Preview
Preview

A Career as a Pharmacist Essay example

:: 2 Works Cited
Length: 1248 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The importance of the becoming a pharmacist should not be about what the career can give a person in monetary value or the amount of accolades one receives. Instead, the career should be about saving and improving human lives and serving the public. Pharmacists keep people healthy, make them feel better, and try to help the public live longer and happier lives as long as possible. From small infant children to the elderly, everyone needs pharmaceutical care. Sometimes it can be a matter of life and death if medication is not available to the public. Pharmacy as a career would be a wise decision if a person could withstand the amount of education the profession entails.
According to Dr. Robert Zebroski, a professor at the St. Louis College of Pharmacy, King James I established Western society’s first independent pharmacist guild in England during the early 17th century. Pharmacies were known as “apothecaries” back then and they would prepare and dispense medication or remedies and offer medical advice to their patrons (Zebroski). Soon English colonists knew these apothecaries as pharmacist when they traveled to the New World approximately 150 years ago. Zebroski also noted, that Edward Parrish began the American Pharmaceutical Association and “proposed that members of the national professional organization consider all the varied pharmaceutical practitioners ‘pharmacists’ (Zebroski).” The federal government changed the role of pharmacy in 1951 with the passage of the Durham-Humphrey Amendment to the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act of 1938. Basically, what this entailed was that pharmacists needed a physician’s prescription to dispense medication versus simply dispensing all drugs. Pharmacists were restricted to reco...


... middle of paper ...


...omplete. Web.
10 Apr. 2014.
Farr, J. Michael., and Laurence Shatkin. 250 Best-paying Jobs. Indianapolis, IN:
JIST Works, 2007. Print.
Frederick, James. "Interest Still Rising In Pharmacy Careers, Study
Concludes." Drug Store News27.5 (2005): 27. MasterFILE Premier. Web. 10 Apr. 2014.
Graves, Jada A. "Careers To Count On." U.S. News Digital Weekly 4.9 (2012):
13. MasterFILE Premier. Web. 8 Apr. 2014.
"Pharmacists : Occupational Outlook Handbook : U.S. Bureau of Labor
Statistics." U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 8 Jan. 2014. Web. 8 Apr. 2014.
Ulibarri, Amanda. Personal Interview. 25 Apr. 2014.
Zebroski, Robert. "A Brief History of Pharmacy." A Brief History of Pharmacy. St.
Louis College of Pharmacy, 2014. Web. 27 Apr. 2014.




Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Treating Diseases with Drugs: My Career as a Pharmacist Essay - My strong desire to pursue a career as a pharmacist originates from my interest in how drugs are involved in the treatment of diseases. My fascination with medicine has motivated me to further increase my knowledge and understanding of how drugs may be safely delivered into the human body through various methods. In particular I am most interested in the uses of nano technology in the health care industry and how nanotechnology is used in medical industry for prevention, treatment and diagnosis, hence my pursuit of a career in pharmacy....   [tags: Diseases, mediccal, Drugs, Career, Pharmacist,] 628 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
A Career as a Pharmacist Essay - The flow of the medical community is dependent on every person employed there. The harmony it creates does not only come from the doctors or nurses, but the janitors, surgeons, receptionists, and even the pharmacists. Each job is necessary in order for the hospitals to function properly; for instance, the doctors diagnose the patient with their illness, prescribe them medication to cure it, and send them to the pharmacist, who then gives them their medication and sends them home. However, some jobs are overlooked more than others and do not receive the proper credit, like the pharmacist....   [tags: Career Research ]
:: 6 Works Cited
2013 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
A Career as a Pharmacist Essay example - The importance of the becoming a pharmacist should not be about what the career can give a person in monetary value or the amount of accolades one receives. Instead, the career should be about saving and improving human lives and serving the public. Pharmacists keep people healthy, make them feel better, and try to help the public live longer and happier lives as long as possible. From small infant children to the elderly, everyone needs pharmaceutical care. Sometimes it can be a matter of life and death if medication is not available to the public....   [tags: Career Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1248 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
A Career as a Pharmacist Essay - Pharmacists have very important roles in healthcare from all angles. Physicians and licensed practitioners that write a written prescription, the pharmacist reviews patient history, health conditions, and interactions with the new medication prescribed. As a pharmacy technician (for six years) I had a somewhat of an overview on what they accomplished in a shift but did not know everything on what I know now from this research. Pharmacy students that are in the process to obtain their doctor of pharmacy (D.Pharm.) go through a series of training, education and internship to become a well-rounded pharmacist....   [tags: Career Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
611 words
(1.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Career Research Project: Pharmacist Responsabilities Essays - One of my goals after I have finished high school is to attend pharmacy school. Pharmacy is the career that I want to pursue and have been for a couple years. The reason pharmacy interests me is mostly the setting, having options of working in a hospital, community pharmacy, or even a laboratory. My main interests in school involve math and science, which pharmacy is mostly composed of. My main goal I hope to achieve in life is to attend pharmacy school, graduate, and then become a licensed pharmacist....   [tags: pharmacy, pharmacists, prescription] 738 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Career Report - Pharmacist and Physician Essay - Career Report - Pharmacist and Physician Over the past few weeks I have been researching my interests, values, and goals. Throughout this research a lot of things that were already evident to me, were proven for a fact. My interests included researching different aspects of science and data analysis. Analysis has always been a big part of my life because I analyze everything. My values have been proven to be centered toward helping people and being around people. These interests and values are almost equivalent with what my goals in life have been over the past years....   [tags: Job Working Research Pharmacy Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1637 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Becoming a Pharmacist Essay - Putting together a puzzle is comparable to the road in becoming a pharmacist. It involves patience, thinking from many different perspectives such as using trial and error to find the solution. As a freshman in college, I was doubtful about what to major but suddenly one day, I witnessed my mother’s deteriorating health due to her suffering from high blood pressure. This made me feel pity and if there was a way out of everything, I was willing to take that path to help her. During my visit in Vietnam, I also encountered many close family members who were sick due to many types of illnesses....   [tags: Pharmacists, career,] 573 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Why I Want to Become a Pharmacist Essay example - I may have not been sure about many things in my life, but one thing I knew for sure was that when I grew up I wanted to be a pharmacist. Growing up I was always interested in medicine and how it works on the body. As a child whenever I would get sick my parents would give me Chinese herbal remedies that they brewed at home. I remembered it tasted disgusting, but I would still force it down and ask my parents how this nasty liquid was going to help me feel better. It was as I grew older that I discovered that herbal remedies were not the only cure for sickness....   [tags: personal statement of purpose, career choices] 2303 words
(6.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Why I Want to Be a Pharmacist - I really don't know how to start this, but going to your school, with its esteemed name that is heard everywhere in the school that I go to currently, seems a little like a dream. I'm trying not to be too corny, its not really working. Aside from my academics, i do draw, sing, play a little piano and drums and enjoy writing songs and stories. When my dad impregnated my mom, he had to run away with no help from either sides of their families. They had no help at all. They had to struggled through most of their life together....   [tags: career choices] 838 words
(2.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Pharmacy Major: Minimum Requirements for a Career in Pharmacy - Pharmacy Major A medical profession that releases drugs to patients as prescribed by a doctor, best describes a pharmacist (Kelly 7). The medical profession must have adequate knowledge on how drugs react with the bodies of human beings. In addition, a competent pharmacist knows the reaction of a mixture of various drugs. Notably, skills in measurement and packaging of drugs are essential in a pharmacy profession. This is because excess or insufficient amounts of drugs may lead to fatal incidences or drug resistance....   [tags: education, medical field, pharmacist]
:: 3 Works Cited
557 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]