Preview
Preview

An Analysis of Coach Carter and High School Sports Essay

:: 12 Works Cited
Length: 933 words (2.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

As a student enters the gym doors of Smith-Cotton, one can see various trophies from our athletic teams, along with our JROTC National Championship banners that hang up from the walls. One can see by the quality of our gym that our sports are a main part of our school, but as one wanders on into the hallways of our school, he can see how dull they are. By the plainness of the walls, there seems to be no life; however, in the JROTC hallway you see the trophy cabinet full of multiple national trophies, and as you venture on you get to see images of what these teams do, along with the bulletin board that shows newspaper articles of the success of the program. But as you continue to walk toward the other side of the classroom, one can only see some bulletin boards that do not have many things on them except for some advertising. Just by observing this, a new student can see that our school has a great deal to do with sports, but what he cannot see is how well this school performs academically. As we walk down the halls, you rarely see a student’s work displayed. So one can assume what James Coleman thinks to be correct, that “altogether, the trophy case would suggest to the innocent visitor that he was entering an athletic club, not an educational institution." This is a dilemma among many schools that is sometime not dealt with adequately. (qtd. in Bowen)
There are some films that only display the glory of being on a team and winning championship titles; there are hardly ever any films that display the problem of placing sports over academics. A film that actually attempts to display the issue is Coach Carter, where Carter encounters a problem when he realizes the poor academic performance of his team members. Carter then makes it h...


... middle of paper ...


...k Times. The New York Times, 7 April 2014. Web. 16 April 2014.
Lewin, Tamar. “At Many Top Public Universities, Intercollegiate Sports Come at an Academic
Price” The New York Times. The New York Times, 16 Jan. 2013. Web. 11 April 2014.
Luzer, Daniel. “ Athletics over Academics: An Improper Education for State Universities”
Washington Monthly. Washington Monthly, 9 Feb. 2013. Web. 11 April 2014.
Patkotak, Elise. “Academics, Not Athletics, Should Be High School Priority” Anchorage Daily
News. Anchorage Daily News, 18 Nov. 2008. Web. 16 April 2014.
Ripley, Amanda. “The Case Against High-School Sports” The Atlantic. The Atlantic, 18 Sept.
2013. Web 14 April 2014.
Wolverton, Brad. “Report Describes Big Gaps in Athletic vs. Academic Spending” The
Chronicle of Higher Education. The Chronicle, 16 Jan. 2013. Web. 14 April 2014
Woods, Randall. Personal Interview. 7 April 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Evolution of Sports Essay - The sports of today have changed the way the players play the game. Starting on the professional sports level, bad sportsmanship behaviors, like the use of steroids or "throwing" a game or a match in an effort to please the sports gambler trying to get their big pay-off, has trickled down through the college level and even down to the high school level. One person recalls the days when athletes played their sport for the love of the game, because it is what they lived for. They remember when they were younger, sitting in their grandfather's lap and watching the Atlanta Braves (in the days of Dale Murphy, Bob Horner, Glenn Hubbard and other great names in Braves history) running out on the di...   [tags: Sports] 886 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Preventing Sports Injuries in Youth Essay - ... The main purpose of the knee joint is it acts as support for our thigh bone. The anatomy of the knee consist of the major points, the patella, also known as the kneecap, the patellar groove and the lateral femorotibial articulations linking the femur, or thigh bone. The main function of theses joints is to provide extension and bare a great amount of weight. BY being able to bear such a large amount of weight the knee is able to stabilize our ability to run and perform great stunts.ALthough the knee provides a lot of support it is known as one of the weakest points in our body....   [tags: recreational sports, schools, competition]
:: 13 Works Cited
1711 words
(4.9 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Carter, the Underdog Essay - The students inside of the classroom started to gather their belongings and prepared to head to their next class. Carter Griffin is among the students in the classroom. Carter is gifted teen, who is humble and for the most part keeps to himself. He’s an athlete in whom he separates himself among his teammates due to his work ethics but he previously became the team’s most imposing offensive weapon in a manner that he didn’t want to take any pride in. As Carter began to leave the classroom, he was stopped briefly by his Sociology teacher Mrs....   [tags: short story] 2218 words
(6.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Coach Carter by Jasmine Jones - ... A common issue with placing sports over academics is that more money is spent on sports than on student’s education. Steven Conn mentions in the article “In College Classrooms, the Problem Is High-School Athletics” that “the growth of high-school athletics over the past generation has necessarily meant fewer resources devoted to academics, especially in the zero-sum budgetary environment of so many school districts.” Which means that schools are more willing to spend money on their athlete’s needs than on a student attending classed....   [tags: story and character analysis]
:: 2 Works Cited
698 words
(2 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Essay about Statement of Purpose to Become a Sports News Caster - My plan B as a career is to be a Sports News Caster. If I don’t go to the Pro’s for football or basketball I’m going to try and become a Sports News Caster. To be around one of my favorite things in life, sports. I like to talk about sports with other people and I like to predict on who is going to win games like super bowl games conference games and wild cards. I state my opinion on players and teams that I don’t like and do like a lot what they need to improve or if they just suck and need to give up on their sports career....   [tags: ESPN, football player, interview] 1407 words
(4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Pitfalls Of High School Sports - Children are often exposed to sports at an early age. As they get older and start school they often participate in sports as a way to both make now friends and be active. As the children grow older, progressing into their teenage years, they become more specialized in their sports. The sports that the young people continue with grow in their favor. When the child reaches the high school level, sports take center stage. The pressure for them to perform in sports and perform well is immense. There is the pressure from coaches, teammates, and others to succeed....   [tags: Sports] 1494 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
High School Friday Night Lights Essay - High school athletics leave a major impact on everybody that is involved with them. It also can even leave a mark on people who aren’t associated with them. There are many conflicting opinions on whether high school sports are a positive or negative influence on a student’s life. Athletics in high school can have an effect on the community as a whole. In H.G. Bisssinger’s highly regarded Friday Night Lights, high school football is accurately portrayed as the most important thing in Texas; it receives much more attention than academics....   [tags: high school sports, high school athletics]
:: 6 Works Cited
857 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about High School Students and Volunteering - ... Personal Interview). Jay Dutcher, an Alpena High Senior, tells us that volunteering has taught me a lot, especially that hard work and giving time is more valuable than making money (Dutcher, Jay. Personal Interview). This is true especially because in our community there are many aspects of volunteering that we can do without making money, where we can work hard and show our true character as young adults. People who volunteer show acts of unselfishness everyday and willingness to provide a sense of companionship to make someone feel better, who may just not have it as well as you do....   [tags: alpina high, sports] 1525 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Working Throughout High School Essay - Students spend four years of their lives attending high school. Going through high school is mandatory as it prepares them for college and strength to face “the real world.” Having part-time jobs has become the phenomenon among high school students and many students follow this trend as well. Moreover, there are some pros and cons attached with it. Though it may seem like working throughout high school is a bad idea, it could better prepare students for “the real world.” Although some people believe that the primary duty of a student is studying, I am of the opposite position....   [tags: high school, career,] 562 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
High School Sports Essays - Competitive sports play a large role in many high schools. In high school I played every sport; Football, Basketball, Baseball, Lacrosse, Soccer, Swimming, I even Wrestled. High school sports over the past couple of years have become increasingly difficult to keep up with due to the vast amount of preparation you’re expected to do. Most recognize that the Pro’s and the NCAA have gone too far with there’s willingness to win. That do whatever it takes to win mentality kills from the game in my opinion....   [tags: Competitive Sports] 796 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]