Preview
Preview

The Effects Of Art On The Brain Essay

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 2195 words (6.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Art has been around ever since humans came to be on the earth. Some examples of the oldest recorded art in the world are prehistoric cave paintings, which were painted on cave walls thousands of years ago. These cave paintings were used to communicate and record the stories of the artists. The paintings themselves may have been extremely simple, but they still got the message across. Communication is just one of the many uses of art. Art can be used for virtually anything from therapy to entertainment, and that is because almost everybody enjoys some form of art. Art is an international language that people from all walks of life can understand together, and it has one of the fastest growing communities in the modern world. Probably the best thing about art though is that no two people will ever have the same insight about it. Every person has their own ideas and opinions about art, and that makes this already huge topic even bigger. Art gives us a way to be completely unique from other people, and helps us to escape to a world that we created and have full control of. Through the many different means that art can be expressed, we can feel certain emotions. Art can make us feel happy on a bad day, or it could be a way to channel our anger without harming anyone around us. When we look at art, we create a meaning for it. We give it our own spin of imagination, and we make
Keime 2
each piece our own. People like art because it is mysterious, and every person sees it in their own way. Overall, art helps people in many different ways.
Art is enjoyed by millions of people every day all over. Art is so popular that there are entire galleries dedicated to the showing of nothing but art. Art is sold for millions of dolla...


... middle of paper ...


...otherapy/f/art-therapy.html>.
Dess, Nancy K. "Music On The Mind." Psychology Today. 1 Sep 2000: n. page. Print.
Dewan, Shaila. "Using Crayons to Exorcise Katrina." New York Times [New York City] 17 September 2007, n. pag. Print.
Landan, Elizabeth. "What The Brain Draws From: Art and Neuroscience." CNN Health. 15 Dec 2012: n. page. Web. 6 Nov. 2013.
Malchiodi, Cathy. "Arts and Health." Psychology Today. 31 Jul 2011: n. page. Print.
Pederson, Traci. "Brain Feels Rewarded While Looking At Art." Psych Central. 9 Jan 2011: n. page. Print.
Pili, Christina. "The Effects of Art on the Brain of an Underprivileged Child." Serendip Studio. Serendip Studio, 9 Jan 2008. Web. 16 October 2013. .
Sullens, Carly. "What Is Art Therapy?." Hubpages.com. Hubpages.com, 12 Sep 2013. Web. .









Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Importance of Art Education in Young Children Essay - In today’s society, much of our evaluation of academic achievement is based on a very narrow perspective of what sort of capabilities determine a child’s intelligence. The typical mindset of today’s educational systems views students who receive high scores on standardized tests such as the SAT or ACT as high ability students; such a statement, although true, limits the opportunities of students who are, in fact, intelligent, but in different academic areas. Because of the recent focus on math and reading scores, schools are doing away with art-related programs at an aggressive and alarming rate....   [tags: The Benefits of Art in Child Development]
:: 6 Works Cited
2169 words
(6.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on The Psychological Effect of Art - “A Deeper Look into the Unseen: The Psychological Effect of Art” Paintings, like many forms of art, are very subjective—what one may find intriguing another may completely disagree. “Art is physical material that affects a physical eye and conscious brain” (Solso, 13). To glance at art, we must go through a process of interpretation in order to understand what it is we are looking at. Solso describes the neurological, perceptual, and cognitive sequence that occurs when we view art, and the often inexpressible effect that a work of art has on us....   [tags: Art Artwork]
:: 4 Works Cited
938 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Music Therapy and Its Positive Effects on the Brain Essay - ... In one particular project, The Jared Kurtin Music Therapy Program uses music therapy at the Children’s Hospital and Research Center Oakland. Music therapy is used on every type of patient, from premature babies all the way to teen cancer patients. Kevin Walsh MD, a doctor at the Children’s Hospital, says that music is a helpful tool for pain management, and anxiety. This project also helped identify the effectiveness of live music over recorded music. On the actual video, giving us a look into the program, the children taking advantage of the music therapy program seemed really happy....   [tags: modern technologies & ancient practices]
:: 3 Works Cited
1813 words
(5.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay Art and Music Lessons' Positive Effects on Children - Many people in the world think that life would be nonsense without music. Music helps people in several ways and gives a meaning to their lives. For example, music can help someone to make money, relax, spend time, work or study. Furthermore, it mostly helps children to concentrate more. The times that they study while listen to music, helps their brain power to increase over time. The main problem is, most schools are trying to decrease their music classes since their principals think that music is not as useful as science and maths for student's academic process....   [tags: high academic achievements]
:: 7 Works Cited
1173 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Science and Art: The Key To Knowledge Essay - We were asked in TOK class to examine the similarities between science and art. At first, I did not think they had much in common, but as I continued to ponder on the question I was able to develop many similarities such as the use of sense perception, creativity and the use of curiosity. However, although they had similarities I did not see how one would merge these two together, since I thought science was more of critical thinking and art lend towards creative thinking. In school, we tend to place higher standards and importance on subjects such as science, math, reading and history rather than the Arts....   [tags: Humanities]
:: 6 Works Cited
1601 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Art Enlightens the Mind Essay example - Art appears everywhere and reflects in everything. Whether people take notice of it or not, art influences every single person’s everyday life. Used as a tool to unlock positive qualities, it influences peoples’ thoughts, feelings, and emotions about everything round them. The study and practice of art can strengthen and enlighten the individual’s mind while also influencing the people who their view work. Creating art requires the human mind to have to think differently and to use the right (creative) side of the brain....   [tags: influence, performance, education, school]
:: 6 Works Cited
1272 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Art of Procrastination Essay - The Art of Procrastination   It is three in the morning, and a haggard man puts the finishing touches on a presentation that he has had a month to complete. A bright young boy scurries around the backyard collecting bugs for his big science project due the next morning. A grown woman packs at two in the morning for her six-thirty business trip. A man disappoints his wife with a gift of socks for Christmas, which was all he could find on Christmas Eve. What is wrong with these people. Why do normal, intelligent people fritter their time away; and wait till the last possible moment to do the necessary....   [tags: Exploratory Essays Research Papers]
:: 2 Works Cited
1274 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Art Of Procrastination Essay - As I sit here at my computer I restlessly glance at the clock; it’s 12:40 AM, approximately twelve hours until this essay is due. How could I have once again gotten myself into this terrible situation. I would love to say that there’s some amazing excuse for my blatant irresponsibility, that some horrible catastrophe took place inhibiting the start of this paper. Yet sadly there is none; I can present no justification of this other than my own slothfulness. And even as I type I debate over the topic....   [tags: essays research papers] 1135 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Negative Effects of Video Games - Video games began in the late 1960s. It is highly interactive but also a distinct simulation of the real world and the world of thinking. In recent years, Video games have been gaining its popularity at an amazing rate and have developed into a common form of entertainment in people's lives. According to a survey, the researcher found that in 1992, approximately ninety-two percent of U.S. kids between 2 and 17 years of age play video games, and their parents bought 225 million of them last year to the tune of 6.4 billion dollars (Sider, 2002)....   [tags: Child Development]
:: 6 Works Cited
1340 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Effects of Colors on Mood Essay examples - Over the years, researchers have been studying the power of colors to influence every aspect of our life. Furthermore, color has been also employed to describe mood. Some frequently expressions employed when a person is feeling sad is to describe it as “feeling blue” or when a person falls in love is common to hear that this person view the world through “rose-colored glasses.” To be “green with envy” refers to a very jealous person or to “be pure as the snow” describe the innocence of a child....   [tags: Experiment, Positivity, Negativity]
:: 8 Works Cited
1550 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]