Preview
Preview

General Education Courses Are A Waste of Time and Money Essay

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1573 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Students go to college in search of knowledge, a new lifestyle, and the hope of a job after graduation. For many young adults, college is a rite of passage into an independent, mature new lifestyle. Not only is higher education a rite of passage, for some, it is also an opportunity to have a better life. Overall, college is a wonderful part of many people’s lives, yet the way the college education system is conducted wastes students time and money. College is basically composed of two parts: general education classes and major specific classes. General education courses are the source of wasted time and money, and should not be required of students. A few of the problems associated with general education classes are that they are basically a repeat of high school, unfortunately they can be the demise of students, they are costly, and they waste time.
The transition from high school to college is supposed to be freeing and exciting for students, yet general education requirements make it the opposite. Jaime Wandschneider, writer for Iowa State Daily, says, “From the start of our first semester, general education classes fill the credit count towards our graduation. These courses are supposed to turn young, fresh college students into well-rounded adults”. General education classes do exactly what he says: they fill: they are fillers: somewhat educational and very pointless. Many of the first and second year courses feel like a repeat from high school. As a freshman, I am taking algebra, and I can attest completely that this class is absolutely pointless to me. Does it makes sense that a freshman in college would be taking the same math as a freshman in high school? No, absolutely not, but that is the case for me, and unfor...


... middle of paper ...


...eat of high school, potentially detrimental to a student’s study plan, and a waste of money and time.




Works Cited
Anderson, Nancy. “13 Ways College Students Waste Money and Opportunities.” Forbes. Forbes.com, 8 August 2013. Web. 24 March 2014.
Pracz, Alyssa. “General Education Courses are a Waste of Time and Money.” Northern Star. Northern Star Online, 13 April 2011. Web. 24 March 2014.
U.SDebtClock.org. Durst Organization, n.d. Web. 25 March 2014.
Wandschneider, Jaime. “General Education Requirements Waste Students' Time.” Iowa State Daily. Iowa State, 29 January 2014. Web. 24 March 2014.
Welt, Bill. “Gen Eds Waste Time and Money.” The Western Courier. Western Illinois University, 30 January 2013. Web. 24 March 2014.
Zavislak, Alyssa. “Are General Education Requirements a Waste?” The Cornellian. Cornell University, 10 October 2013. Web. 24 March 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Liberal Education: A Study in Thought Essay - Some have recently argued that a liberal education, as opposed to a vocational education, is a waste of time, money and effort because so much of these are spent on the pursuit of knowledge not at all relevant to the chosen major. As Bob Newman of Paradigm Media states, "We all know that career colleges and trade schools get a bad rep in the education industry. For many, they’re viewed as the “other option” or Plan B. What surprises me about these stereotypes is that the data available shows that career/trade school grads can make way more in the long run than students with a Bachelors or even Masters degree.” The common consensus is that college is a mere ticket to the corporate world of...   [tags: Education]
:: 7 Works Cited
2217 words
(6.3 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on How To Reduce The Cost Of College Education - One of the biggest problems facing students today is the fact that college expenses such as tuition, books, dorms and other items required to obtain a degree are becoming more and more expensive every year. Many students find that the little amount of income available is not sufficient to provide a stable source of payment for tuition. In addition, people are losing their jobs to a greater extent. According to U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics, the unemployment rate in California rises from 6.4 % to 12.1 % over the past seven months....   [tags: higher Education, higher learning] 759 words
(2.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Cyber Age of Education Essay - When I am asked to look back at my education, I come to realize that my generation is participating in a changing segment in the history of education. Starting school from pen and paper, my generation has gone through the period when education was about static textbooks and handwritten papers but we are now in the movement toward a new cyber age. We have come from a history where religious and ethnic culture played a major influence in education but now our advancing technologies shift the major contributors to computers and electronic media....   [tags: Technology] 1911 words
(5.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
General Education Courses: No Need for Them Essay - ... Allysa Pracz, Oral Communications teacher at Northern Illinois University, holds a just and honest opinion that General Educations classes are useless because they may have nothing to do with one’s major. For instance, a college algebra course would obviously have no effect on a student studying Creative Writing. The only question left to answer would be, why do such requirements exist. It could also be understood that courses required in fact focus on what students should have learned in high school....   [tags: higher tuition, community college]
:: 4 Works Cited
1116 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Liberal Arts Education - When entering into college as a freshman students are required to take some form of a freshman year experience course. Many students are under the impression that this course will be a waste of time and most are clueless as to what the course will entail. Being in this course throughout the semester has proven those notions that the course is a waste of time to be absolutely false. One of the primary topics discussed during this course is the idea of the liberal arts education. This is an idea that an education should not only tech one the skills necessary to be successful in a given career field but provide the skills necessary for individuals to be more productive members of society....   [tags: humanities, natural sciences] 824 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Validity of Massively Open Online Courses Essay - The rapidly advancing innovations in technology have lead to many changes in the way things are done in the world. One innovation has been the usage of the internet for educational purposes. Many schools nowadays give the opportunity for students to take online courses. There are even some schools that take place exclusively online, such as Connections Academy, for K-12 schooling. I attended this school for the seventh grade, when I lived in Ohio. It enabled me to be able to complete most of my course work at any time of the day, and even work far ahead of schedule....   [tags: courses, internet, students, education]
:: 2 Works Cited
545 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay on Higher Education - Higher education is optional, but to enter a respectable career, one must continue their education in order to achieve his financial and/or personal goals. Teenagers who attend college use their extended schooling to further obtain knowledge. The primary objective of higher education is to enhance one’s abilities for his future. A student can learn from school in numerous ways, but liberal education is not a way to attract students into further and higher education. However, students can learn a lot more through experiences that have affected their personal lives....   [tags: essays research papers] 1011 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Canadian Education: Political Influence Behind High School Courses Essay - ... People with Education also noticed “wide variations” with the schools: “In the schools with the highest percentage of applied math students, 58% of students were enrolled in applied math. In the schools with the lowest percentage of applied math students, only 10% of students were enrolled in applied math. (People of Education, 2003, p. 3 The report went to point out that family income was one of many factors that may influence their applied course selection in the long run. “Schools where the average family income is $60,000, more than half of students are enrolled in applied math while in schools where families earn an average of $110,000 a year, fewer than 10 per cent of students a...   [tags: ontario high schools, applied courses]
:: 13 Works Cited
1611 words
(4.6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Inadequate Secondary Education in the United States Essay - Inadequate Secondary Education in the United States ‘Tis education forms the common mind; Just as the twig is bent the tree’s inclined. Pope – Moral Essays Two years ago, I used to work at a photo shop in downtown Philadelphia. Except for me, the only foreigner, there were five Americans working there. Once, we talked about the American life in the beginning of the twentieth century. To support my opinion, I used an example from a short story called “The Gift of the Magi” by a famous American writer O....   [tags: Educational Learning School Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
923 words
(2.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
College Education vs. Technical Training Essay - College Education vs. Technical Training A few years ago, the DeVry technical institute released a commercial that compared two brothers in their educational pursuits. The younger brother started school at DeVry and graduated in two years. The older brother had chosen college and was still stuck in his dorm room studying history while his younger brother worked on the future. The question this commercial presented was obvious, why waste all that time in a university learning trivial facts which don’t apply to the real world when you can bypass it and still learn an important skill....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Educating Essays] 1329 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]