Preview
Preview

A Final Sacrifice: Captain Mbaye Diagne Essay examples

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 1285 words (3.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Instinct often dictates action, overriding any forethought or humanity. One of the most primitive, yet profound instincts is the survival instinct. Self preservation is deeply ingrained into nearly every aspect of life, including the lives of present day people. Thus, diverging from this most innate way of life in favor of saving the life of another is an extremely noteworthy action. The Holocaust is an example of a time in history where preservation often took priority because of its vicious nature. History was repeated in 1994, when decades after the Holocaust, terror, disaster and ugliness surrounded the people of the Rwandan genocide after Hutu forces began the mass killings of the Tutsi people. The predicted response to an ugly time is simply to survive. Given that one’s own survival is often prioritized over the needs of others under these circumstances, the actions of one individual, Captain Mbaye Diagne, were shocking. Amid the horror of the Rwandan genocide, Captain Mbaye Diagne demonstrated exceptional action in sacrificing, despite the barriers, to save the lives of countless others.
Diagne’s actions took place, during the brutal and cruel Rwandan genocide. During the Rwandan genocide, Tutsis faced horrendous violent acts at the hands of the Hutus who spoke the same language, lived in the same place and shared many of the same customs. However, during the Belgian occupation of the area, the Belgians had favored the Tusti, believing them to be ethically superior to the Hutus. This favoritism created hatred between the two closely related groups (Koestler-Grack). The genocide was a result of a bursting of tensions between Hutus and Tustis in Rwanda, after the Hutu president’s plane was shot down. In mere hours from the t...


... middle of paper ...


