Preview
Preview

A Career as an Adoption Counselor Essay examples

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 2059 words (5.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Adoption is a process where by a person assumes the parenting for another and, in so doing, permanently transfers all rights and responsibilities from the biological parent or parents. Unlike guardianship or other systems designed for the care of the young, adoption is intended to effect a permanent change in status and as such requires societal recognition, either through legal or religious sanction. Adoption has changed considerably over the centuries with its focus shifting from adult adoption and inheritance issues toward children and family creation; its structure moving from recognition of continuity between the adopted and kin toward allowing relationships of lessened intensity. In modern times, adoption is a primary vehicle serving the needs of homeless, neglected, abused and runaway children (Wikipedia, “Adoption”).
Child, Family, and School Social Worker make average annual earnings of $38, 280. The employment of such social workers is expected to grow by twenty percent between 2012 and 2020, per the BLS (“Adoption”). Some counselors find that because adoption touches on so many family issues, it evolves naturally out of a more general practice. A difficult prejudice that adoption counselors face is the perception that they are baby stealers or baby sellers. A birth mother may require help making the difficult decision to give a child up for adoption. Many adoption counselors are social workers who have come to focus on adoption because they have had a personal experience with adoption (“CFNC.org”). This is somewhat the case in my situation. My parents were about to start the adoption process when my mom found out that she was pregnant. For Glory To, the most difficult time is when placement doesn’t wor...


... middle of paper ...


...heir own kids, they shouldn’t panic, they may be able to adopt!



Works Cited
"Adoption Caseworker: Job Description and Education Requirements." Education-Portal.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Feb. 2014.
"CFNC.org - Career Profile." CFNC.org - Career Profile. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Feb. 2014.
"IVCC - Illinois Valley Community College." IVCC - Illinois Valley Community College. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"IVCC Sociology and Anthropology." IVCC Sociology and Anthropology. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
"McKendree University." Marching Bearcat Band. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"McKendree University." McKendree University. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"The Process." California Kids Connection. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Wikipedia contributors. "Adoption." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 10 Feb. 2014. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
A Careeer as a Counselor: The Career Theory Integrative Life Planning Essay - As I expand my knowledge in the different counseling approaches, my values appropriately fit in with the humanistic theoretical orientation. The career theory Integrative Life Planning (ILP) also resonates in my future ambitions as a counselor. I am very interested in working with high school and/or college students and helping them successfully prepare for their future. The holistic approach has stood out to me from the start of the program and has been useful in my personal life. My goal is to help the student/client to be able to discover their own personal motivations and self-satisfaction within them, as well as a way to benefit society....   [tags: humanistic therapy, career development] 2244 words
(6.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Job Requirements of an Addiction Counselor Essay - The job of an addiction counselor specializing in, but not limiting my choice to substance abuse is the job profession I have chosen. The opportunities for this field are very open in my area of the country and throughout the Unites States. The counselors that work within range of me are very busy, and have little time to offer to a person in training. I was able to arrange an email interview with a particular counselor working at a rehabilitation facility for alcoholics and drug addicts. His job entailed monitoring the day-to-day progress of several people assigned to his case load....   [tags: Career]
:: 3 Works Cited
1010 words
(2.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Child Adoption Research Paper - My sister Katie feels like she “doesn’t belong” with my family. As kids, we used to play dress up with one another and Katie would always ask my mom to make her have blonde hair just as I did. My mom would then put a yellow towel on her head so that she could pretend she did. As a child I could not understand why Katie would want to do such a silly thing to try and look as I did. In my eyes we were both the same and nothing else mattered. As we got older, it became more apparent to me how different we really were....   [tags: Adoption]
:: 6 Works Cited
1913 words
(5.5 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on My Professional Journey to Become a Counselor - My current job at the State Mental Health Unit is where I have started and discovered my passion for counseling. With an understanding of the mental illness came the understanding of the importance of counseling as a form of treatment. I learned that counseling may be difficult as it needs to be person specific. What works for one individual may or may not work for another. While “finding counseling” has felt like a very long process already, I know that the process of “understanding counseling” has just begun....   [tags: My Road to Becoming a Counselor]
:: 6 Works Cited
2262 words
(6.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Substance Abuse Counselor Career - I have wanted to be a counselor since my freshmen year of high school and in the counseling field there are many specialties that I can focus on. I am fairly certain that I want to specialize in helping people with substance abuse and their families. I have always focused my studies, interests, and work on things that will help me in this field and I have a lot of qualities that help to enhance me in my eventual career. There are difficulties when I get to practice also like what people perceive as correct counseling style, challenges with my gender and race, and finally creating my own counseling style and plans....   [tags: Challenges, Addicts, Teens]
:: 11 Works Cited
905 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Career: School Counselor Essay - ... To be eligible for employment with this degree you need to be additionally certified in the state you plan to work. Certification requirements differ from state to state. In Washington State you must have a graduate level degree from an accredited institution or you may take either the National Counselor Examination, or National Board of Certified Counselors (American School Counselors Association, 2014). If I seek employment in a school, background checks are required. Keeping a clean record and staying above the law is very important....   [tags: education requirements, training] 674 words
(1.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Dream Career: Secondary School Counselor Essay - High school is the second stage of education that acts as a transition period from childhood into young adulthood. The in-depth self discovery and growth as well as disappointment that occurs in this critical phase of a young person’s life requires support and guidance for optimal success. I have an absolute confidence in all young people’s abilities to take them beyond the expectations of society. My passion for the belief that education is a solution to obstacles many teenagers face is the foundation for my desire to influence high school student’s lives....   [tags: professional occupation, educators]
:: 7 Works Cited
865 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Profile of a Substance Abuse Counselor Essay - ... She also has larger group sessions with all the clients at the facility, sometimes focusing on a specific issue. Christine also says she holds a family session with each client and the members of their family at least once during their stay at the rehabilitation center. Family sessions allow the addict and the members of the family to talk about past issues and to develop goals for the future. A lot of time is spent each day documenting each client’s treatment. Records are kept of notes from each treatment sessions, treatment plans, and progress reports....   [tags: career choices, opportunities ]
:: 2 Works Cited
1134 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Why I Want to be a Counselor Essay - ... Before getting started with anything hands on a certain education path is required to become a trusted and successful counselor. To begin with it’s a requirement to take psychology courses while I am working towards becoming a counseling-psychology major with the goal of obtaining a Bachelor’s degree in. Either a Bachelor’s of art or a Bachelor’s of science is acceptable. In addition this would require thirty to forty five hours and fifty to sixty credits of graduate coursework. But that’s not all, it’s also a necessity to attend graduate school and work towards a MA (masters of art) degree....   [tags: time, effort, work, career, patients] 765 words
(2.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Reasons for Adoption Essay - When a couple or individual decides to adopt a child, they know they are going to take on the responsibility of taking care of someone else’s child. Due to the biological parent(s) who can’t take care of that child anymore, because of either drug abuse, alcohol abuse, abuse to the child or if the parent(s) had died and there is no other care for the child. So that’s why this gives other couples who cannot have kids, the opportunity to promise themselves to be a great parent to a child in need. Though there are some bad things about adoption as well....   [tags: Adoption, ] 579 words
(1.7 pages)
Good Essays [preview]