Preview
Preview

The Boy Who Cried Wolf and The Tortoise and the Hare Essay

:: 2 Works Cited
Length: 1498 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Fables”
Introduction:
Now I know a little bit about fables, after doing a little bit of research in my English class. I know that fables are short stories that center upon animals. Fables also all have morals at the end, stated outright, or inferred. These morals are sometimes called Aesops, after the original creator of fables. Aesop was a Greek slave who wrote a lot of fables. “The Boy Who Cried Wolf” and “The Tortoise and the Hare” are two of the most famous Aesops in America. Aesops are primarily short stories; they can range from a few sentences to a page. No matter how short they are, the moral message still gets conveyed to the reader when he or she reads a fable.
I have chosen to write about Aesops because they interest me and I like animals. The moral at the end gets an extra bonus from me. The morals are fun to learn and can sometimes be funny. It also interests me in how stories that were written as far back as thousands of years ago were written and the themes they had. It is intriguing to know why they still hold relevance in modern day life. Learning about Asop has also lead me to learn more about Greece’s practices and other famous slaves. I picked fables because it has more of a variety of short stories versus the other topics and I like diversity. One of the reasons I think stories such as fables are important to people is because they let people express complex ideas in an easy to understand fashion.
The Search:
To get started with my research on fables I looked up the definition of “fable”. I also asked my mother what she thought a fable was, and she ended up describing a fairy tale. I found out that fables were mostly stories revolving around animals acting out an event with a moral to it. Then I...


... middle of paper ...


... traits of many animals and continue to do so. Fables have endured throughout the years and will most likely continue to do so.