... 2004. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Barker, Greg. "The Man Everyone Remembers." PBS. PBS, n.d. Web. 30 Mar. 2014.
"Culture Changes the Form of Violence in Genocide." Center on Law and Globalization. University of California Press, 2014. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.
De Waal, Alex, and Rakiya Omaar. "The Genocide in Rwanda and the International Response." Current History Apr. 1995: 156-61. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Doyle, Mark. "A Good Man in Rwanda." BBC News. BBC, 3 Apr. 2014. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Koestler-Grack, Rachel, A. "The Trouble with Peackeeping." Facts on File. Chelsea House Publishing, 2007. Web. 30 Mar. 2014.
Resource Information Center. "Rwanda: Information on the Role of the Interhamwe [also Interahamwe] Militia and the Use of Roadblocks during the 1994 Rwandan Genocide." Refworld. United States Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services, 14 Aug. 2001. Web. 06 Apr. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Jesus: The Final Sacrifice? Essay - Jesus The Final Sacrifice. There are many beliefs to why would Jesus came to earth in the flesh. Many believe that he came to break the old law in the Old Testament which required a substitutionary sacrifice for our sin, but was Jesus the final sacrifice. In the Old Testament the sacrifice of animals was only temporary to cover sin, as they were made as a burnt offering unto god. There were many offerings made in the Old Testament that was ether for voluntary act of worship or atonement for unintentional sin....   [tags: religious beliefs, Bible studies] 2023 words
(5.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Journey Theme in Whitman’s O Captain! My Captain! and Tennyson’s Crossing the Bar - Journey Theme in Whitman’s O Captain. My Captain. and Tennyson’s Crossing the Bar The theme of a journey is a common metaphor used in poetry. This is no exception in two poems by famous poets of the 19th century: Walt Whitman and Alfred, Lord Tennyson. In Whitman’s poem “O Captain. My Captain!” from his collection Leaves of Grass, he writes of the sorrow over a fallen ship captain coming into the home harbor. Lord Tennyson’s “Crossing the Bar” expresses the hopes on the departure of a journey....   [tags: Captain! My Captain! Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
835 words
(2.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Journey Theme in Whitman’s O Captain! My Captain! and Tennyson’s Crossing the Bar - Journey Theme in Whitman’s O Captain. My Captain. and Tennyson’s Crossing the Bar A man’s journey at sea has always been romanticized as an individualistic struggle against the backdrop of the cruel elements of nature. Paradoxically, though, within that same journey, the sea possesses an innate sense of timelessness that can become a man’s quest for God. In “O Captain. My Captain!” Walt Whitman describes the narrator’s sense of aimlessness at sea after his beloved Captain dies. In Lord Alfred Tennyson’s “Crossing the Bar,” the speaker is beckoned by the sea and its soundlessness even though he senses foredoom there....   [tags: Captain! My Captain! Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1167 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Dealing with Death in Whitman’s O Captain! My Captain! and Tennyson’s Crossing the Bar - Dealing with Death in Whitman’s O Captain. My Captain. and Tennyson’s Crossing the Bar Life and death are recurring topics in literature; they are not often referred to directly, but are inferred from figurative language. In Walt Whitman’s poem entitled “O Captain. My Captain” from his anthology of poems, Leaves of Grass, he describes the passing of Abraham Lincoln through the use of an extended metaphor. Similarly, “Crossing the Bar,” by Lord Alfred Tennyson, from his collection of poetry, Demeter and Other Poems, alludes to one’s preparation for his or her own death....   [tags: Captain! My Captain! Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1039 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Captain's Journal - Caribbean Sea, 1660 The thunder startled him awake from his sleep. Captain Juan Carlos Vega shot to his feet and peered out the porthole at the swelling sea. The rain had not yet started but the wind was whipping about, he saw. After hastily pulling on his clothing, he rushed topside to examine the situation further. There he found first officer Julio Delgado who was also surveying the weather. Captain Vega had more to worry about than just his ship, Real España. Since his vessel was the flagship of the fleet, he also had to look out for the other five galleons as well....   [tags: storm, sea, captain, motive, cabin] 1504 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Triumph of Good in Captain Corelli's Mandolin Essay - Triumph of Good in Captain Corelli's Mandolin   Despite a backdrop of war, many characters in "Captain Corelli's Mandolin" are essentially good. This goodness in many characters overcomes the difficulties within relationships and the difficulties posed by war. De Bernières shows the triumphant nature of this goodness through his characters as they interact and develop relationships with one another. The island of Cephallonia has been able to survive through a history full of invasions. Its population has triumphed and shows itself to be basically good....   [tags: Captain Corelli's Mandolin Essays] 915 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
PSY Final Essay - I discovered my grandfather had cancer. No matter how much I told myself he could live, that he might not die, somehow I still felt there was no way for him to get better. He was so young, only 63. He fought so hard. Whenever I feel my own life taking a turn for the worse, as if things will never get better, I remember how many years he lived fighting such a scary and difficult disease. The psychological stages that are typical during the grieving process are denial (The "No, not me" stage), anger (The "Why me?" stage), bargaining (The "If I do this, you'll do that" stage), depression- (The "It's really happened" stage), and the acceptance (The "This is what happened" stage)....   [tags: Final] 722 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Effective Use of Dialogue in The Sacrifice of Isaac - Effective Use of Dialogue in The Sacrifice of Isaac        In the Brome version of The Sacrifice of Isaac, the suspense created by the emotionally charged dialogue is likely what kept the audience's attention. While it is incredibly likely that the audience knew the entire story, the emotional flavor of the dialogue, such as Abraham's innocent expressions of his love of and thankfulness for Isaac at the beginning of the play, is bound to evoke a certain concern for the characters which dims the audience's foreknowledge of the tale's happy ending....   [tags: Sacrifice of Isaac Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1488 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Louis de Bernières' Novel Captain Corelli's Mandolin Essays - Louis de Bernières' Novel Captain Corelli's Mandolin Already from the first chapter the author introduces us to one of the most important characters of the book, Dr. Iannis. There are several factors that help the writer to present him to the readers. The most important ones are language (including the narrative style) and classical allusions. The diction in this chapter is very difficult and contains a lot of medical terminology. This shows us that Dr. Iannis is a very educated man and that probably most of the people on the island respect him due to this superiority....   [tags: Bernieres Captain Corelli's Mandolin Essays] 990 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Captain Murderer Essay - Captain Murderer Captain Murderer was written in the 1800’s by Charles Dickens. In this essay I intend to write about exploring character structure, language, social content and themes. Captain Murderer was described as an evil character by the narrator. His position in society was great he was let into the best of parties. ‘The first diabolical character who intruded himself on my peaceful youth was a certain Captain Murderer’ The word diabolical comes from the Latin word Diablo which means devil....   [tags: English Literature] 773 words
(2.2 pages)
Good Essays [preview]