Preview
Preview

A Brief Research on The Beatles Essay

:: 4 Works Cited
Length: 1531 words (4.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

John Lennon once said,” We’re more popular than Jesus now; I don’t know which will go first, rock ‘n’ roll or Christianity,” whether this claim is true or not, the world will never know. The Beatles were, however, one of the most influential groups of all time and paved the way for many others to follow in their path.
Since I was a little kid, I remember my parents always listening to music. Music has always a part of my life growing up. My parents listen to all kinds of different genres of music from Pink Floyd, Jimmy Buffett, Bruce to the Beatles. Both my mom and dad have told me that one of their favorite bands of all time is the Beatles an they remember listening to it as kids and still enjoy it today. They play their music all the time around the house, especially my mom who always has the radio on. The first real memory I have of when I first got interested in the Beatles was around the age 6 or 7. I was in the car going to beach with my sister, Maddie, and my dad over the summer break. My dad plugged in his sleek black iPod into the radio and we started listening to a Classic Rock. The song, Born to Run, had just finished playing and then the next song started to play, it was Yellow Submarine by the Beatles. I became enraptured by their voices and their harmony. My sister and I instantly started to hum along with the playful chorus of the song. We enjoyed the song even though we thought it was really silly. We liked it so much that we asked my dad to play it over and over again. Then I asked him what the name of the band singing Yellow Submarine was. He told us the band was famous, and they had been around forever even when he was a kid. He then said they called themselves The Beatles. My sister and I thought that wa...


... middle of paper ...


...s my parents love music, I doubt they would have been ok with that. All of their parents focused on academics a lot. They did let them go, and it made a huge difference. There they turned into a great band. At the time Hamburg wasn’t really a great place to be. In the early 60’s, Hamburg was a very bad city. Hamburg had a street called Reeperbahn which had more strip clubs than any street in the world. Hamburg also had a really high crime rate because all the gangs from Berlin moved to Hamburg due to the Berlin Wall (Davies 80.)


Works Cited

"The Beatles." Rolling Stone. Rolling Stone Magazine, n.d. Web. 1 Apr. 2014.
Davies, Hunter. The Beatles: The Authorized Biography. New York. McGraw Hill Book Company. 1969. Print.
Spitz, Bob . "The Beatles Invasion." Time 9 Feb. 2014: 5-110. Print.
"What influenced the beatles." TheBeatlesss -. N.p., n.d. Web. 2 Apr. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »
title







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Beatles Essay - The Beatles It all started in Liverpool where four guys got together to form a group in 1956. They called themselves The Beatles. The band broke up in 1970 for many different reasons. The Beatles are one of the most influential bands in history, because they seemed to have limitless imagination and their creativity will never be matched. In 1956 Paul McCartney and John Lennon meet at Woolton Parish Festival, John then asked Paul to join his band The Quarrymen. In 1958 a school mate of Paul’s George Harrison left his band the Rebels to join The Quarrymen....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles]
:: 4 Works Cited
1033 words
(3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The Beatles It was new. It was wild. It was weird. But for the 60'8, it was fabulous. On February 12, 1964 in old Camegie Hall, the place in New York where classical musicians played, there was music history being made that day by four young musicians. Their music was loud. It came thundering out of the electric amplifiers that was drowned out by screams of fans. The musicians emerged on the scene like fireworks. Thousands of teenagers packed Carnegie Hall. They squealed, groaned, howled and stamped their feet until the old building shook....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles] 865 words
(2.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The The English ROCK MUSIC group The Beatles gave the 1960s its characteristic musical flavor and had a profound influence on the course of popular music, equaled by few performers. The guitarists John Winston Lennon, b. Oct. 9, 1940; James Paul McCartney, b. June 18, 1942; and George Harrison, b. Feb. 25, 1943; and the drummer Ringo Starr, b. Richard Starkey, July 7, 1940, were all born and raised in Liverpool. Lennon and McCartney had played together in a group called The Quarrymen. With Harrison, they formed their own group, The Silver Beatles, in 1959, and Starr joined them in 1962....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles]
:: 3 Works Cited
539 words
(1.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The Beatles The group that I picked to be an example of a particular type of music is The Beatles. The Beatles included George Harrison, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, and Richard Starkey, other wise known as Ringo Starr. This group is very well known and also influenced many musicians since they formed. The Beatles started their careers in England. They were a huge success there, playing in clubs and eventually for the queen herself. After the appearance before the queen, The Beatles came to the USA....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles] 403 words
(1.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The Beatles were a mystical happening that many people still don't understand. Phenomenoligists had a ball in 1964 with Beatlemania, a generally harmless form of madness which came from Britain in 1963. The sole cause of Beatlemania is a quartet of young Englishmen known as the Beatles. In the less than one year that they achieved popularity in England to the time they came to America, The Beatles achieved a popularity and following that is unprecedented in the history of show business in England....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles] 1635 words
(4.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The world's number one rock group consisted of John Winston (Ono) Lennon (born 10/09/40 - died 12/08/80), whose middle name came from his parent's admiration of Winston Churchill, and which John changed to Ono in later years; James Paul McCartney (born 06/18/42); George Harold Harrison (born 02/25/43 - died 11/29/01); and Ringo Starr (born Richard Starkey 07/07/40). During the Beatles recording career from 1962 to 1970, they would release twenty-two singles (45rpm) in the United Kingdom, and thirty-three in the United States....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles] 817 words
(2.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The Beatles were an extremely popular and influential group in Rock n' Roll. My question is, "Why?" What drew thousands upon thousands of screaming fans to these four British musicians. Was it something in the sound of the instruments. Could it have been the bass beat, or maybe the guitar playing. What about their lyrics. They had a certain personality, too. Was that it. Let's look at each of these, and some other factors as well. What is the first thing you wonder when you hear something new on the radio....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles]
:: 2 Works Cited
1783 words
(5.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - The Beatles were the most influential popular music group of the rock era. They affected the post-war baby boom generation of Britain, the United States and many other countries during the 1960s. Certainly they are the most popular group in rock history, with global sales exceeding 1.1 billion records. While they were originally famous for merseybeat, or what some labelled light-weight pop music which provoked complete hysteria in young women. Their later works achieved a combination of popular and critical attention....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles] 645 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Beatles Essay - When doing the reading for this weeks class I was struck by a quote form a deleted scene of my favorite movie, Pulp Fiction. Consequently, I went back to my Pulp Fiction DVD and watched this deleted scene. The quote is “there’s only two kinds of people in the world: ‘Beatles people’ and ‘Elvis people’. Now Beatles people can like Elvis, and Elvis people can like the Beatles...but nobody likes them equally. Somewhere you have to make a choice, and that choice tells you who you are.” - Mia Wallace....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles] 1308 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Beatles - The Beatles One of the most influential groups of the 20th Century—the Beatles revolutionized rock and roll into what we know it as today. Not only were they great musicians, they wrote and composed each of their songs. The band proved to be popular and exciting causing mass hysteria at each of their public performances. The “Fab Four’s” talent was so great that the phenomenon was termed “Beatlemania” in Britain and eventually erupted in the United States being called the British Invasion of the Beatles (Britannica Online, 2005)....   [tags: Essay on The Beatles]
:: 4 Works Cited
980 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]