Preview
Preview

Essay on Empacho: Gastrointestinal Problems or simply Indigestion

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 1424 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

What is Empacho?

Empacho, when related to gastrointestinal problems is, in a sense, a form of indigestion and one of the most common folk ailments in a Hispanic culture10. By some people it could also be more of a belief and described as a blockage of the stomach and intestines, as a ball of sticky undigested food, or foods that are hard to digest. This can result in symptoms such as pain, nausea, vomiting, bloating, etcetera.

This being said, there are several different forms of empacho. One of these forms is empacho seco, a “dry” sickness. Generally meaning there is a lack of diarrhea and appetite11. Another form is Empacho Aguado which is its “wet” form. Where there can be diarrhea, fever, and so on. There is another version of this illness known as Emapcho Feurte. Meaning it is the “strong” from of empacho or in many translations the “embarrassment.” This form could contain symptoms from both of the previous mentioned types. However, this particular strain, could be much more life threatening.
In addition to affecting the gastrointestinal tract empacho can also involve the pelvic region of the body. When it affects the pelvic area it can result in problems such as vaginitis8. This occurs when there, “Is an inflammation of the vagina that can result in discharge, itching and pain.”12 Symptoms of vaginitis consist of, but are not limited to, pain during urination, discolored vaginal discharge, and intense vaginal itching.
However, with this element of the conditioned mentioned, the focus of this paper will be on empacho as it affects the stomach and intestines while also looking at the various treatments for it.

How is empacho treated?

There are several ways that empacho of the gastrointestinal tract can be treated. Th...


... middle of paper ...


...ters for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/tips/folkmedicine.htm. Accessed March 29, 2014.
8 Dashe A. Spanish for Health Professionals Notes: Ser, Estar, Empacho
9 Jockers, D, Chiropractic Helps Digestive Disorders July 2010 Available from: http://www.naturalnews.com/029164_chiropractic_digestive_disorders.html (Accessed April 2014).
10Bogue, H, Folk and conventional medicine is collaboration possible? October 2011 Available from: http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Folk+and+conventional+medicine.+is+collaboration+possible%3f-a0270373126 (Accessed April 2014).
11 Farlex, January 2011 Available from: http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/empacho (Accessed April 2014).
12Mayo Clinic Staff, Vaginitis March 2014 Available from: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/vaginitis/basics/definition/con-20022645 (Accessed April 2014).



