Preview
Preview

Essay on Choosing Psychology as a Career

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 1552 words (4.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Psychology is the study of the mind, its biology, and behavior if the individual. The father of psychology, Wilhelm Wundt, used objective measurement and controlled analyzing to find and emphasize separation between psychology and philosophy (McLeod). Wundt opened the Institute for Experimental Psychology at the University of Leipzig in Germany in 1879, using his background in physiology to study reactions and sensations (McLeod). There is no doubt that he, along with the later help of Sigmund Freud, launched what is now modern psychology. Psychology and its research helped the world understand the inner workings of the mind and how it affects everyone around us.
Many associate psychology with sitting in a chair in a small office as someone taking notes, asking how you feel about a certain event or feeling, analyzing your deepest secrets and memories. However, it branches off into many other fields. A clinical psychologist’s main job is “to reduce the distress and improve the psychological wellbeing of clients” (Bond). This can include anything from depression, eating disorders, and addiction, to mental illness, family and personal relationships, and learning disabilities (Bond). A clinical psychologist usually will choose to have an emphasis in a certain field such as children and learning disabilities and work in schools or social work facilities, or mental illness and work in a hospital (Bond). According to Vicki Cohen, people “typically are referred or come to therapy because they have a symptom”. These are defined by emotional, social, and or physiological.
Therapy is the most commonly used treatment for symptoms. A variety of therapy treatments are offered for patients based on their specific characteristics and what th...


... middle of paper ...


...2014.
Edu Portal. "Psychologist: Educational Requirements." Education-Portal. Education-Portal, 20 Feb. 2014. Web. 20 Feb. 2014.
"Forensic Psychologist: Job Description." | Prospects UK. Ed. AGCAS. N.p., Aug. 2012. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Inner Body. "Becoming a Clinical Psychologist." InnerBody. Inner Body Careers, 23 Feb. 2014. Web. 23 Feb. 2014.
Layne, Elizabeth. "What Are the Working Conditions for Psychologists?" Everyday Life. Global Post, 13 Feb. 2014. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
"Licensed Educational Psychologist (LEP) Requirements - California Board of Behavioral Sciences." Licensed Educational Psychologist Requirements. Department of Consumer Affairs, 12 Mar. 2014. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"What Do Practicing Psychologists Do?" Http://www.apa.org. American Psychology Association, Apr. 2013. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"What Is a School Psychologist?" NASP. NASP, n.d. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Career in Psychology: Personal Narrative Essay - My entire life I have always been on the search of a career that would fit my persona, fit who I truly am, and to become someone who will constantly have the ability to help people through their difficult problems that they face. Throughout my life I have been deemed the type of person that people felt comfortable coming to with their problems. Maybe people feel this way because they sense that I have a sympathetic ear. Well, all I can say is that human behavior has always seemed interesting to me and that is probably why I made the decision to go down the psychology career pathway....   [tags: Freedom Writers, Acheiving Goals]
:: 3 Works Cited
929 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Forensic Psychology Career - This paper involves researching and preparing a report on a business career of your choice. I would expect you to use multiple resources and to also properly document those resources with footnotes as required. The paper should be a minimum of two to three double spaced, typed pages, not including your resources/works cited page. You should have a minimum of two outside resources. The text and Wikipedia may be used as resources but they do not count toward the two outside resources. This is my Business Career Paper which is on the career of my choosing....   [tags: Career Path, Education]
:: 4 Works Cited
1081 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Evaluating Career Theory and Application Essay examples - It is easy to dissect an individual’s life to analyze and critique their choices based on our own opinions and experiences. Is that fair. No. We may see their actions clearly but the reasoning behind these is what the focus should be when it comes to judging one’s behavior or circumstances. Regular judgments are made about a person based on their profession. In our society, it would behoove us to look at the paths that lead to becoming a medical doctor instead of a drug dealer or prostitute. Application of career theories to life allow for analyzing past and future career decisions in all fields....   [tags: Career Theory] 971 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Comparing Psychodynamic Psychotherapy and Person-Centered Psychology - Comparing Psychodynamic Psychotherapy and Person-Centered Psychology The counseling profession has a broad spectrum of possibilities when it comes to choosing which psychological approach to take. The field of counseling takes many forms and offers many career options, from school counseling to marriage and family therapy. As there are numerous styles in existence, it is important to be aware of the many approaches available to take. For my research two psychological approaches, Psychodynamic Psychotherapy and Person-Centered Psychology, will be critically analyzed and discussed in depth in order to compare the techniques as well as effectiveness of each....   [tags: Psychology ]
:: 4 Works Cited
1747 words
(5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Analyzing Career Theories Essay - It is simple to look at an individual’s life and analyze and critique their choices based on our own opinions and experiences. Is that fair. No. We may see their actions clearly but the reasoning behind these is what we should focus on when it comes to judging someone’s behavior or circumstances. A common judgment made about a person is based on their career. In our society, it would behoove us to look at the path that leads to becoming a doctor instead of a drug dealer. Application of career theories to my own life allows for analyzing past and future career decisions....   [tags: Career Theory] 958 words
(2.7 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Career Choices Essay - Economics is the term used to describe the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. In addition, economics is the study of scarcity, Our economy is important because it gives us an opportunity to understand better, how business, society, and the world are doing overall financially. Our economy as it stands now is barely standing. The government is in debt by trillions, and furthermore, This means an increased competitive job market. However, one needs to consider many different factors when choosing a career to give them the best chance of being happy and fulfilled....   [tags: Career Research ] 1868 words
(5.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The World of Psychology Essay - ... In 2010, the median annual wage was $68,640. With so many different psychologists, the salaries vary. Industrial-organizational psychologists made $87,330. Clinical, counseling, and school psychologists made $66,810. And all other psychologists made around $89,900. Many psychologists are independent meaning they can set up their own hours. Psychologists usually accommodate clients and set up evening and weekend hours. Most psychologists working in clinics, government, industry, or schools work full time schedules during regular business hours....   [tags: principles, career facts]
:: 7 Works Cited
615 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
History and Background of Psychology Essay - “The voice of the intellect is a soft one, but does not rest until it has gained hearing.” (Sigmund Freud). Psychology is the study of the human mind and behavior. Psychologists are the people who look to find and explain how one thinks, feels and behaves. If someone was asked what defined him or her, then it would deal with the area of psychology. A psychologist helps to keep the people in the world as close to sane as possible. History and background of Psychology Psychology can be traced back to the times of the ancient Greeks....   [tags: mind, behavior, ancient greeks, career]
:: 6 Works Cited
891 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Psychology Under the Scope Essay - As you grow older you mature and the way you assess certain elements in life change. One thing that changes is how you look at the career choice. Evaluating careers help make early decisions that can help with a career choice and preparations needed with a career plan. A Psychologist main intent is to help people mentally and emotionally. To gain insight on this profession I will compare my values and the values of the job. The pay in this occupation is a good balance with my values. The amount of money in a job is not all I look for but it have a lot of influence on the choice....   [tags: career choice, mental health, education] 964 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on PSY 301, Introductory Psychology, 1998, Exam 2 - Introductory Psychology -- Pennebaker Test 2 Please write your name and social security number on THIS PAGE as well as on your Scantron form. Be sure and blacken in the correct dots for your SSN, name, and test form. 1. Hans and Franz are identical twins that were separated at birth. The finally meet at age 45, and find that both of them have become psychology professors. What is the most likely explanation for this similarity. a. both twins had strong psychology genes. b. both twins had strong teaching genes....   [tags: UTEXAS Texas Psychology] 2196 words
(6.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]