Works Cited
“Aesop.” Encyclopedia of world biography.
Vol.24 Detroit: Gale, 2005.
Student Resources in context in context. Web.
20 Dec. 2013.
“Aesop's Fables – online collection – 656+ fables.”
Aesops fables – online collection – 656+ fables.
21 Jan. 2014 internet
Bottigheimer, Ruth “Fairy Tales and Fables.” Boardman’s PDF. January 30 2014.
Chesterton, GK. “Introduction to Aesop's Fables.”
The Chesterton review Feb 6.
May 2001 XXVII. 1&2 (2001):
17-20. Print.
"Fable." Merriam-Webster. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 28 Jan. 2014.
“Tortoise and The Hare.” 1934. Youtube.web.7 Sept. 2008.
“The Tortoise and the Hare (Disney 1934.)
Youtube. Youtube, 17 june 2010
Web. 21 Jan. 2014. Internet.
Morel, Madonna. Personal interview. Jan 10 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Aesop’s Fables Essay - Aesop’s Fables Introduction: I already know a good amount about the Aesop’s fables before doing any real research. Almost everyone as a child was introduced to the stories such as “the boy who cried wolf” or “the tortoise and the hare”. As a child many adults would read these stories to me because they have a very strong moral. It can guide children to do the right thing when they are in doubts. I have a very personal experience with the tortoise and the hare because since I am a tennis player, my coaches would always mention these stories in regarding to practice and how we should be playing....   [tags: literary analysis, the tortoise and the hare]
:: 7 Works Cited
1307 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Aesop's Fables Essay - Introduction: I grew up reading fables. Such as, the Tortoise and the Hare, which taught me faster isn’t always better. I enjoyed fables the most because of the valuable lessons that were strung within them. Majority of the fables have life lessons that help you as a person throughout your life. Because fables are short, sweet and to the point, it makes it easier for younger children to grasp. Growing up listening and reading these stories taught me morals that I still live by to this day. Fables have helped me get through multiple life situations....   [tags: the tortoise and the hare, stories]
:: 6 Works Cited
1500 words
(4.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Timber Wolf - ... The timber wolf walks quickly and swift like a dog or fox. In the winter they moves in packs and in the summer they also travel in packs but do not travel as much. There is always an alpha in the herd and the alpha is to be the most healthiest and middle aged male in the pack. They have large paws that help them have more traction and walk in the snow. They also have this fur to keep them from getting wet. The paper birch tree will disperse its seeds in spring and if they do not disperse in spring the will in autumn....   [tags: mexican wolf, winter] 987 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Escape From Society: An Analysis of Arto Paasilinna’s The Year of the Hare - The Escape From Society: An Analysis of Arto Paasilinna’s The Year of the Hare Throughout the novel, The Year of the Hare, Arto Paasilinna is making the reader feel that it is impossible to escape society. Everyone attempts to escape society at some stage of their lives because of the many problems that they have to deal with. In this novel, Vatanen tries to escape society because the people he has to deal with, like his family and employers, are not treating him the way he would like them to. In this sense the novel is a reflection on life....   [tags: Review, Analysis, The Year of the Hare, Arto Paasi] 730 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Francesca Lia Block's Wolf Essays - The involvement of social issues in young adult literature is no red flag to modern day society. New Realism, which first occurred around the 1960’s-1970, lead to the evolution of the appropriateness of social issues in the young adult literature genre. (Robinson) In Francesca Lia Block's Wolf, the author addresses the taboos of sexual violence and abuse in the home, and pairs this with the idea of female self-empowerment, and the age appropriateness of young adult literature for young adults....   [tags: Block's Wolf Essays]
:: 5 Works Cited
1369 words
(3.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Character Archetypes in Teen Wolf Essay - Teen Wolf is a television show on MTV, and is about how Scott McCall went from zero to lacrosse co-captain after getting bit by a werewolf and turning into one. Now, him and his friends try to protect everyone from the other supernatural beings they encounter. The audience of Teen Wolf is making the show prominent among other television shows with its action scenes and content of the television show, Carl Jung’s character archetypes of the ideal hero, the sidekick/ally, the caregiver, the mentor, the hunter, and the villain affect the characters’ actions....   [tags: teen wolf, mtv, tv show, scott, mccall]
:: 6 Works Cited
1353 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Gopher Tortoise Essay examples - For a long time the gopher tortoise population has dominated the south eastern United States, ranging from the state of Georgia stretching as far as Louisiana and continuing down to Florida. The gopher tortoise primarily resided in the longleaf pine woodlands, serving as a keystone species to this ecosystem, providing shelter for over three hundred species in these woodlands that have frequent fires. However, overtime the south east has lost over eighty percent of its longleaf pine woodlands due to deforestation and the decline of natural forest fires, causing the gopher tortoise population to decline very rapidly as well....   [tags: marine life, ecosystem] 761 words
(2.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Power of The Sea-Wolf Essay - The Power of The Sea-Wolf Jack London’s novel, The Sea-Wolf, has many different interpretations. The story can be read as a combination of the naturalistic novel and the sentimental romance, both very popular around the turn of the century. London also brings into play literary naturalism, in which human beings are characterized as just another species in nature, subject to all of Her cosmic forces. The Sea-Wolf fits almost perfectly the archetypal pattern of an initiation story. Depth and interest are added to The Sea-Wolf by successfully integrating these three elements -- the combination of two popular genres, literary naturalism, and the initiation story....   [tags: Sea-Wolf Essays] 983 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Ken Wolf's Personalities and Problems Essay - Ken Wolf's Personalities and Problems Ken Wolf, a professor of history at Murray Sate University and author of Personalities and Problems, wrote with the intent to illustrate the varied richness of human history over the past five centuries. He took various personalities such as adventurers, princes, political leaders, and writers and categorized them in a way for readers to draw lines between them to create a clearer view of world history for himself. Beginning each new chapter with a specific question about worldly concerns and disciplines allowed the readers to relate the topics to broader, more general scenarios of their cultures....   [tags: Ken Wolf Personalities Problems Essays] 1348 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Free College Essays - Sea Wolf - Sea Wolf      Wolf Larsen was a character in the book who never made it all the way through the book, but he tried very hard.  He was a very strong, brutal man with almost no respect for human life.  With all the people in the world, one dead person meant nothing to him.  He was a patient man and usually kept himself under control.  He was surprisingly smart and thoughtful for a pirate who lives on the sea.  He loved the sea and knew many things about it, such as how to outwit his brother when he came near Wolf's boat....   [tags: Sea Wolf Essays] 580 words
(1.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]