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Barium Sulfate and the Gastrointestinal Tract - Abstract Over the years barium sulfate has proven to be a successful contrast agent for examination of the gastrointestinal tract. Though the road to discovery was long and relentless at times, when it finally found its niche in medicine it was only to the advantage of the physicians and patients today. There are many new diagnostic tools in radiology today that have led to the questioning of barium studies’ place in medicine and whether it will remain there long. And to what cost it will take to keep barium around, only time will tell some say....   [tags: Gastrointestinal Tract, Radiology]
:: 9 Works Cited
2028 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay about Consultation on a High School Student with Gastrointestinal Problems - The patient is a 16-year-old high school student who is referred to "through not any gastrointestinal problems. Vomiting occurs as a result of the nausea. This has been going for about 3 1/2 years." This story is complex and complicated. When the patient turned about 12 she started having nausea and vomiting, which began about 4 days before her period. Her menses were regular until about 6 months ago. Because of the premenstrual vomiting she went on Tigan, Elixir, and Donnatal. This was tried for about 3 months and did not help....   [tags: Consultation, patients, medical, doctors, ] 501 words
(1.4 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Gastrointestinal in an Infant: Case Study Essay - In order to come up with a list of appropriate differential diagnoses, essentially I needed to carry out a good consultation, in the form of history taking and physical examination, with the purpose of obtaining as much relevant information and significant findings as possible. To do so, it was necessary that I communicated effectively with HG’s parents and obtained their consent prior to examining their child, as the patient, being an infant, understandably was unable to talk. In terms of medical informatics, I acquired additional information with regards to HG’s medical history from his medical records....   [tags: Healthcare, Testing] 1128 words
(3.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Relationship Between Endoscopy Results and Serum Tumor Marker Levels in Patients with Dyspepsia - INTRODUCTION Gastrointestinal disorders are common diseases and can be diagnosed by endoscopy as a simple and effective procedure. Endoscopy has become a gold standard diagnostic procedure. The main purpose of endoscopist is early diagnosis or exclude gastrointestinal cancer, and to present other gastrointestinal diseases. Carcinoembryonic antigen (CEA), carbohydrate antigen 19-9 (CA 19-9) and Alpha fetoprotein (AFP) are used as a marker of gastrointestinal malignancies [1]. CA 19-9 and CEA are antigens related with most of epithelial originated cancers including gastrointestinal cancers [2]....   [tags: gastrointestinal health]
:: 17 Works Cited
1088 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Anatomy: The Gastrointestinal Tract Essay - ... Doe to enjoy this disgustingly juicy burger. Taste buds are located near the back of the tongue but if you would like me to get technical with words, they are located at the posterior lateral area of the tongue. I can make a bet that some of you never knew that our tongue helps in the chewing, swallowing and ingestion of food while also helping clean our teeth. I know. Very weird right. Momentarily, we will begin accelerating downwards to the alimentary canal colliding in to various juices which actually contain enzymes....   [tags: alimentary canal, unhealthy food] 707 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Practical Report - Infections of Gastrointestinal Tract - Introduction :- Many children around the world , especially in third world countries suffer many bacterial infection of the gastrointestinal system as a result of lack of awareness and the spread of the disease in the less attention to hygiene and the environment . In order to explain this word gastrointestinal tract infection , especially the stomach and intestines , it can result from infection by bacteria or virus or other parasites (1) . Some of the causes of inflammation as a result of eating food poisoning , especially meat and eggs ....   [tags: Medical, Case Study, solution] 1030 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Indigestion Tablets Investigation - Indigestion Tablets Investigation Aim: My aim of this investigation is to find out the composition of tablets which are for indigestion and compare their prices. I will find out the indigestion tablet which reacts and dissolves quickly with Hydrochloric Acid and produces more bubbles. Introduction: Indigestion, also known as upset stomach or dyspepsia, is discomfort or a burning feeling in the upper abdomen, often accompanied by nausea, abdominal bloating, belching, and sometimes vomiting....   [tags: Papers] 3440 words
(9.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Was Jesus Simply a Good Man? Essay - Was Jesus Simply a Good Man. I feel that to truly understand the significance of this quotation we should define the real meaning of the word "good." This quotation raises the issues of Jesus simply as a man who was good or that it emphasises the special relationship between Jesus and God. (Jesus was often referred to as the Son of God.) I feel that these are the two main ways that we can interpret the quotation. To look at Jesus as simply a good man who had a philosophy of doing good and showing compassion to others is safe but we already know that Jesus is not a mere man....   [tags: Papers] 517 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Proof Is Simply Beyond The Capacity Essay - Certain individuals who commit crimes do so at their own free will, and many have no qualms as to the consequences of their actions. To some, it matters not the possibility that if they are caught, there is the chance they may be executed. Sometimes the crimes committed by certain persons are done so in a manner that would bewilder any other human being. My personal belief is that there is no need for capital punishment in our society. Advocates say that capital punishment is needed in order to deter future criminals, but this is not entirely the case....   [tags: essays research papers fc]
:: 3 Works Cited
1846 words
(5.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Create A System That Simply Works! Essay - interest of reading this pocket book starts from the interesting book name¡XE-Myth. What is it. Is that only for the people who already owned their business. How can I apply them into my work and improve my working performance in a big multinational company. Is that really relevant to me at my current stage since I am still working for someone else and do not have any business of myself. Those are the actual questions and doubts that I have secretly asked to myself before reading the book. However, having read through it, I found that the E-Myth is no limitation on the entrepreneurs and can perfectly work for me as a guidebook for every success of both my career and personal life....   [tags: essays research papers] 1028 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]