their decision. Whether it is a matter of not having enough money to attend high school, or the person just does not have the desire to attend. Behind all these apprehensions, there are many people suffering since they abandoned high school. In Sanchez’s article, “A High School Dropout’s Midlife Hardships,” he reveals the hardships of a high school dropout. Kenny Buchanan, a 44-year old from Pennsylvania, withdrew from high school when he was 18. At that time, he was only in the ninth grade because he had flunked twice. Kenny had no ambition in attending school anymore. He dropped out and found a full-time job at Burger King. Back then, anyone could get a job and if they quit they could acquire the job back the next day without even bearing an education. In this time though, things do not evolve that way. An interview or the job will not be granted if a person does not obtain their high school diploma or GED. About two years ago, Kenny expressed his desire go back to school to achieve his GED. To this day, Buchanan still does not have a job, but if he is hired by an aluminum plant in the next month, his family will have health insurance for the first time and will be able to have enough to live on. Waiting for a job, Buchanan ponders his mistakes. ‘“Dropping out of school [was] one of the biggest mistakes I ever done...What I did, I did, but I can make things better,” exclaims Buchanan (qtd. in Sanchez 3). Now that he retains his GED, being a high school dropout has faded from his life. Even though high school dropout rates denote to be a problem, there are many solutions to fix this dilemma.

As previously stated, dropout rates are a rising problem in our w...


... middle of paper ...


...and even mentoring/ tutoring just to name a few. For people, like Kenny, this may have persuaded him to stay in school longer. Although high school drop out rates are a problem, there are many solutions to fix this.



Works Cited

“15 Effective Strategies Explained.” Schargel Consulting Group. 17 December 2007. Web. 20 October 2011.

“Alternative Schooling.” National Dropout Prevention Center/Network. Web. 20 October 2011.

Cowan, Emery. “Program connects students to school.” The Durango Herald. 3 November 2011. Web. 20 October 2011.

“Dropout Prevention.” Soltions for America. Web. 20 October 2011.

Sanchez, Claudio. “A High School Dropout’s Midlife Hardships.” NPR Stories. 28 July 2011. Web. 21 October 2011.

Swanson, Christopher B. "Progress Postponed." Education Week Vol. 29, No. 34. 10 Jun 2010: 22-24. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 21 Oct 2011.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Don't Drop Out Of High School Essay - Don’t Drop Out of High School Across the nation, 8.1 percent of students drop out of high school every year (Education Week). Studies have shown that not graduating from high school leads to more bad choices in one’s future. After one drops out of high school, it hurts their future occupation, their chances of getting in trouble with the law increases, and it hurts our country’s image. While you’re growing up as a child and as an adolescent, you have dream after dream for your future. As you age through life and school, your dreams seem to become harder to reach....   [tags: causes and effects of not finishing education] 554 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Choice to Stay in School Essay example - I was always taught that if I did not stay in school, then I would not be successful. In some cases, people get lucky and find a decent job where they can live comfortably or at least out of poverty. But generally that is not the circumstance. Staying in school is one of the first most important choices you make because finishing with a diploma is the beginning of your career path. Students have numerous reasons for not completing school but there are just as many to stay in school but chose not to realize them....   [tags: dropouts, education, diploma, tips] 1134 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Lack of School Flexibility: Is This What Led to High School Dropouts? Essay - ... When interest is lost by a student one can pretty much say that they are gone. “The streets” and the school system are in competition and “the streets” are winning right about now. When “the streets” are more interesting to students, they begin to stray away from the school system. Many high school students have taken that step into adulthood. This could mean that they have had children of their own or have been put in situations to act as head of household (Azzam 91-93). The school system is not structured to fit the circumstances of these students....   [tags: increasing high school graduation rates]
:: 3 Works Cited
543 words
(1.6 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
High School Dropout Rate Essay - High School Dropout Rate Expectations of today’s educational qualifications for high school students are different than it was in the past. It is not uncommon to hear about a student who did not graduate from school. As shown in table 1, 97 students from Stanly County dropped out of school in the 2011- 2012 school year (“Grade 7-13 Dropout Counts and Rates (pdf.62kb)”). Last school year 3.01 percent of North Carolina’s high school students dropped out of school according to the 2011-12 Consolidated Data Report, as a result the total number of students who dropped out of high school in the 2012 year is 13,488....   [tags: graduate, high school students]
:: 11 Works Cited
2042 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Decreasing Drop Out Rates Essay - Decreasing the Drop-Outs (draft) Students dropping out from school are among one of the larger problems faced in the country. It is a serious problem that is often ignored by the schools and districts, and can offer even simple solutions to keep kids in the classroom. From the personal view of a normal student, school is stressful—but it’s supposed to be a challenge. It’s practically divided into few categories: kids who strive to learn and be successful and kids who don’t wish to have anything to do with school....   [tags: Students, High School, Drop Outs, Education]
:: 1 Works Cited
1115 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
High School Dropouts Essay - ... Programs should be designed to mentor between students and teachers, and have school-to-home communication. Bartos later states to make a plan, the goal is to encourage students and teach them what’s important one state has not met the national high school graduation rate goal (Introduction to High School Dropouts: At issue 1). Most high school dropouts see the result of their decision to leave school when they go broke and their wallets are empty (High Dropout Rates Negatively Affect Students and the Nation 1) Several causes of high school dropout rates are lack of encouragement and motivation, and having too much freedom....   [tags: graduation, higher education decrease] 881 words
(2.5 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Essay on High School Dropouts - Working two jobs, paying bills, and trying to live a good life are what most dropouts go through. Education is a key factor in succeeding in life. However, not all students get to complete their high school and continue on to a college. Completing high school and getting a degree from college is the ticket to a better lifestyle. As we look around us, people are still living and paying off their bills even as dropouts from high school. However, they are living at a hand-to-mouth situation. Most dropouts probably work several jobs to just pay off their bills and support themselves....   [tags: education, student, policy, Texas]
:: 9 Works Cited
1594 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
High School Dropouts Essay - Students’ dropping out of high school are a big problem all over the United States. The reason it is such a big problem is that students that don’t graduate are far worse off than those students who do get their high school diplomas. Some of the things that hurt most high school dropouts are they earn less money, they are more likely to be unhappy and unhealthy in life, they are less likely to be married, and more likely to be in jail than those students who do graduate from high school. (Messacar n.p)....   [tags: students, education system, economy, future]
:: 5 Works Cited
1593 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Factors Contributing to the High School Drop Out Rate Essay - I remember being in 9th grade and getting my first report card. As I looked towards the bottom it would always show the amount students that were a part of my class. I clearly remember the number being 729.All of a sudden by my sophomore and junior year the number decreased more and more. Before I knew it, I was sitting at graduation practice where my principle announced how many students would be graduating. The number was around 520 and I was extremely shocked. Questions seemed to roam around my head like why did we go from 729 student’s on the first day to 520 actually graduating from high school that year....   [tags: education, high school dropout]
:: 5 Works Cited
1585 words
(4.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Teen Pregnancy Should Not Be Allowed in High School Essay - ... Its important for teen to stay in school its probably much easier for them to drop out or either the school tells them to they also might feel embarrassed to go to school due to the rumors about her being pregnant some of the teen girls get bullied over the internet being pregnant at an early age some feel worthless and regret what they have done at an early age the rate is going up due to the drop outs its 46% of girls who drop out of high school it went up since 2001 teenagers should not be allowed to get pregnant at an early age, i feel that it's too childish to get pregnant and take care of a kid that your mother or any of your family doesn't want to take care of it ,girls sh...   [tags: school dropouts, suicide, baby] 1197 words
(3.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]