Preview
Preview

Essay Bullied Past the Breaking Point

:: 5 Works Cited
Length: 1150 words (3.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

(Imagine a kid being bullied to the point of them not wanting to live. Kimmie was one kid out of many who dealt with the situation of being harassed. She told her mother that kids at school were bullying her because of her weight and how she looked. Kimmie’s mom ignored her thinking she was over reacting, little did she know she was not. Kimmie would receive daily threats online telling her to “kill herself” and saying things like “Why are you still alive?” The next morning after Kimmie’s mom dropped her off at school she ditched class and went into an abandoned apartment building down the block to wait for the school day to be done, so she would not have to face the kids who tormented her. At the end of the day Kimmie made sure to be at the school before her mom picked her up, because she knew that if her mom found out, she would not understand her reason behind skipping school. After many weeks’ Kimmie’s mom started to notice that she was not talking as much as she used to, and she was not participating in family activities. Kimmie’s mom ignored it thinking it was a phase she was going thorough because she was getting older. A couple months later Kimmie’s grades dropped, and she skipped many school days just so she could to go to that abandoned apartment building. With no one to talk to about her problem’s Kimmie had to deal with them by herself. Soon she starting to deal with an eating disorder because she was not happy with the way she looked. She also started to self-harm. Kimmie lost all hope, and she started to believe no one cared about her. Still not happy with herself, Kimmie then committed suicide. Her body was found by an abandoned apartment building down the block from her school. Police say she jumped from the roof. ...


... middle of paper ...


...lives in a tragic way. If our society does not want people to end up like Rehtaeh, Rebecca, or Amanda then they need to become more aware of the horrible result bullying can have on a person. No one should have to face bullying alone.) Extended




Works Cited

Bleaney, Rob. "Amanda Todd: Suicide Girl's Mum Reveals More Harrowing Details of Cyber Bullying Campaign That Drove Her Daughter to Her Death." Mirror. Mirror News, n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013

"Bullying and Suicide." - Bullying Statistics. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013.

Gillis, Wendy. “We Should Be Ashamed”. “Toronto Star: A.1. Apr. 13 2013. SIRS Issue Researcher. Web. 3. Nov. 2013.

Martens, Steven. "Welcome!" The Quad-City Times. N.p., 20 Dec. 2011. Web. 11 Nov. 2013.

Pearce, Matt. “Officials Cite Cyberbullying in Girl’s Death.” Los Angeles Times: A.10. Sep 13 2013. SIRS Issue Researcher. Web. 3. Nov. 2013.




Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Because of You - Kelly Clarkson Essay - ... I then started to think how this sort of scene could work on stage. Would she break up with him, he with her, would they be meeting up to give each other their possessions back or would it be sung as they were breaking up. I decided to go with the idea that they would have an argument and she would break at that point and then sing this song to him. I think this song fits well into this context. I envisage that the scene will happen in the boy’s bedroom or at his house at least, they will be discussing that the boyfriend doesn't think his girlfriend is doing enough and at this point she will of had enough, argues back and eventually leaves him....   [tags: analysis, original song, past relationships] 1247 words
(3.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Board Breaking in Martial Arts - Board breaking is often exhibited as an incredible talent performed by martial artists at demonstrations or tournaments in order to show off strength. This isn’t true, however, as breaking is an illustrated example of a perfected technique as one would use in a real situation. The accuracy, strength, and power of these techniques is demonstrated through the break. Many people are amazed by breaking, but don’t fully understand how truly easy it is. Breaking can be explained by both the physics behind the act and the mental aspects of the preparation of the break....   [tags: Board Breaking, Martial Arts, ] 1203 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Experience of Being Bullied Essay - Sticks and stones may break my bones but words feel more like daggers. This simply says that mere name-calling does give rise to a cause of action. It is not necessary to be physically harmed in order to suffer lasting harm. Bullying is usually the intimidation, the process of intimidating or mistreating someone weaker or in a more vulnerable state. This could be teasing or taunting a class mate because they are in some way different. But what happens when our school yard bully becomes our Facebook harasser....   [tags: selfish, destructive behavior, power]
:: 8 Works Cited
900 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Personal Essay: Being Bullied - I had never really paid attention to the way I looked. It did not really bother me, to be honest, and I had never had problems with bullies either. That was until I got into grade 10. I was not fat and I was not that skinny either, I was classifies as average. Healthy. But, you see, the new look of society was super skinny. If you were not that size, you were not sociably acceptable. This did not bother me at first because I liked the way I was and I also had a couple of friends who also felt the same way....   [tags: Body, Taunting, Skinny] 565 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Breaking Point For Men in Phillip Caputo's A Rumor of War Essay - War is an entity that not only physically tears apart soldiers and countries, but also a force that shatters soldiers and civilians psychologically. The arduous physical conditions, the close proximity to death, and the hysteria in difficult situations play on soldiers’ minds and slowly push them to a breaking point. In Philip Caputo’s A Rumor of War, we see the effects of war and the conditions of war as told by 2nd Lieutenant Philip Caputo. In the novel, we saw a steady buildup of anxiety and confusion as the soldiers were faced with an invisible enemy and struggled with the mixed signals from those in command....   [tags: Psychological Toll, Violent Fantasy]
:: 1 Works Cited
926 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Bullied Into Silence Essay - Harvey Fierstein, noted journalist, encourages us to “never be bullied into silence. Never allow ourselves to be made a victim. Accept no ones definition for your life. Define yourself”. In the novel “The Story of Zahra” written by Hanan al-Shaykh, Zahra was bullied into silence because she allowed herself to be made a victim by accepting others definition for her life; she did not define herself. Conversely, in the play Lysistrata, written by Aristophanes, the protagonist, who went against all odds, was anything but a victim by taking the leading role in a protest against the men; she took a stand for what she believed in....   [tags: Character Analysis ]
:: 2 Works Cited
1406 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Bullied to Death? by John Cloud Essay - Bullying is nothing new but now times have changed because technology has made it possible for teenagers to bully one another without having to be face to face. This type of bullying is known as Cyber bullying. Cyber bullying is another method that is being used in today’s society to bullied one another and it takes place using technologic devices such as; computers, tablets, cell phone and using social media websites such as; facebook, twitter Instagram etc.. Although cyber bullying is not physical it has become a big problem in today’s society affecting many families psychologically and resulting in irreversible outcomes....   [tags: face to face, suicide, facebook, twitter]
:: 4 Works Cited
1538 words
(4.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Faith in Kierkegaard's Breaking the Waves Essay - Faith in Kierkegaard's Breaking the Waves In Soren Kierkegaard's Fear and Trembling, he discusses the "Three Movements to Faith." For Kierkegaard, faith of any kind involves a paradox. This paradox, as well as Kierkegaard's suggested path to faith, is illustrated by the main characters of Breaking the Waves, Bess and Jan. Kierkegaard explains there are steps one can take towards faith; however, they are so difficult he believes only one person, the "Knight of Faith," has completed the movements....   [tags: Kierkegaard Breaking the Waves Essays] 633 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Breaking Bad Essay - We've come to a point where television has become so loaded with “vampire-this” and “werewolf-that,” that each show has begun to look like the reruns of another. Luckily, this definitely isn't the case for creator Vince Gilligan's, Breaking Bad. Breaking Bad follows the life of Walter White (played by Bryan Cranston), an ordinary high school chemistry teacher. With a loving wife and teenage son at home, over time, Walter has formed an exceedingly mundane routine for his life. After soon discovering that he had been diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer, Walter decided to take extreme measures in order to secure his family financially....   [tags: literary analysis, gilligan]
:: 3 Works Cited
1480 words
(4.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Deception Point Essay - Book Report-Deception Point The plot is about a new NASA satellite detecting a rare object buried deep beneath the Arctic ice. The finding, a 300 years old meteorite with fossil, is made public during the presidential elections and this is a devastating blow for Senator Sexton who has been criticising NASA for errors throughout the campaign. The president sends Rachel Sexton ,a White House intelligence analyst and daughter to senator Sexton , along with four other ordinary scientists and a team of highly ranked NASA scientists up to the Arctic to verify and confirm the authenticity of the finding....   [tags: Book Report Deception Point] 1075 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]