Preview
Preview

Extradition Argumentative Paper

:: 14 Works Cited
Length: 769 words (2.2 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The world’s earliest extradition agreement was created in the year 1259 BCE by Ramessess ll of Egypt and Hittites. The agreement obligated both Ramessess and Hittites to send criminals and political figures back that have tried to flee to the other side. Extraditions have since grown to be bilateral agreements between nations in transferring criminals from one nation to another. Extradition is requested when an individual commits a crime within the country that is seeking extradition. The request of the extradition includes: the description of the individual, information on the case and the laws pertaining to the case. Each country must agree to extradite to each other for the process to take place. Canada only has fifty-one Canadian treaties with other countries. This Paper will argue that extradition laws in Canada are too slack due to Section 7 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the need to seek assurances that the death penalty will not be used.
Section 7 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms states each person has the "right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice” thus it is often used as a deterrent so that individuals do not have to be extradited to another country. In the following case, United States v. Burns, Glen Sebastian Burns and Atif Ahmad Rafay-two Canadian citizens-were wanted in Washington of the United States for the murder of Rafay’s parents and sister in 1994. In the subsequent year they were arrested in British Columbia and The United States started the extradition proceedings. The case made it to the Supreme Court of Canada and Burns and Ratify argued that their mobility rights under Section ...


... middle of paper ...


...mment on Canada v. Fischbacher." Gaming Law Review and Economics Jan.-Feb. 2010: 43+. Academic OneFile. Web. 23 Dec. 2013.
McClearn, Matthew. "THE LONG WAY HOME." Canadian Business. 15 Aug. 2005: 28. eLibrary. Web. 07 Dec. 2013.
Roach, Kent. September 11: Consequences for Canada. Montreal Etc.: McGill-Queen's UP, 2003. 100-01. Print.
Roach, Kent W. "Section 7 of the Charter and national security: rights protection and proportionality versus deference and status." Ottawa Law Review Winter 2011: 337+. General OneFile. Web. 28 Dec. 2013.
"Summary." Supreme Court of Canada. N.p., 03 Dec. 2012. Web. 29 Dec. 2013.
"Treaty on Extradition Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America." MLA. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 Dec. 2013.
Westcott, Kathryn, and Vanessa Barford. "10 Things about Extradition." BBC News. BBC, 26 June 2013. Web. 23 Dec. 2013



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Issue of International Extradition Essays - Introduction In the last century international extradition has become a significant part of our criminal justice system here in the United States. With the increasing ease of transportation around the world, felons are able to flee the country and hide from the law overseas. Because of that our government has to find a way to get them back so they can be accounted for their actions. That is where extradition comes into play. Extradition treaties have been placed between countries so that if a felon flees to said country, if requested they will hand over the felon....   [tags: Effects, Struggles, Morality]
:: 7 Works Cited
1017 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Ukranian Crisis: Extradition of Viktor Yanukovich Essay - The Ukrainian crisis was a result of social upheaval against the former president, Mr. Yanukovich, who decided to pull out of the association with the European Union (BBC News, 2014). The upheaval that lasted for about two months resulted in more than 100 people killed (NY Times, 2014). In February 22 Mr. Yanukovich disappears and the opposition takes control over the government in Ukraine (BBC News, 2014). Upon learning that Mr. Yanukovich is currently residing in Kazakhstan, the new government of Ukraine requests from Kazakhstan the extradition of the overthrown president, who is accused of crime against the Ukrainian citizenry....   [tags: european union, crime, kazakhstan]
:: 5 Works Cited
1358 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Writing Persuasive or Argumentative Essays - In persuasive or argumentative writing, we try to convince others to agree with our facts, share our values, accept our argument and conclusions, and adopt our way of thinking. Elements toward building a good persuasive essay include * establishing facts to support an argument * clarifying relevant values for your audience (perspective) * prioritizing, editing, and/or sequencing the facts and values in importance to build the argument * forming and stating conclusions * "persuading" your audience that your conclusions are based upon the agreed-upon facts and...   [tags: Writing an Essay] 438 words
(1.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Argumentative Paper: Legalizing Euthanasia - Most people do not like to talk or even think about death; much less the topic of ending one’s own life. However, for some, death is a desired alternative to living in agony. Euthanasia has been a topic of debate since antiquity, and both sides stand firm on their beliefs. The right to choose death is illegal in most countries. I believe in people’s freedom to do what they please with their own bodies. The basic right of liberty is what America was founded on. Euthanasia should be a legal option....   [tags: Assisted Suicide]
:: 4 Works Cited
1725 words
(4.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Short Story, Paper - Have you ever dreamt of your dream house. Have you ever wanted to invest in the stock market. Have you ever dreamt of winning a large sum of money in a short time. If so, I strongly advise you to read the short story ‘Paper’. In the story, Tay Soon and his wife dreamt of owning a big house so they tried their best to collect their money to buy it. As the stock market was growing interest at that time, they decided to invest some money in the market so as to pay their house. Luckily, they won the money for their house in the market....   [tags: Essaay on Paper] 741 words
(2.1 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Summer Term Reflection Paper - Summer Term Reflection Paper As I look back on the beginning of my journey to a better career and life I can remember the weeks and months leading up to the first day of class. I remember visiting the college and speaking with an advisor to decide exactly what it was I wanted to do, and the steps it would take for me to reach my goals. I recall talking with the advisor about the requirements for my General Education credits as well my need to take a preparatory class for algebra because I scored to low on the placement exam to be allowed to take the full college level math....   [tags: Reflection Paper] 995 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Aspects of an Argumentative Essay - Aspects of an Argumentative Essay The argumentative essay is an essay in which you argue a point -- an essay in which you prove a thesis. The argumentative essay starts with an introduction. The introduction is the gateway into your paper, and it serves two roles. The introduction should grab your reader's attention and let him or her know what your paper will be about. Your thesis must also let your reader know what your essay will be about. By the time he or she finishes your conclusion, the reader should know what you intend to write about, what you think of that subject, and what specific statement you intend to prove....   [tags: Writing School Papers English Composition Essays] 868 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Death Penalty and the Extradition of Terrorists Essay - The Death Penalty and the Extradition of Terrorists Should terrorists be extradited to face capital punishment in the country a crime was perpetrated in. This question has been frequently repeated, especially after the events of September eleventh. Everyone seems to have a different opinion as to whether or not the death penalty is a viable punishment. There are also exhaustive discussions regarding who should judge the proceedings. I believe that if an offender commits a crime in a foreign land, and is apprehended, then they should be charged in and be subject to the laws of that country....   [tags: Essays Papers]
:: 2 Works Cited
1382 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Terrorist’s Extradition Loophole Essay - The Terrorist’s Extradition Loophole Most extradition treaties between states call for an exemption for crimes that are political in nature. The political offense exemption was originally created to allow states to protect those that another state may wish to prosecute for crimes that are politically committed against that government. R. Stuart Phillips, a Judge Advocate in the United States Army, distinguishes between “pure” political offenses and “relative” political offenses. “Pure” political offenses are directed specifically against the state and do not directly affect civilians....   [tags: Terrorists Terrorism Terror Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1073 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Argumentative Essay: We Must Eliminate Animal Testing - The practice of using animals for testing has been a controversial issue over the past thirty years. Animal testing is a morally debated practice. The question is whether animal testing is morally right or wrong. This paper will present both sides of this issue as well as my own opinion. Approximately two to four million animals have been used in safety tests. Safety tests are conducted with a wide range of chemicals and products, including drugs, vaccines, cosmetics, household cleaners, and packing materials....   [tags: Argumentative Example Essays] 613 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]